Good Reads
3:17 pm
Fri December 20, 2013

Nancy Pearl’s Suggestions For Literary Gifts

Steve Scher talks to Nancy Pearl about tricks in picking out a book as a gift for a loved one. Her first suggestion — imagine the person reading the book.

You can also hear a special hour-long listener call-in and see a full list of Pearl's and listeners' reading suggestions from Monday.

Nancy Pearl's Recommendations 12/20

Mysteries and Thrillers

“The Cold, Cold Ground,” by Adrian McKinty (The Troubles Trilogy)

“Innocent Blood” and “Blood Gospel” by James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell

Fiction

"The Gold Finch," by Donna Tart

For Kids and Young Adult Fans of Adventure and Fantasy (especially for fans of "Game Of Thrones" and "The Hunger Games")

“My Father’s Dragon,” by Ruth Stiles Gannett

“The Iron King,” by Maurice Druon

“Sunshine,” by Robin McKinley

“Under Heaven” and “The Last Light Of The Sun,” by Guy Gavriel Kay

“Matched,” by Ally Condie

“Divergent Trilogy,” by Veronica Roth

“Legend Trilogy,” by Marie Lu

Stephanie The Story Lady Offers Her Recommendation

You can also listen to this Web extra on SoundCloud.com.

Related Program