Nancy Pearl Answers Book Quandaries, Lists Favorites From 2013

Dec 16, 2013

Nancy Pearl is ready to give her recommendations for reading gifts for you or a loved one.
Nancy Pearl is ready to give her recommendations for reading gifts for you or a loved one.
Credit KUOW Photo/Bond Huberman

Nancy Pearl joined host Steve Scher with a shelf full of suggestions for readers young and old with holiday gift-giving in mind. Listeners added their picks too in this live-call in special.

Nancy Pearl's Best Books Of 2013

Fiction

“The Woman Who Lost Her Soul,” Bob Shacochis

“Americanah,” Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Non-Fiction

“Five Days At Memorial,” Sherry Fink

“Lawrence In Arabia,” Scott Anderson

Great Books To Give

Mysteries

“Innocent Blood” and “Blood Gospel” by James Rollins

“The Troubles Trilogy,” Adrian Mckinty, including “Cold, Cold Ground”

For Kids and Young Adult Fans of Adventure and Fantasy (especially Game Of Thrones Fans)

“My Father’s Dragon,” by Ruth Stiles Gannett

“The Name of the Wind,” by Patrick Rothfuss

“Battle Magic,” Tamora Pierce

“Sunshine.” by Robin McKinley

“The Last Dragonslayer,” Jasper Fforde

“Russian Roulette,” Alex Horowitz

“The Last Light Of The Sun,” Guy Gavriel Kay

“Divergent Trilogy,” Veronica Roth

“Legend Trilogy,” Marie Lu

“Ranger’s Apprentice Series,” John Flanagan

“The Ascendance Trilogy,” Jennifer Nielsen

“Seraphina,” Rachel Hartman

“Looking For Jane,” Judith Redline Coopey

Fiction

“Birds Without Wings,” Louis de Bernieres

“One Last Thing Before I Go,” Jonathan Tropper

“Back To Wando Passo,” David Payne

“Orfeo,” Richard Powers

Non-Fiction

“My Promised Land,” Ari Shavit

“The Emerald Mile,” Kevin Fedarko