government http://kuow.org en Pipeline Politics, Worker Safety, And Equal Rights Lawsuit http://kuow.org/post/pipeline-politics-worker-safety-and-equal-rights-lawsuit <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with Les Leyne of the Victoria Times Colonist about the town of Kitimat speaking up against the proposed Northern Gateway Pipeline and restoring public trust in workplace safety.</p><p>Leyne also talks about a lawsuit filed in the British Columbia Supreme Court on equal rights against religious freedom at a private evangelical university.</p><p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 23:13:18 +0000 Marcie Sillman 32699 at http://kuow.org Pipeline Politics, Worker Safety, And Equal Rights Lawsuit Washington State Jobs Picture Shows Slow Growth http://kuow.org/post/washington-state-jobs-picture-shows-slow-growth <p></p><p>The latest figures show the unemployment rate in Washington state is holding steady at 6.3 percent. The Employment Security Department said the <a href="http://www.esd.wa.gov/newsandinformation/releases/14-022.php">state added an estimated 6,700 jobs in March</a>.&nbsp;The biggest job gains last month were seen in professional and business services. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 22:52:41 +0000 Patricia Murphy 32691 at http://kuow.org Washington State Jobs Picture Shows Slow Growth Two Perspectives On The Gun Safety Debate http://kuow.org/post/two-perspectives-gun-safety-debate <p></p><p>David Hyde speaks with Christian Sinderman of Washington state's&nbsp;initiative to implement background checks for gun sales. Dan Baum, author of "Gun Guys: A Road Trip," also talks about strategies for better gun safety. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 22:20:35 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 32669 at http://kuow.org Two Perspectives On The Gun Safety Debate Former Bonney Lake Man To Receive Medal Of Honor http://kuow.org/post/former-bonney-lake-man-receive-medal-honor <p></p><p>The White House announced President Barack Obama will award the Medal of Honor to a former Bonney Lake man on May 13, 2014. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 20:22:23 +0000 Patricia Murphy 32657 at http://kuow.org Former Bonney Lake Man To Receive Medal Of Honor Tacoma Teacher Wins Milken Educator Award http://kuow.org/post/tacoma-teacher-wins-milken-educator-award <p></p><p>A high school social studies teacher in Tacoma was caught off guard when he received a national award for his exceptional work in the classroom. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 20:19:33 +0000 Lisa Brooks 32672 at http://kuow.org Tacoma Teacher Wins Milken Educator Award DNR Head Defends Taking Timber Money Despite Vow http://kuow.org/post/dnr-head-defends-taking-timber-money-despite-vow <p>It's not unusual for elected officials to cozy up to people with money. Yet Washington Lands Commissioner Peter Goldmark's relationship with the timber industry he regulates has changed dramatically since the two-term Democrat first ran for the office six years ago. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 16:03:30 +0000 John Ryan 32625 at http://kuow.org DNR Head Defends Taking Timber Money Despite Vow Flags Lowered Across Washington To Honor Landslide Victims http://kuow.org/post/flags-lowered-across-washington-honor-landslide-victims <p>Flags are flying at half mast across Washington state this afternoon to honor victims of last month's deadly landslide. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 15:05:30 +0000 Tom Banse 32647 at http://kuow.org Flags Lowered Across Washington To Honor Landslide Victims In Ukraine: Reports Of Soldiers Switching To Pro-Russia Side http://kuow.org/post/ukraine-reports-soldiers-switching-pro-russia-side Confusion continues to reign in eastern Ukraine, where pro-Russia gunmen remain in control of many government offices even as the Ukrainian military sends in troops, tanks and armed aircraft in an attempt to dislodge them.<p>According to NPR's Ari Shapiro, who is in eastern Ukraine, locals who are pushing to separate from the central government and join the Russian Federation claim that at least some Ukrainian troops are refusing to move against them.<p>In the city of Slovyansk, <a href="http://www.npr.org/2014/04/16/303640418/the-latest-from-eastern-ukraine" target="_blank">Ari reported on<em Wed, 16 Apr 2014 11:02:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 32639 at http://kuow.org In Ukraine: Reports Of Soldiers Switching To Pro-Russia Side Washington Ethics Board To Consider Crackdown On Lobbyist-Paid Meals http://kuow.org/post/washington-ethics-board-consider-crackdown-lobbyist-paid-meals <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041514AJ_LobbyistDining_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>By next January, Washington lawmakers should have clearer guidance on when it’s OK to accept free meals from lobbyists.<p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 10:44:10 +0000 Austin Jenkins 32643 at http://kuow.org Washington Ethics Board To Consider Crackdown On Lobbyist-Paid Meals Washington Commission Investigates 911 Outage http://kuow.org/post/washington-commission-investigates-911-outage <div id="lead"><p></p><p>The State Utilities and Transportation Commission has opened an investigation into last Thursday’s 911 emergency line outage. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 23:15:03 +0000 Patricia Murphy 32617 at http://kuow.org Washington Commission Investigates 911 Outage Former Cop On SPD Reform: 'A Huge Insult To The Officers' http://kuow.org/post/former-cop-spd-reform-huge-insult-officers <p>Marcie Sillman talks with retired Seattle police officer <a href="http://www.stevepomper.com/">Steve Pomper </a>about why he thinks the federally mandated reforms to the Seattle Police Department are <a href="http://crosscut.com/2014/04/14/op-ed/119561/police-justice-department-murray-steve-pomper/?page=single">unnecessary</a>. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:06:11 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 32595 at http://kuow.org Former Cop On SPD Reform: 'A Huge Insult To The Officers' The Political Chess Game Of The $15 Minimum Wage http://kuow.org/post/political-chess-game-15-minimum-wage <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with <a href="https://www.15now.org/" target="_blank">15 Now</a> Campaign Manager Jess Spear about its proposed <a href="http://kuow.org/post/seattles-15-wage-campaign-eyes-ballot">Seattle city charter amendment</a> to change the minimum wage to $15.</p><p>Then, Marcie Sillman&nbsp;checks in with political analyst <a href="http://q13fox.com/bio/c-r-douglas/" target="_blank">C.R. Douglas</a> of Q13 Fox News about the politics behind the $15 minimum wage movement and what we can expect looking forward. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:01:45 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Ross Reynolds & Christine Streich 32608 at http://kuow.org The Political Chess Game Of The $15 Minimum Wage Highway 530 Will Take Months To Clear http://kuow.org/post/highway-530-will-take-months-clear <p>The Washington State Department of Transportation says it could take up to three months to clear debris from the mile-long stretch of State Route 530 covered by the Oso mudslide.</p><p>The task at hand is massive. WSDOT says it needs to move 100,000 cubic yards of material before the road can reopen. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 15:48:38 +0000 Patricia Murphy 32575 at http://kuow.org Highway 530 Will Take Months To Clear Washington Senate Majority Leader Tom Won't Seek Re-Election http://kuow.org/post/washington-senate-majority-leader-tom-wont-seek-re-election <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041414AJ_TomGone_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>One of the most influential and controversial members of the Washington legislature made a bombshell announcement Monday.<p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 15:04:08 +0000 Austin Jenkins 32572 at http://kuow.org Washington Senate Majority Leader Tom Won't Seek Re-Election Ukrainian Military Says It Is Moving Against Pro-Russia Protesters http://kuow.org/post/ukrainian-military-says-it-moving-against-pro-russia-protesters Ukraine's acting president says his nation's military has begun "an anti-terrorist operation" aimed at pushing armed pro-Russia demonstrators out of the government buildings in eastern Ukraine that they have occupied for several days.<p>The effort appears to have begun in the city of Slovyansk, <a href="http://www.npr.org/2014/04/15/303172291/ukraine-military-begins-to-move-against-pro-russian-separatists" target="_blank">NPR's Ari Shapiro said Tuesday on <em>Morning Edition</em></a>, though by early evening in Ukraine it was still unclear what — if anything — had happened. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 11:28:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 32561 at http://kuow.org Ukrainian Military Says It Is Moving Against Pro-Russia Protesters