sports http://kuow.org en The Epic 2,200-Mile Tour De France Is Also A Test Of Epic Eating http://kuow.org/post/epic-2200-mile-tour-de-france-also-test-epic-eating The famously grueling cycling race involves about 2,200 miles of furious pedaling, huge mountain climbs and downhill sprints at 50-plus miles per hour. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 16:16:00 +0000 editor 38798 at http://kuow.org The Epic 2,200-Mile Tour De France Is Also A Test Of Epic Eating Want More World Cup? 2015 Women's Final In Vancouver, BC http://kuow.org/post/want-more-world-cup-2015-womens-final-vancouver-bc <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/071114TB_WorldCup_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Organizers of the next <a href="http://www.fifa.com/womensworldcup/index.html">FIFA Women's World Cup</a> hope to leverage the unusually high interest in this year's men's tournament in Brazil to their benefit. Group play and the 2015 World Cup final will take place just across the border in Vancouver, Canada.<p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 14:46:48 +0000 Tom Banse 38183 at http://kuow.org Want More World Cup? 2015 Women's Final In Vancouver, BC When 'The Beautiful Game' Was Chaotic And Dangerous http://kuow.org/post/when-beautiful-game-was-chaotic-and-dangerous <p>Marcie Sillman talks with University of Washington professor <a href="http://ischool.uw.edu/people/faculty/jwj">Joe Janes</a> about the <a href="http://faculty.washington.edu/jwj/doc/football.mp3">original rules of soccer</a>, published in 1863. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:45:39 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 38070 at http://kuow.org Lady Shampoo Ad Or FIFA Poster For Female Players? http://kuow.org/post/lady-shampoo-ad-or-fifa-poster-female-players <p>FIFA, the international soccer federation, has released its official poster of the 2015 Women’s World Cup.</p><p>It’s an artistic rendering of a woman looking up serenely as her long flowing locks are swept away from her face in graceful curves. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:44:31 +0000 Kara McDermott 38095 at http://kuow.org Lady Shampoo Ad Or FIFA Poster For Female Players? Weed Is Sold, Brazil Is Routed, And Potato Salad Is Crowdfunded http://kuow.org/post/weed-sold-brazil-routed-and-potato-salad-crowdfunded <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Seattle officially kicks off its experiment in retail recreational pot. Germany kicks goal after merciless goal in a total rout of Brazil in the World Cup semifinals. </span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">And public officials have a message for the person who dropped off three human skulls at the Bellevue Goodwill this week: You're not in any trouble, but would you please call 206.731.3232. The King County Medical Examiner's Office would like to speak with you.<br /><br />Luke Burbank steps in for&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Bill </span>Radke<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;to talk over these stories and more with Eli Sanders, Joni </span>Balter<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;and </span>Knute<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Berger.</span> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 20:28:04 +0000 Luke Burbank 38077 at http://kuow.org Weed Is Sold, Brazil Is Routed, And Potato Salad Is Crowdfunded Pigeons Fly In Fear As Rufus The Hawk Guards Wimbledon's Grass http://kuow.org/post/pigeons-fly-fear-rufus-hawk-guards-wimbledons-grass <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_uxgiB6oEQA</p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 14:42:03 +0000 NPR Staff 37722 at http://kuow.org Pigeons Fly In Fear As Rufus The Hawk Guards Wimbledon's Grass Are College Athletes Employees Or Students? http://kuow.org/post/are-college-athletes-employees-or-students <p>Marcie Sillman&nbsp;talks with Ellen Staurowski,&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">sports management program director at Drexel University. She recently testified at the O'Bannon v. NCAA trial about whether student athletes should be compensated more fairly.</span> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 22:28:36 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Matthew Streib 37526 at http://kuow.org Are College Athletes Employees Or Students? When Heat Stroke Strikes, Cool First, Transport Later http://kuow.org/post/when-heat-stroke-strikes-cool-first-transport-later The first-ever World Cup water break (taken during the game between Portugal and the United States this week) is a reminder that we all need to take extra precautions when playing in the heat.<p>Sports-related heat injuries and deaths continue to rise nationally, according to estimates by the <a href="http://www.nata.org/">National Athletic Trainers' Association</a>; the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention cites heat stroke as the <a href="http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/preview/mmwrhtml/mm5932a1.htm">leading cause of death</a> and disability among high school students. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 18:41:00 +0000 editor 37221 at http://kuow.org When Heat Stroke Strikes, Cool First, Transport Later Suarez Ban Is 'Excessive,' Bite Victim Says http://kuow.org/post/suarez-ban-excessive-bite-victim-says Giorgio Chiellini, the Italian defender whose shoulder bore teeth marks after a clash with Uruguay's Luis Suarez during a World Cup match Tuesday, says FIFA's four-month ban of Suarez is too harsh. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 12:44:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 37195 at http://kuow.org Suarez Ban Is 'Excessive,' Bite Victim Says Embedded KUOW Reporter Describes The World Cup Atmosphere In Germany http://kuow.org/post/embedded-kuow-reporter-describes-world-cup-atmosphere-germany <p>While visiting Germany for a journalism fellowship, KUOW’s Ross Reynolds shares some firsthand observations of the World Cup fever he’s witnessed during his stay in Berlin, where every game — whether Germany is playing or not — is big.</p><p>Reynolds said public viewing areas are all over the city, from the giant public viewing space near the Brandenburg Gate created for some 50,000 people, to the small, neighborhood convenience stores that set out chairs and TVs for customers. Wherever you are watching, he said, the beer and Curryvurst probably isn’t too far away.</p><p>“Fun fact about the World Cup here,” Reynolds told fellow <em>Record </em>host Marcie Sillman in a phone interview. “It’s being broadcast by the public television network! Imagine if PBS had the franchise on running the World Series; that’s what it’s like here in Germany.” Thu, 26 Jun 2014 22:31:47 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Marcie Sillman 37179 at http://kuow.org Embedded KUOW Reporter Describes The World Cup Atmosphere In Germany What You Need To Know To Enjoy Watching The USMNT http://kuow.org/post/what-you-need-know-enjoy-watching-usmnt <p></p><p>Clint Dempsey and the U.S. Men's National Soccer Team need only a tie against Germany to advance to the second round of the 2014 FIFA World Cup.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Bill </span>Radke<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> asks BBC soccer analyst Steve </span>Crossman<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;what we need to know to enjoy the match. </span> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 15:01:48 +0000 Bill Radke 37117 at http://kuow.org What You Need To Know To Enjoy Watching The USMNT Deford: NCAA Says Amateurism Is Alive And Well, But The Jig Is Up http://kuow.org/post/deford-ncaa-says-amateurism-alive-and-well-jig Amateurism is dead, revealed so in the trial against the NCAA now in progress in Oakland, Calif., U.S. District Judge Claudia Wilken presiding. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 07:28:00 +0000 Frank Deford 37018 at http://kuow.org Deford: NCAA Says Amateurism Is Alive And Well, But The Jig Is Up Some Mexico Fans Feel Unfairly Targeted For World Cup Chants http://kuow.org/post/some-mexico-fans-feel-unfairly-targeted-world-cup-chants FIFA, the governing body of the World Cup, says it has zero tolerance for racist and homophobic conduct by players and fans at this year's international soccer event.<p>Late last week, FIFA opened an investigation into the display of neo-Nazi banners by both Russian and Croat fans at the World Cup. And Brazil and Mexico face possible sanctions for chanting a homophobic slur during their match last week. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 07:51:00 +0000 Carrie Kahn 36857 at http://kuow.org Some Mexico Fans Feel Unfairly Targeted For World Cup Chants Did The U.S. Patent Office Just Mark The End Of Indian Mascots? http://kuow.org/post/did-us-patent-office-just-mark-end-indian-mascots <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Jay Rosenstein, journalism professor and producer of "<a href="http://jayrosenstein.com/pages/honor.html">In Whose Honor?",</a> about the history of Indian mascots and the significance of the U.S. patent's office cancelation of the Washington Redskins' trademark. Wed, 18 Jun 2014 21:51:26 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 36623 at http://kuow.org Did The U.S. Patent Office Just Mark The End Of Indian Mascots? Stairs Wobble Under The Weight Of World Cup Fans http://kuow.org/post/stairs-wobble-under-weight-world-cup-fans <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OcXuHo9jn7Y</p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 15:18:59 +0000 editor 36603 at http://kuow.org