business http://kuow.org en Is A Robot Going To Take Your Job? http://kuow.org/post/robot-going-take-your-job <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Andrew McAfee,&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">principal research scientist at the Initiative on the Digital Economy at MIT, about whether robots will replace humans in the job market.</span> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 21:32:19 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Matthew Streib 38953 at http://kuow.org Is A Robot Going To Take Your Job? Alaska Air Says It's Holding Its Own Against Delta Onslaught http://kuow.org/post/alaska-air-says-its-holding-its-own-against-delta-onslaught <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/20140724airlines.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The intensifying competition between Alaska Airlines and rival Delta Air Lines in the Western skies does not seem to be hurting the bottom line of either company.</span><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 14:27:16 +0000 Tom Banse 38934 at http://kuow.org Alaska Air Says It's Holding Its Own Against Delta Onslaught Amazon Fire Phone: 'Showrooming On Steroids' http://kuow.org/post/amazon-fire-phone-showrooming-steroids <p>Go to a box store, hold your phone up to an item, and – ding! – your phone tells you how much the same item would cost on Amazon Prime. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 22:02:52 +0000 Ross Reynolds 38824 at http://kuow.org Amazon Fire Phone: 'Showrooming On Steroids' Feds Ban Free Climbing By Electric Utility Workers http://kuow.org/post/feds-ban-free-climbing-electric-utility-workers <p>The Obama Administration is putting an end to the common practice of "free climbing" by electrical lineworkers. Seattle City Light and other electric utilities let their lineworkers climb transmission towers without using safety harnesses. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 16:20:50 +0000 John Ryan 38760 at http://kuow.org Feds Ban Free Climbing By Electric Utility Workers Columbia Sportswear Fined For Failing To Label Clothes Treated With Pesticide http://kuow.org/post/columbia-sportswear-fined-failing-label-clothes-treated-pesticide The Environmental Protection Agency has fined Portland-based Columbia Sportswear $100,800 for failing to label clothes treated with pesticides.<p>Between 2010 and 2013, the company sold socks and hats that were treated with a product called Insect Blocker but didn't have the label notifying consumers as required by federal pesticide labeling laws.<p>According to the EPA, while the products were mislabeled, they should not pose a risk to consumers. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 15:44:10 +0000 Cassandra Profita 38790 at http://kuow.org Columbia Sportswear Fined For Failing To Label Clothes Treated With Pesticide Some Food Companies Are Quietly Dumping GMO Ingredients http://kuow.org/post/some-food-companies-are-quietly-dumping-gmo-ingredients A tour of the Ben & Jerry's factory in Waterbury, Vt., includes a stop at the "Flavor Graveyard," where ice cream combinations that didn't make the cut are put to rest under the shade of big trees.<p>One recently deceased flavor has yet to be memorialized there: Coffee Heath Bar Crunch, one of the company's best-sellers. Ben & Jerry's CEO <a href="http://www.benjerry.com/about-us/how-were-structured#4timeline">Jostein Solheim </a>says the company had to remove the key ingredient, Heath bars made by Hershey, and rework the flavor. Its replacement is called Coffee Toffee Bar Crunch. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 15:37:56 +0000 editor 38710 at http://kuow.org Some Food Companies Are Quietly Dumping GMO Ingredients Massive Layoffs At Microsoft A Test For Seattle Startup Culture http://kuow.org/post/massive-layoffs-microsoft-test-seattle-startup-culture <p>Last week, Microsoft began the biggest layoffs in the company’s history: 18,000 total expected in the next year. So far, about 1,300 local workers have been affected.</p><p>Jon Talton, business reporter for the Seattle Times, told KUOW’s Ross Reynolds on <em>The Record</em> that this event is a test for the local economy. He said the Seattle area is in the midst of an economic boom – driven by Amazon, Boeing’s 777X and 737, increased exports and low unemployment. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 22:31:36 +0000 Ross Reynolds, Andy Hurst & Amina Al-Sadi 38643 at http://kuow.org Massive Layoffs At Microsoft A Test For Seattle Startup Culture Bookstore Owner's 'Grudging Respect' For Online Subscription Service http://kuow.org/post/bookstore-owners-grudging-respect-online-subscription-service <p>Jeannie Yandel talks with business writer and Page 2 Books&nbsp;co-owner Bill Virgin about Amazon's new unlimited book subscription service, <a href="http://techcrunch.com/2014/07/18/amazon-officially-announces-kindle-unlimited-offering-reading-and-listening-for-9-99-a-month/">Kindle Unlimited</a>. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 21:23:47 +0000 Jeannie Yandel 38520 at http://kuow.org What Happens After A Layoff http://kuow.org/post/what-happens-after-layoff <p>Ross Reynolds talks with&nbsp;<a href="http://www.hreonline.com/HRE/view/story.jhtml?id=534356761&amp;">Kevin Osborne</a>, vice president of client services at Waldron, a human resources consulting firm based in Seattle, about how downsizing companies may provide for laid off employees. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 21:23:36 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Matthew Streib 38532 at http://kuow.org What Happens After A Layoff An Update On The Microsoft Job Cuts And What It Means For The Region http://kuow.org/post/update-microsoft-job-cuts-and-what-it-means-region <p>Ross Reynolds talks to Todd Bishop, founder of Geekwire, about the announcement that Microsoft will be cutting 18,000 jobs over the next year, including 1,351 in the Seattle region. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 21:49:11 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 38463 at http://kuow.org Extreme Home Staging Spotlights Human Props http://kuow.org/post/extreme-home-staging-spotlights-human-props Bill Worthington calls himself a human prop. He seems more like an enthusiastic tour guide. Worthington is walking around his $1.5 million Princeton, N.J., home, like a proud owner.<p>"Look around the kitchen here," Worthington says. "It's essentially a brand-new kitchen, with high-end appliances, brand-new cabinetry ..."<p>But he doesn't own the place, or even know the owner. He was hired as a "house manager" to live in the property. He moved in with his own furniture and bought some new items to fill out the expansive white brick colonial. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 17:29:15 +0000 Carolyn Beeler 38435 at http://kuow.org Washington Jobless Rate At 6-Year Low, But Rural Counties Lag http://kuow.org/post/washington-jobless-rate-6-year-low-rural-counties-lag <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/071614AJ_NWUnemployment_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>According to the <a href="https://fortress.wa.gov/esd/employmentdata/docs/economic-reports/current-monthly-employment-report.pdf">June jobs report released Wednesday</a>, Washington’s jobless rate has dropped to 5.8 percent -- the lowest level in six years.<p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 15:00:39 +0000 Austin Jenkins 38420 at http://kuow.org Washington Jobless Rate At 6-Year Low, But Rural Counties Lag Oregon Nickel Mine Proposal Runs Into Stiff Opposition http://kuow.org/post/oregon-nickel-mine-proposal-runs-stiff-opposition ASHLAND, Ore. -- A Britain-based company is making preliminary moves that could lead to a 4,000-acre open-pit nickel mine being established in the headwaters of the Smith and Illinois Rivers in southwest Oregon.<p>The firm says it’s at the beginning of a long process of evaluating whether such a mine would even pencil out. But opponents in Oregon and California are taking no chances. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 14:59:17 +0000 Liam Moriarty 38419 at http://kuow.org Oregon Nickel Mine Proposal Runs Into Stiff Opposition Microsoft Layoffs Could Make Seattle Hub Of Cloud And Mobile Tech http://kuow.org/post/microsoft-layoffs-could-make-seattle-hub-cloud-and-mobile-tech <p></p><p>Following the announcement by Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella that the company would undergo a 14 percent reduction in its workforce, conference rooms at the Redmond campus were reserved by the human resources. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 14:18:46 +0000 Bill Radke & Isolde Raftery 38413 at http://kuow.org Microsoft Layoffs Could Make Seattle Hub Of Cloud And Mobile Tech What's Hot Right Now: Downtown Seattle Property Values http://kuow.org/post/whats-hot-right-now-downtown-seattle-property-values <p>Ross Reynolds talks with economist and real estate analyst <a href="http://gardnereconomics.com/company/principal">Matthew Gardner</a> about the commercial real estate market in Seattle. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 22:05:22 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38359 at http://kuow.org