history http://kuow.org en Female Pioneer Credited With Bringing Sound Effects To Radio http://kuow.org/post/female-pioneer-credited-bringing-sound-effects-radio <p>It’s no secret that radio in the early days was a man’s game. Men were the directors, the producers, the composers and the sound effect technicians. But it was a woman who was a major influence in the sound effects profession. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 16:15:24 +0000 Katy Sewall 32652 at http://kuow.org Female Pioneer Credited With Bringing Sound Effects To Radio Ken Burns On 'The Greatest Speech In American History' http://kuow.org/post/ken-burns-greatest-speech-american-history <p></p><p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with filmmaker Ken Burns about his new documentary, "<a href="http://www.pbs.org/kenburns/the-address/home/">The Address</a>."</p><p>The film captures the story of a <a href="http://www.greenwood.org/">school for boys</a> with learning differences and disabilities in Vermont where the students are encouraged to recite <span class="st">President Abraham Lincoln's </span>Gettysburg Address. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:40:04 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Jason Pagano 32622 at http://kuow.org Ken Burns On 'The Greatest Speech In American History' Mixed Reaction To Lincoln's Death On West Coast http://kuow.org/post/mixed-reaction-lincolns-death-west-coast <p></p><p>On that Saturday afternoon, April 15, 1865, the news reached Seattle by telegraph. President Abraham Lincoln was shot dead by an assassin at Ford’s Theatre on Good Friday evening.</p><p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 22:23:19 +0000 Feliks Banel 11378 at http://kuow.org Mixed Reaction To Lincoln's Death On West Coast 'Grapes Of Wrath' Is 75, But Its Depictions Of Poverty Are Timeless http://kuow.org/post/grapes-wrath-75-its-depictions-poverty-are-timeless Much has been said and written about the Dust Bowl, but if you want to get a visceral feel for how it all began and the way it affected the people who experienced it, you need go no further than the opening pages of John Steinbeck's <em>The Grapes of Wrath</em>:<p><blockquote><p>Men stood by their fences and looked at the ruined corn, drying fast now, only a little green showing through the film of dust. The men were silent and they did not move often. And the women came out of the houses to stand beside their men — to feel whether this time the men would break. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 14:24:42 +0000 Lynn Neary 32491 at http://kuow.org 'Grapes Of Wrath' Is 75, But Its Depictions Of Poverty Are Timeless Billy Frank Jr.: Tribes Must Try To Bring The Salmon Back http://kuow.org/post/billy-frank-jr-tribes-must-try-bring-salmon-back <p></p><p>Billy Frank Jr. helped secure Indian fishing rights through protest and legal action in the 1960s and '70s. The 83-year-old Nisqually tribe member has been arrested about 50 times over the years; the first time was in 1945 when he was 14, for fishing. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 22:48:49 +0000 Steve Scher 32251 at http://kuow.org Billy Frank Jr.: Tribes Must Try To Bring The Salmon Back Keeping Bones, Cultural Artifacts Safe In Central Washington Is Proving Costly http://kuow.org/post/keeping-bones-cultural-artifacts-safe-central-washington-proving-costly <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040914AK_Wanapum_barebones_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The drawdown of water behind Wanapum Dam in central Washington is exposing dozens of human gravesites and hundreds of Native American cultural artifacts.<p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 15:17:59 +0000 Anna King 32276 at http://kuow.org Keeping Bones, Cultural Artifacts Safe In Central Washington Is Proving Costly An Eye For An Eye: Did It Make The World Blind? http://kuow.org/post/eye-eye-did-it-make-world-blind <p>Steve Scher talks with Thane Rosenbaum, author of "Payback: The Case For Revenge," about how we view the phrase "an eye for an eye" and the role of revenge in our current justice system. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 21:11:59 +0000 Steve Scher & Hannah Burn 32215 at http://kuow.org An Eye For An Eye: Did It Make The World Blind? Denied A Stage, She Sang For A Nation http://kuow.org/post/denied-stage-she-sang-nation <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mAONYTMf2pk</p> Wed, 09 Apr 2014 16:18:56 +0000 Susan Stamberg 32191 at http://kuow.org Denied A Stage, She Sang For A Nation Remembering Rwandans Who Followed Their Conscience http://kuow.org/post/remembering-rwandans-who-followed-their-conscience Olive Mukankusi lives in a two-room house with mud walls and a dirt floor in a village called Igati, in eastern Rwanda's Rwamagana province. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 20:28:00 +0000 Gregory Warner 32132 at http://kuow.org Remembering Rwandans Who Followed Their Conscience Roger Roffman On Marijuana Legalization http://kuow.org/post/roger-roffman-marijuana-legalization <p>Ross Reynolds talks with academic and activist <a href="http://rogerroffman.com">Roger Roffman</a> about his involvement with marijuana and public policy for 45 years. His latest book is "Marijuana Nation: One Man’s Chronicle of America Getting High: From Vietnam to Legalization." Mon, 07 Apr 2014 16:54:07 +0000 Ross Reynolds 32102 at http://kuow.org Roger Roffman On Marijuana Legalization Gary Heyde On Martin Luther King Jr.'s Assassination http://kuow.org/post/gary-heyde-martin-luther-king-jrs-assassination <p></p><p>Martin Luther King Jr. was assassinated 46 years ago today — on April 4, 1968. Former Seattle teacher and novelist<a href="http://austin-gary.com/"> Gary Heyde</a>&nbsp;remembers that day well. It was the day he learned one of the most important lessons of his life, but he almost didn't survive to apply the lesson.</p><p><em><a href="http://www2.kuow.org/program.php?id=24718">This archive originally aired in October 2011</a>.</em> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 22:10:01 +0000 Jeannie Yandel 31941 at http://kuow.org Gary Heyde On Martin Luther King Jr.'s Assassination Extra Virginity: Historical Toil Of Olive Oil http://kuow.org/post/extra-virginity-historical-toil-olive-oil <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with author Tom Mueller about his book, "Extra Virginity: The Sublime and Scandalous World of Olive Oil." Thu, 03 Apr 2014 22:11:35 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 31875 at http://kuow.org Extra Virginity: Historical Toil Of Olive Oil Remembering The Day Kurt Cobain's Music Died http://kuow.org/post/remembering-day-kurt-cobains-music-died <p></p><p>It was 20 years ago, but I remember it clearly: April 8, 1994, the day the world found out that Nirvana front man Kurt Cobain was dead. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 17:16:28 +0000 Marcie Sillman 31816 at http://kuow.org Remembering The Day Kurt Cobain's Music Died The Untold Story Of African American Baseball In Washington State http://kuow.org/post/untold-story-african-american-baseball-washington-state <p>Steve Scher talks with Chieko Phillips, exhibitions manager at the Northwest African American Museum, about its new exhibit, "<a href="http://www.naamnw.org/exhibits/">Pitch Black: African American Baseball in Washington</a>." Mon, 31 Mar 2014 20:53:49 +0000 Steve Scher & Andy Hurst 31603 at http://kuow.org The Untold Story Of African American Baseball In Washington State Remembering The 'Pioneer Spirit' Of Alaska's 9.2 Earthquake http://kuow.org/post/remembering-pioneer-spirit-alaskas-92-earthquake <p>Fifty years ago, a large earthquake centered near Anchorage, Alaska, set off a fatal chain of destruction that reached through Washington and all the way down into California.</p><p>March 27, 1964 – Good Friday – was a typical early spring day in Seattle. But just after 7:30 p.m., an earthquake disrupted the peaceful evening all along the Pacific coast. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 17:51:21 +0000 Feliks Banel 31394 at http://kuow.org Remembering The 'Pioneer Spirit' Of Alaska's 9.2 Earthquake