Ashley Ahearn http://kuow.org en Living In The Shadow Of Landslide Risk http://kuow.org/post/living-shadow-landslide-risk <p>The landslide in Oso, Wash., served as a devastating reminder of one fact of life in the Northwest: landslides happen.</p><p>In some places, it’s a risk people have learned to live with — places like the Mt. Index River Sites, a loose cluster of homes along the Skykomish River northeast of Seattle in the Cascade Mountains. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 15:14:12 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 31842 at http://kuow.org Living In The Shadow Of Landslide Risk Latest Landslide Science Not Connecting With County Planning http://kuow.org/post/latest-landslide-science-not-connecting-county-planning <p></p><p>Bonnie Brown still has photos to remind her of the cabin her parents built in the 1970s near the Stillaguamish River. It was the kind of place that kids dream of.</p><p>“It was just a very beautiful place,” she said. “With beaver ponds and streams and meadows and trails through the wood.” Wed, 26 Mar 2014 15:27:08 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 31290 at http://kuow.org Latest Landslide Science Not Connecting With County Planning EarthFix Conversation: 25 Years Later, Scientists Remember The Exxon Valdez http://kuow.org/post/earthfix-conversation-25-years-later-scientists-remember-exxon-valdez <p>Twenty five years ago today the Exxon Valdez, an oil tanker bound for Long Beach, Calif., ran aground in Prince William Sound.</p><p>Eleven million gallons of oil spilled out, polluting 1,300 miles of Alaska’s coastline. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 16:00:45 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 31151 at http://kuow.org EarthFix Conversation: 25 Years Later, Scientists Remember The Exxon Valdez Site Near Oso Had Previous Landslides, Potential For More http://kuow.org/post/site-near-oso-had-previous-landslides-potential-more <p>Satellite images show the area on the Stillaguamish River near Oso, Washington, experienced a landslide in 2006. According to the <a href="https://slidingthought.wordpress.com/tag/north-fork-of-stillaguamish/">Sliding Thought Blog</a>, the "Hazel Landslide" that year was caused by groundwater and erosion by the north fork of the river. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 03:06:28 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 31129 at http://kuow.org Site Near Oso Had Previous Landslides, Potential For More University Of Washington To Receive Money From Controversial Timber Sales http://kuow.org/post/university-washington-receive-money-controversial-timber-sales <p>The Washington Board of Natural Resources voted unanimously Tuesday to approve the sale of 200 acres of the Olympic Peninsula. The money from the timber sale will go to the University of Washington.</p><p>The land is home to a rare seabird whose numbers have plummeted to the point that it’s listed as threatened under the Endangered Species Act. Wed, 05 Mar 2014 16:46:28 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 29889 at http://kuow.org University Of Washington To Receive Money From Controversial Timber Sales Navy Looks To Renew Permits For Bombing And Sonar Exercises In The Northwest http://kuow.org/post/navy-looks-renew-permits-bombing-and-sonar-exercises-northwest <p>The Navy is pursuing permits to continue conducting sonar and explosives exercises in a large area of the Pacific Ocean — and that’s putting marine mammal advocates on high alert.</p><p> Sat, 22 Feb 2014 00:50:00 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 29236 at http://kuow.org Navy Looks To Renew Permits For Bombing And Sonar Exercises In The Northwest Up To 2,000 Gallons Of Oil Spilled In Hood Canal http://kuow.org/post/2000-gallons-oil-spilled-hood-canal <p>Officials are responding to an oil spill in Washington’s Puget Sound. The spill occurred at Naval Base Kitsap-Bangor and has spread 10 miles north to Hood Canal. Wed, 12 Feb 2014 17:12:11 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 28661 at http://kuow.org Up To 2,000 Gallons Of Oil Spilled In Hood Canal Stalking Puget Sound Steelhead With Science http://kuow.org/post/stalking-puget-sound-steelhead-science <p>You might call Barry Berejikian a steelhead stalker.</p><p>The government scientist’s pursuit of these anadromous trout has brought him to the deck of the <em>Chasina,</em> a research vessel that’s motoring through choppy gray waters of southern Puget Sound near the Tacoma Narrows Bridge. Tue, 11 Feb 2014 17:24:22 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 28579 at http://kuow.org Stalking Puget Sound Steelhead With Science Sally Jewell Straps On Snowshoes To Offer Perspective On Climate Change http://kuow.org/post/sally-jewell-straps-snowshoes-offer-perspective-climate-change <p>Hot on the heels of President Obama’s latest State of the Union address, Interior Secretary Sally Jewell came home to Washington to meet with scientists from the U.S. Geological Survey and the National Park Service.</p><p>But this wasn’t your usual boardroom PowerPoint session. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 18:33:37 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 28256 at http://kuow.org Sally Jewell Straps On Snowshoes To Offer Perspective On Climate Change Feds Declare Salmon Fishery Disaster For Washington Tribes http://kuow.org/post/feds-declare-salmon-fishery-disaster-washington-tribes <p>The U.S. Secretary of Commerce has <a href="http://www.noaanews.noaa.gov/stories2014/20140127_fraserriver.html" title="">declared the Fraser River sockeye salmon run a “fishery disaster”</a> for nine tribes and non-tribal fishers in Washington state. Wed, 29 Jan 2014 20:31:17 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 27867 at http://kuow.org Feds Declare Salmon Fishery Disaster For Washington Tribes Wild Fish Group Announces Plan To Sue Over Hatchery Fish In Puget Sound http://kuow.org/post/wild-fish-group-announces-plan-sue-over-hatchery-fish-puget-sound <p>Environmental groups are turning to the courts to block the placement of hatchery-reared fish in rivers where wild fish are struggling for survival. Tue, 28 Jan 2014 18:41:46 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 27780 at http://kuow.org Wild Fish Group Announces Plan To Sue Over Hatchery Fish In Puget Sound New Study: China Exporting Goods, Air Pollution To US http://kuow.org/post/new-study-china-exporting-goods-air-pollution-us <p>Westerly winds can carry air pollution from China across the Pacific Ocean in just a few days.</p><p>The <a href="http://www.pnas.org/content/early/2014/01/16/1312860111" title="">study</a> was published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences by researchers in the United Kingdom, China and the U.S. Wed, 22 Jan 2014 18:05:52 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 27439 at http://kuow.org New Study: China Exporting Goods, Air Pollution To US Scientists: Stop Worrying About Fukushima Radioactivity In Fish http://kuow.org/post/scientists-stop-worrying-about-fukushima-radioactivity-fish <p>Following the 2011 tsunami in Japan, a nuclear reactor released hundreds of millions of gallons of radioactive water into the ocean. That sparked fear that contaminated water would reach the West Coast, but three years later, scientists say that radiation in our waters isn’t necessarily linked to the nuclear reactor.&nbsp; Thu, 16 Jan 2014 20:36:30 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 27169 at http://kuow.org Scientists: Stop Worrying About Fukushima Radioactivity In Fish Oil, Rail Companies Offer Little Information About Shipments http://kuow.org/post/oil-rail-companies-offer-little-information-about-shipments <p>The oil-by-rail boom is underway, and with that, several high-profile, fiery derailments. &nbsp;</p><p>But state officials don't have the information they need to prepare for an oil train mishap because railroad and oil companies are not required to disclose much on shipments or response strategies. Fri, 10 Jan 2014 18:06:14 +0000 Ashley Ahearn & Tony Schick 26850 at http://kuow.org Oil, Rail Companies Offer Little Information About Shipments Washington Officials Say Shellfish Is Safe For China To Import http://kuow.org/post/washington-officials-say-shellfish-safe-china-import <p></p><p>Washington state officials said Tuesday they found lower contamination levels when they tested geoduck clams than those alleged by China when it said geoduck imported from Puget Sound had high levels of arsenic. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 21:07:18 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 26676 at http://kuow.org Washington Officials Say Shellfish Is Safe For China To Import