Austin Jenkins http://kuow.org en Washington Ethics Board To Consider Crackdown On Lobbyist-Paid Meals http://kuow.org/post/washington-ethics-board-consider-crackdown-lobbyist-paid-meals <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041514AJ_LobbyistDining_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>By next January, Washington lawmakers should have clearer guidance on when it’s OK to accept free meals from lobbyists.<p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 10:44:10 +0000 Austin Jenkins 32643 at http://kuow.org Washington Ethics Board To Consider Crackdown On Lobbyist-Paid Meals Washington Senate Majority Leader Tom Won't Seek Re-Election http://kuow.org/post/washington-senate-majority-leader-tom-wont-seek-re-election <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041414AJ_TomGone_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>One of the most influential and controversial members of the Washington legislature made a bombshell announcement Monday.<p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 15:04:08 +0000 Austin Jenkins 32572 at http://kuow.org Washington Senate Majority Leader Tom Won't Seek Re-Election After Fatalities Nationwide, Washington Regulators Target Party Buses http://kuow.org/post/after-fatalities-nationwide-washington-regulators-target-party-buses <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040414AJ_PartyBus_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>These days an old fashioned stretch limo can look a bit stodgy. The new rage is party buses.<p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 13:09:51 +0000 Austin Jenkins 32039 at http://kuow.org After Fatalities Nationwide, Washington Regulators Target Party Buses Goldmark Accuses Anti-Logging Interests Of Exploiting Oso Slide http://kuow.org/post/goldmark-accuses-anti-logging-interests-exploiting-oso-slide <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040314AJ_GoldmarkSpeaks_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Washington Lands Commissioner Peter Goldmark is speaking publicly for the first time since the Oso landslide in Snohomish County.<p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 23:15:58 +0000 Austin Jenkins 31898 at http://kuow.org Goldmark Accuses Anti-Logging Interests Of Exploiting Oso Slide Washington Pot Store Lottery Announced; Grow Licenses Lagging http://kuow.org/post/washington-pot-store-lottery-announced-grow-licenses-lagging <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040214AJ_MJLottery_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The timeline for when Washington’s first marijuana retail stores will open has slipped from June to early July, according to state Liquor Control Board staff.<p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 11:01:37 +0000 Austin Jenkins 31843 at http://kuow.org Washington Pot Store Lottery Announced; Grow Licenses Lagging Washington LNG Plant Still Not Safe For Investigators http://kuow.org/post/washington-lng-plant-still-not-safe-investigators <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040114AJ_ExplosionResponse_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>State and federal pipeline safety investigators have not yet been able to access the scene of an explosion and fire at a natural gas facility in southeast Washington.<p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 15:49:18 +0000 Austin Jenkins 31758 at http://kuow.org Washington LNG Plant Still Not Safe For Investigators National Guard Searcher Describes 'Sifting' Through Crushed House http://kuow.org/post/national-guard-searcher-describes-sifting-through-crushed-house <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032614AJ_GuardUpdate_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Washington National Guard has now deployed two Black Hawk helicopters to the Oso landslide.&#160;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">On the ground, specially-trained search teams looked for victims in the mud and debris.</span><p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 15:53:07 +0000 Austin Jenkins 31383 at http://kuow.org National Guard Searcher Describes 'Sifting' Through Crushed House First Trooper On Scene Of Landslide Describes Baby Rescue http://kuow.org/post/first-trooper-scene-landslide-describes-baby-rescue <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032614AJ_MudslideTrooper_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>One of the first pictures from the Oso landslide was of a muddied state trooper emerging from the disaster zone just after helping to rescue a critically injured baby.<p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 22:40:21 +0000 Austin Jenkins 31355 at http://kuow.org First Trooper On Scene Of Landslide Describes Baby Rescue Washington National Guard Deploys Search Unit, Fatality Recovery Team http://kuow.org/post/washington-national-guard-deploys-search-unit-fatality-recovery-team <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032514AJ_NationalGuard_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Washington National Guard has deployed two technical units to help at the scene of the massive landslide in Snohomish County.<p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 15:53:24 +0000 Austin Jenkins 31303 at http://kuow.org Washington National Guard Deploys Search Unit, Fatality Recovery Team Washington Senate Panel Approves $30 Per Diem Increase http://kuow.org/post/washington-senate-panel-approves-30-diem-increase <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032514AJ_PerDiem_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Washington state Senators are giving themselves a pay raise. They will get $120 a day in per diem when they are in session -- up from the current $90 a day.<p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 15:48:14 +0000 Austin Jenkins 31292 at http://kuow.org Washington Senate Panel Approves $30 Per Diem Increase Washington's New 24/7 Sobriety Program Runs Into Snags http://kuow.org/post/washingtons-new-247-sobriety-program-runs-snags <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/031914AJ_24-7Sobriety_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>It’s been nearly a year since a repeat drunk driver caused a horrific accident in north Seattle.<p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 14:26:33 +0000 Austin Jenkins 30906 at http://kuow.org Washington's New 24/7 Sobriety Program Runs Into Snags Washington State Ferries Chief To Resign http://kuow.org/post/washington-state-ferries-chief-resign <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/031814AJ_MoseleyResignation_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>David Moseley, the head of Washington State Ferries, announced Tuesday that he will step down on April 15 after six years on the job.<p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 12:03:14 +0000 Austin Jenkins 30836 at http://kuow.org Washington State Ferries Chief To Resign Energy Secretary Meets With Inslee On Hanford http://kuow.org/post/energy-secretary-meets-inslee-hanford <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/031714AJ_HanfordTrouble_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Washington Governor Jay Inslee says the U.S. Department of Energy is failing to provide him a “comprehensive” Hanford clean-up plan.<p> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 16:05:37 +0000 Austin Jenkins 30767 at http://kuow.org Energy Secretary Meets With Inslee On Hanford Washington Governor 'Surprised' Medical Marijuana Regulation Failed http://kuow.org/post/washington-governor-surprised-medical-marijuana-regulation-failed <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/031414AJ_Inslee_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Washington Governor Jay Inslee says he’s surprised and disappointed medical marijuana regulation died in the state legislature this year.<p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 12:14:33 +0000 Austin Jenkins 30668 at http://kuow.org Washington Governor 'Surprised' Medical Marijuana Regulation Failed Washington Legislature Adjourns With No Action On Medical Marijuana, Gas Tax http://kuow.org/post/washington-legislature-adjourns-no-action-medical-marijuana-gas-tax <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/031314AJ_SessionAdjourns_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Washington legislature adjourned its 60-day session just before midnight Thursday night.</span><p> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 15:16:15 +0000 Austin Jenkins 30528 at http://kuow.org Washington Legislature Adjourns With No Action On Medical Marijuana, Gas Tax