Environment http://kuow.org en DNR Postpones Clear-Cuts It Approved Near Oso Landslide http://kuow.org/post/dnr-postpones-clear-cuts-it-approved-near-oso-landslide <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Washington state officials have postponed selling 250 acres of timber on steep slopes near the town of </span>Oso<span style="line-height: 1.5;">.</span></p><p> Sat, 19 Apr 2014 14:35:46 +0000 John Ryan 32850 at http://kuow.org DNR Postpones Clear-Cuts It Approved Near Oso Landslide The Challenges To Predicting Earthquakes http://kuow.org/post/challenges-predicting-earthquakes <p></p><p>Moments before the magnitude-7.2 earthquake struck central and southern Mexico, people received a text message warning on their phones.</p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with John Vidale, Washington state seismologist and UW professor, about the challenges to predicting earthquakes. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 22:20:08 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 32817 at http://kuow.org The Challenges To Predicting Earthquakes New Information Released In Southern Oregon Chemical Spraying Case http://kuow.org/post/new-information-released-southern-oregon-chemical-spraying-case Residents in a coastal Southern Oregon community have been trying since October to find out whether they were exposed to herbicides that a timber company sprayed on a nearby clearcut.<p>After months of waiting, new information has finally come out: state inspectors say they detected trace amounts of two herbicides on the leaves of apple trees in the neighborhood.<p>On Oct. 16, a helicopter pilot sprayed herbicide on 176 acres of clearcut forest that belongs to Crook Timberlands.<p>John Burns lives less than a mile away in a community called Cedar Valley. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 11:01:37 +0000 Amelia Templeton 32722 at http://kuow.org New Information Released In Southern Oregon Chemical Spraying Case What's Killing Off The World's Banana Crop? http://kuow.org/post/whats-killing-worlds-banana-crop <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with Dr. Lori Carris, plant pathologist at Washington State University, about why the <a href="http://www.un.org/apps/news/story.asp?NewsID=47573&amp;Cr=agriculture&amp;Cr1=#.U072oRDpzwm">United Nations is warning</a> the world of a ferocious disease that's attacking bananas.</p><p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 22:00:19 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Marcie Sillman 32671 at http://kuow.org What's Killing Off The World's Banana Crop? Death Of Popular Hawk Highlights Concerns Over Rat Poison http://kuow.org/post/death-popular-hawk-highlights-concerns-over-rat-poison The death of a beloved red-tailed hawk in Cambridge, Mass., has drawn attention to the issue of how rat poison is affecting wildlife.<p>Veterinarians say the hawk likely died from eating a rodent that consumed rat poison. Local birdwatchers had followed the exploits of the hawk and her mate, which they named Ruby and Buzz, for years.<p>The state of California recently announced a ban on the retail sale of certain rat poisons, known as second-generation anticoagulant rodenticides (SGARs), because of the hazards they pose to pets, children and wildlife. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 17:40:46 +0000 editor 32660 at http://kuow.org Death Of Popular Hawk Highlights Concerns Over Rat Poison Endangered Salmon Migrate Via Trucks Around Cracked Dam http://kuow.org/post/endangered-salmon-migrate-trucks-around-cracked-dam <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041514AK_Wanapum_salmonfix_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Columbia River will remain drawn down at least until June because of the cracked Wanapum Dam in southeast Washington.<p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 11:01:33 +0000 Anna King 32644 at http://kuow.org Endangered Salmon Migrate Via Trucks Around Cracked Dam A New Western Outlaw: The Bee Rustler http://kuow.org/post/new-western-outlaw-bee-rustler <p>Warmer temperatures and blooming flowers are making it seem like we’ve finally turned the corner toward spring here in the Northwest. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 10:39:22 +0000 Ryan Haas 32646 at http://kuow.org A New Western Outlaw: The Bee Rustler As La. Coast Recedes, Battle Rages Over Who Should Pay http://kuow.org/post/la-coast-recedes-battle-rages-over-who-should-pay Louisiana's coast is disappearing at the rate of about a football field an hour. Since the 1930s, the Gulf of Mexico has swallowed up an area the size of Delaware.<p>You can see the water encroaching in Delacroix in St. Bernard Parish, less than an hour southeast of New Orleans. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 07:40:00 +0000 Debbie Elliott 32628 at http://kuow.org As La. Coast Recedes, Battle Rages Over Who Should Pay Alfalfa Growers Hope To Rake In More Green This Year http://kuow.org/post/alfalfa-growers-hope-rake-more-green-year <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041414AK_Alfalfa_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Many Northwest alfalfa growers had a rough year with bad weather last summer.<p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 15:03:28 +0000 Anna King 32571 at http://kuow.org Alfalfa Growers Hope To Rake In More Green This Year Sportman Group To Picket Native Fish Advocates' Banquet http://kuow.org/post/sportman-group-picket-native-fish-advocates-banquet A group of sport fishers plans to picket the annual banquet for native fish advocates in Portland Friday evening.<p>The conflict centers on management of hatchery fish.<p>Members of the Three Rivers Sportsman's Alliance say the Native Fish Society wants to eliminate hatchery fish.<p>Greg Osburn, who leads the sportsman's group, says that's a problem for fishermen who want to keep the salmon and steelhead they catch. "If you eliminate hatchery practices, you eliminate fish that you can take home to your family. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 15:17:17 +0000 Cassandra Profita 32497 at http://kuow.org Sportman Group To Picket Native Fish Advocates' Banquet Researchers Find Pocket Of Air Pollution In Central Washington http://kuow.org/post/researchers-find-pocket-air-pollution-central-washington Nitrate air pollution is higher in the Yakima Valley than many other places in Washington. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 11:06:12 +0000 Courtney Flatt 32493 at http://kuow.org Researchers Find Pocket Of Air Pollution In Central Washington Washington's Wildfire Season Officially Starts Tuesday http://kuow.org/post/washingtons-wildfire-season-officially-starts-tuesday <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041114TB_Wildfire_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Wildfire season officially starts on April 15 in Washington state.&#160;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Oregon and Idaho have rolling starts to fire precaution rules depending on local conditions.</span><p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 11:05:16 +0000 Tom Banse 32492 at http://kuow.org Washington's Wildfire Season Officially Starts Tuesday Water Supply Rebounds Across Most of Northwest After March Storms http://kuow.org/post/water-supply-rebounds-across-most-northwest-after-march-storms <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041014TB_Water_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Irrigators, hydropower dam operators and tugboat captains are sitting pretty across most of the Northwest according to the <a href="http://www.nwrfc.noaa.gov/ws/">latest regional water supply forecast</a>.<p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 15:06:33 +0000 Tom Banse 32361 at http://kuow.org Water Supply Rebounds Across Most of Northwest After March Storms Saving The Greater Sage Grouse http://kuow.org/post/saving-greater-sage-grouse <p></p><p>It’s early in the morning, hours before sunrise. An old pickup truck turns down a dirt road at <a href="http://wdfw.wa.gov/lands/wildlife_areas/swanson_lakes/" title="Swanson Lakes Wildlife Area">Swanson Lakes Wildlife Area</a> in Eastern Washington, about 90 minutes west of Spokane. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 15:05:42 +0000 Courtney Flatt 32366 at http://kuow.org Saving The Greater Sage Grouse Propane And Butane Export Terminal Proposed For Longview, Wash. http://kuow.org/post/propane-and-butane-export-terminal-proposed-longview-wash Nearly <a href="http://www.nytimes.com/2014/01/30/business/energy-environment/industry-in-north-dakota-promises-to-reduce-flared-natural-gas.html?_r=0" title="">30 percent of the gas released</a> during crude oil production in the Bakken oil fields is flared off – burned into the air and essentially wasted.<p>This week, a Houston-based company proposed building a terminal in Longview, Wash. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 15:04:35 +0000 Cassandra Profita 32362 at http://kuow.org Propane And Butane Export Terminal Proposed For Longview, Wash.