Education http://kuow.org en High-Performing Charter Schools May Improve Students' Health http://kuow.org/post/high-performing-charter-schools-may-improve-students-health Many people are intensely interested in how publicly funded charter schools affect children, and that includes not just their academic achievement but their health.<p>Researchers from UCLA and the Rand Corp. wanted to know whether attending a high-performing charter school reduced the rates of risky health behaviors among low-income minority teenagers.<p>They surveyed 521 ninth through 12th-grade students in Los Angeles who attended charter schools, and 409 students who attended local neighborhood schools. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 20:59:35 +0000 Patti Neighmond 38663 at http://kuow.org High-Performing Charter Schools May Improve Students' Health Sixth-Grader's Science Fair Finding Shocks Ecologists http://kuow.org/post/sixth-graders-science-fair-finding-shocks-ecologists When 12-year-old Lauren Arrington heard about her sixth-grade science project, she knew she wanted to study lionfish. Growing up in Jupiter, Fla., she saw them in the ocean while snorkeling and fishing with her dad.<p>Her project showed that the lionfish can survive in nearly fresh water. The results blew away professional ecologists. Sun, 20 Jul 2014 21:31:00 +0000 NPR Staff 38602 at http://kuow.org Sixth-Grader's Science Fair Finding Shocks Ecologists Seattle School Board Picks Interim Superintendent http://kuow.org/post/seattle-school-board-picks-interim-superintendent <p>The Seattle School Board voted unanimously Friday to make Larry Nyland the interim schools chief to replace outgoing Superintendent Jose Banda.</p><p> Sat, 19 Jul 2014 00:53:07 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 38549 at http://kuow.org Washington Supreme Court Sides With Boyfriend In School Backpack Shooting http://kuow.org/post/washington-supreme-court-sides-boyfriend-school-backpack-shooting <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/071714AJ_KidsWithGuns_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Washington Supreme Court ruled Thursday a Washington man whose loaded gun went off in a school backpack critically injuring a student can’t be charged with third-degree assault.<p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 02:41:51 +0000 Austin Jenkins 38482 at http://kuow.org Young Scientists Say They're Sexually Abused In The Field http://kuow.org/post/young-scientists-say-theyre-sexually-abused-field Many young scientists dream of their first trip to a remote research site — who wouldn't want to hang out with chimps like Jane Goodall, or sail to the Galapagos like Charles Darwin, exploring the world and advancing science?<p>But for many scientists, field research can endanger their health and safety.<p>In a survey of scientists engaged in field research, the majority — 64 percent — said they had personally experienced sexual harassment while at a field site, and 22 percent reported being the victim of sexual assault.<p>Most of the people reporting harassment or assault were women, and the Thu, 17 Jul 2014 14:58:07 +0000 editor 38417 at http://kuow.org Here Are Washington's New Prospective Charter Schools http://kuow.org/post/here-are-washingtons-new-prospective-charter-schools <p>Seven organizations have filed to open charter schools in Washington in the state’s second-ever round of applications.</p><p>The proposed schools include California-based charter chains… a bilingual school… and a school that would teach partly in sign language.</p><p>Three of the schools would be in Spokane, with the rest in Seattle, Sunnyside, and Pierce and Clark Counties.</p><p>Three of the groups had applied unsuccessfully to open schools last year.</p><p>The state’s charter school authorizers will decide which applications to approve, if any, by mid-October.</p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 00:06:17 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 38396 at http://kuow.org A Push For Ethnic Studies In Texas Schools http://kuow.org/post/push-ethnic-studies-texas-schools Ever since the civil rights movement in the 1960s, many educators, students and activists have pushed for more ethnic studies in public schools.<p>In 1968 at a San Francisco State University, students led the longest student strike in the country&#8217;s history calling for ethnic studies programs that accurately represented the student body and their needs. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 22:05:48 +0000 editor 38390 at http://kuow.org A Push For Ethnic Studies In Texas Schools Colleges Struggle To Stop And Respond To Sexual Violence On Campus http://kuow.org/post/colleges-struggle-stop-and-respond-sexual-violence-campus One of the 55 higher education institutions under federal investigation for their handling of sexual assault cases is this week hosting a national summit on the subject.<p>Administrators, students and experts from across the country are at Dartmouth College in New Hampshire for the <a href="http://www.dartmouth.edu/sosa/" target="_blank">Summit on Sexual Assault on College Campuses</a>, a conference focused on prevention, education and response.<p>The event takes place amid growing calls for action. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 14:31:18 +0000 editor 38344 at http://kuow.org Colleges Struggle To Stop And Respond To Sexual Violence On Campus Long Before Babies Talk, They're Plotting Away http://kuow.org/post/long-babies-talk-theyre-plotting-away <p>A University of Washington <a href="http://www.pnas.org/content/early/2014/07/10/1410963111.full.pdf+html">study</a> published Monday in the <em>Proceedings of the National Academy of Science</em> gives clues about how talking to babies from an early age helps them say their first words. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 19:06:46 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 38204 at http://kuow.org Long Before Babies Talk, They're Plotting Away Teaching 4-Year-Olds To Feel Better http://kuow.org/post/teaching-4-year-olds-feel-better You're 4 years old, building a block tower. Another kid runs up and knocks it down. What do you do? A) Tell her that's against the rules. B) Go tell a teacher. C) Hit her. D) Start to cry. E) What did you say again?<p>According to a <a href="http://www.mdrc.org/sites/default/files/HSCares%20Impact_ExecSummary%20MDRC.pdf">large national study </a>just released, it's possible to teach kids in preschool to give better answers to that question — not only when asked by a researcher, but in real life. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 12:18:00 +0000 editor 38177 at http://kuow.org Tacoma School District To Apologize For Firing Gay Teacher In 1972 http://kuow.org/post/tacoma-school-district-apologize-firing-gay-teacher-1972 <p>Marcie Sillman&nbsp;talks with former teacher Jim Gaylord, who was fired from&nbsp;Tacoma's Wilson High School in 1972 for being gay. The school district will offer a formal apology this Sunday. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:36:38 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Matthew Streib 38096 at http://kuow.org Childcare Provider Debates Two Possible Preschool Laws http://kuow.org/post/childcare-provider-debates-two-possible-preschool-laws <p>Patti Oliver Bailey sat on a sunny wooden deck in Seattle’s Rainier Valley on a recent afternoon, surrounded by toddlers digging through a box of pink sand and bright toys. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:28:11 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 38063 at http://kuow.org Childcare Provider Debates Two Possible Preschool Laws Math Nerd Or Bookworm? Many Of The Same Genes Shape Both Abilities http://kuow.org/post/math-nerd-or-bookworm-many-same-genes-shape-both-abilities <strong></strong>Many of us tend to align ourselves with either numbers or words. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 14:10:00 +0000 editor 37957 at http://kuow.org Math Nerd Or Bookworm? Many Of The Same Genes Shape Both Abilities How A Text Message Could Revolutionize Student Aid http://kuow.org/post/how-text-message-could-revolutionize-student-aid Every year, more than a million students don't complete the FAFSA — the main federal student-loan application.<p>One big reason? The form is so complicated that it discourages some people from even trying.<p>Two U.S. senators have introduced a bill that would scrap the much-maligned Free Application for Federal Student Aid. They'd replace it with a much simpler two-question form that's roughly the size of a postcard. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 14:38:00 +0000 editor 37800 at http://kuow.org How A Text Message Could Revolutionize Student Aid State Sends Smoke Signals With Pot PSAs http://kuow.org/post/state-sends-smoke-signals-pot-psas <p>Marcie Sillman talks with&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">University of Washington </span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">professor emeritus Roger Roffman about state efforts to put marijuana revenue towards marijuana education. </span> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 22:26:08 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Shane Melhing 37751 at http://kuow.org