Arts & Life http://kuow.org en Navigating Love, Marriage, And Two Different Cultures http://kuow.org/post/navigating-love-marriage-and-two-different-cultures <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with author Krista Bremer about her memoir, "My Accidental Jihad." In it Bremer reflects on her marriage to a Libyan-born Muslim and the challenges she faced in a multicultural family. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 22:54:49 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 32698 at http://kuow.org Navigating Love, Marriage, And Two Different Cultures An Ex-Seminarian's Take On Sexual Abuse Scandal http://kuow.org/post/ex-seminarians-take-sexual-abuse-scandal <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds interviews local author Fred Moody about his account of discovering his seminary's sexual abuse past in his book, "Unspeakable Joy."</p><p><em>This interview originally aired on November 18, 2013.</em><br /> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 20:33:10 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 24069 at http://kuow.org An Ex-Seminarian's Take On Sexual Abuse Scandal Sous Vide Makes Its Way To The Home Kitchen http://kuow.org/post/sous-vide-makes-its-way-home-kitchen <em>Sous vide.</em> Not that long ago, it sounded so exotic — or, at least, so <em>French</em>. It was a phrase that belonged in restaurants, amid white tablecloths and flower arrangements and hushed conversations. Alternatively, it was a word that belonged to the modernist kitchens just beyond the swinging doors — kitchens filled with gleaming dehydrators and transglutaminase "meat glues" and spherification siphons and more.<p>I first heard it in the kitchen of now-famous Wylie Dufresne's first restaurant, 71 Clinton Fresh Food, where I was a clueless intern in the spring of 2000. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 17:42:22 +0000 T. Susan Chang 32666 at http://kuow.org Sous Vide Makes Its Way To The Home Kitchen The Millennial Work-Life Revolution In Seattle http://kuow.org/post/millennial-work-life-revolution-seattle <p></p><p></p><p>The millennial generation is taking control over how they work and how they live. The group, currently about 18 to 33 years old, is adopting technology that is disrupting old structures and writing the playbook on how to take advantage of technological change. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 16:34:03 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 32591 at http://kuow.org The Millennial Work-Life Revolution In Seattle Ken Burns On 'The Greatest Speech In American History' http://kuow.org/post/ken-burns-greatest-speech-american-history <p></p><p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with filmmaker Ken Burns about his new documentary, "<a href="http://www.pbs.org/kenburns/the-address/home/">The Address</a>."</p><p>The film captures the story of a <a href="http://www.greenwood.org/">school for boys</a> with learning differences and disabilities in Vermont where the students are encouraged to recite <span class="st">President Abraham Lincoln's </span>Gettysburg Address. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:40:04 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Jason Pagano 32622 at http://kuow.org Ken Burns On 'The Greatest Speech In American History' How To Successfully Conduct Interfaith Dialogue http://kuow.org/post/how-successfully-conduct-interfaith-dialogue <p>Steve Scher talks with Rabbi Ted Falcon, Pastor Don Mackenzie and Imam Jamal Rahman about how to engage in a successful interfaith dialogue. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:17:12 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 32618 at http://kuow.org How To Successfully Conduct Interfaith Dialogue How Collaborative Commons Is The Beginning Of The End For Capitalism http://kuow.org/post/how-collaborative-commons-beginning-end-capitalism <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with Jeremy Rifkin about his new book, "The Zero Marginal Cost Society: The Internet of Things, the Collaborative Commons, and the Eclipse of Capitalism." Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:09:53 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 32614 at http://kuow.org How Collaborative Commons Is The Beginning Of The End For Capitalism John Luther Adams Wins Pulitzer For 'Become Ocean' http://kuow.org/post/john-luther-adams-wins-pulitzer-become-ocean <p></p><p>Composer John Luther Adams was as surprised as anybody when the <a href="http://www.pulitzer.org/awards/2014">Pulitzer Prize</a> committee called him Monday, April 14, to let him know he'd won the prize for his composition "Become Ocean." Tue, 15 Apr 2014 21:58:09 +0000 Marcie Sillman 32616 at http://kuow.org John Luther Adams Wins Pulitzer For 'Become Ocean' Twitter Lessons From The Boston Marathon Bombings http://kuow.org/post/twitter-lessons-boston-marathon-bombings <p>When the deadly Boston Marathon bombings happened a year ago, people flocked to social media sites like Twitter for information. But that led to some problems, including the misidentification of one of the suspected bombers and other reports that turned out to be false. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 17:09:43 +0000 Jamala Henderson 32577 at http://kuow.org Twitter Lessons From The Boston Marathon Bombings Runner Returns To Boston With A New Outlook On Life http://kuow.org/post/runner-returns-boston-new-outlook-life <em><a href="http://npr8.tumblr.com/runners">Eight runners</a> entered in the 2014 Boston Marathon are <a href="http://npr8.tumblr.com/">documenting their race preparations</a> for NPR in a Tumblr blog. <a href="http://npr8.tumblr.com/tagged/demi-clark">Demi Clark</a> is one of the eight, and this is her story.</em><p><hr /><p>Demi Clark was having a storybook Boston Marathon experience when the first blast sounded out like a cannon behind her. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 11:33:00 +0000 editor 32562 at http://kuow.org Runner Returns To Boston With A New Outlook On Life Emma Donoghue's New Novel 'Frog Music' http://kuow.org/post/emma-donoghues-new-novel-frog-music <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with writer Emma Donoghue about her new book, "Frog Music." It was inspired by the unsolved 1876 murder of a woman named Jenny Bonnet in San Francisco.</p><p>Donoghue also discusses about how fact inspires her fiction. Her award-winning novel, "Room," was about a 5-year-old boy and his mother who were kept prisoner by their father and husband, respectively, in a backyard shed. The book was based, in small part, on a real life story Donoghue had seen in the news. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 22:34:42 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Arwen Nicks 32509 at http://kuow.org Emma Donoghue's New Novel 'Frog Music' Extended Season For Some Northwest Ski Areas, But Profits Scarce http://kuow.org/post/extended-season-some-northwest-ski-areas-profits-scarce <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041014TB_SkiDoldrums_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Thanks to late-season snow that fell at many area some Cascade ski areas will welcome skiers and snowboarders well past Easter.<p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 15:16:12 +0000 Tom Banse 32496 at http://kuow.org Extended Season For Some Northwest Ski Areas, But Profits Scarce There's A 'Blood Moon' Eclipse Tonight, But Will You Be Able To See It? http://kuow.org/post/theres-blood-moon-eclipse-tonight-will-you-be-able-see-it It's looking like clouds will obscure Monday night's lunar eclipse for nearly all of the U.S. East Coast, but much of the West and Midwest should be able to see it.<p>As <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/04/11/301958755/total-eclipse-of-the-moon-next-week-throughout-north-america">we wrote last week</a>, the total eclipse of the moon — the first visible from North America since 2010 — will start a few minutes before 1 a.m. EDT and slowly continue over the next two hours until it peaks (reaches totality) about 3 a.m. Tuesday. On the West Coast, it starts about 10 p.m. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 15:06:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 32494 at http://kuow.org There's A 'Blood Moon' Eclipse Tonight, But Will You Be Able To See It? 'Grapes Of Wrath' Is 75, But Its Depictions Of Poverty Are Timeless http://kuow.org/post/grapes-wrath-75-its-depictions-poverty-are-timeless Much has been said and written about the Dust Bowl, but if you want to get a visceral feel for how it all began and the way it affected the people who experienced it, you need go no further than the opening pages of John Steinbeck's <em>The Grapes of Wrath</em>:<p><blockquote><p>Men stood by their fences and looked at the ruined corn, drying fast now, only a little green showing through the film of dust. The men were silent and they did not move often. And the women came out of the houses to stand beside their men — to feel whether this time the men would break. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 14:24:42 +0000 Lynn Neary 32491 at http://kuow.org 'Grapes Of Wrath' Is 75, But Its Depictions Of Poverty Are Timeless For Oso, Returning To Normalcy Means Chainmail And Jousting http://kuow.org/post/oso-returning-normalcy-means-chainmail-and-jousting <p>Yellow ribbons are tied around each post you pass as you drive into the Rhodes River Ranch just outside of Oso, Wash., a town still recovering from the devastating mudslide on March 22.</p><p>Bonnie Rose does just about everything at the 200-acre ranch, which is spotted with horse stables, shoeing barns and a restaurant built to surround a large equestrian arena. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 14:23:11 +0000 Arwen Nicks 32477 at http://kuow.org For Oso, Returning To Normalcy Means Chainmail And Jousting