MAP test http://kuow.org en Seattle School Board Candidates Clash On Testing, State Standards http://kuow.org/post/seattle-school-board-candidates-clash-testing-state-standards <p></p><p>One of the hottest races on Seattle&rsquo;s fall ballot isn&#39;t for mayor or city council, but&nbsp;a seat on the Seattle School Board. Thu, 17 Oct 2013 16:52:44 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 22179 at http://kuow.org Seattle School Board Candidates Clash On Testing, State Standards Seattle Schools Chief Scales Back Controversial MAP Test http://kuow.org/post/seattle-schools-chief-scales-back-controversial-map-test <p>The standardized test that inspired boycotts by teachers across Seattle School District will be scaled back next school year.<br><br>In a <a href="http://www.seattleschools.org/modules/cms/pages.phtml?pageid=294872&amp;sessionid=fc0b76f5be9b365d760464c5ea3e9378">letter</a> to district staff today, Superintendent Jose Banda announced that the Measures of Academic Progress&nbsp;test will still be required in kindergarten though eighth grade, but it will be optional at the high school level.</p><p> Tue, 14 May 2013 01:00:00 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 13019 at http://kuow.org Seattle Schools Chief Scales Back Controversial MAP Test District Says Teachers Who Boycotted Test Won’t Be Punished http://kuow.org/post/district-says-teachers-who-boycotted-test-won-t-be-punished <p><font size="2">The superintendent of Seattle Public Schools said no teachers will be disciplined for refusing to give students the district-wide Measures of Academic Progress test. </font><font size="2">The district got international attention after dozens of teachers at several schools boycotted the test this winter, calling</font><font size="2">&nbsp;it a waste of time and money.</font> Fri, 29 Mar 2013 23:58:45 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 10615 at http://kuow.org MAP Test Finally Given At Garfield High, But Few Students Show Up http://kuow.org/post/map-test-finally-given-garfield-high-few-students-show <p></p><p>Seattle Public Schools Superintendent José Banda directed administrators at Garfield High School to give the Measures of Academic Progress (MAP) test Tuesday despite a mass boycott by the school’s teachers.</p><p> Wed, 06 Feb 2013 15:32:58 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 7755 at http://kuow.org District Threatens Suspensions, Seattle Teachers Continue Test Boycott http://kuow.org/post/district-threatens-suspensions-seattle-teachers-continue-test-boycott <p></p><p>The Seattle School District warned teachers Wednesday they face a 10 day suspension without pay if they refuse to give students the Measures of Academic Progress (MAP) test. The announcement came nearly&nbsp;two weeks after the teaching staff at Garfield High School announced they were refusing to give students the district-wide MAP test.</p><p> Thu, 24 Jan 2013 15:45:14 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 7060 at http://kuow.org District Threatens Suspensions, Seattle Teachers Continue Test Boycott District May Suspend Teachers Who Won't Give MAP Test http://kuow.org/post/district-may-suspend-teachers-who-wont-give-map-test <p>The Seattle School District announced Wednesday that teachers may be suspended for 10 days without pay if they fail to give students the Measures of Academic Progress test. Following the announcement, teachers rallied outside district headquarters to demand that the district stop using the MAP test.</p><p> Thu, 24 Jan 2013 00:28:54 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 7053 at http://kuow.org District May Suspend Teachers Who Won't Give MAP Test Seattle Superintendent And Testing Company Defend Standardized Test http://kuow.org/post/seattle-superintendent-and-testing-company-defend-standardized-test <p></p><p>Seattle Public Schools officials and&nbsp;the company that produces the <a href="http://www.seattleschools.org/modules/cms/pages.phtml?sessionid=&amp;pageid=219359">Measures of Academic Progress </a>(MAP) test&nbsp;are defending the school district's use of the standardized test&nbsp;after&nbsp;Garfield High School teachers refused&nbsp;to give it to their students this quarter.</p><p> Mon, 14 Jan 2013 20:19:18 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 6548 at http://kuow.org Seattle Superintendent And Testing Company Defend Standardized Test