aviation http://kuow.org en Volunteers Restore Historic Jet In Everett http://kuow.org/post/volunteers-restore-historic-jet-everett <p>Volunteers at the Museum of Flight Restoration Center in Everett have been working diligently since 1995 to restore one of the last DeHavilland Comets. The Comet was the world’s first commercial jetliner, and its body shape inspired the jets of today. Mon, 16 Sep 2013 21:55:57 +0000 Dave Beck & Feliks Banel 20440 at http://kuow.org Volunteers Restore Historic Jet In Everett Dream About To Take Flight For Seattle Couple http://kuow.org/post/dream-taking-flight-seattle-couple <p></p><p></p><p>In 1924, Seattle&rsquo;s Sand Point was the site of one of the greatest aviation milestones of all time. But the event was eclipsed by other aviators like Charles Lindbergh and the Wright Brothers. Now, a Seattle couple wants to breathe new life into that momentous time with their own <a href="http://seattleworldcruiser.org/">pioneering project</a>.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 28 Jun 2013 14:04:31 +0000 Sarah Waller 15729 at http://kuow.org Dream About To Take Flight For Seattle Couple Airbus Scores On Boeing Before Paris Air Show http://kuow.org/post/airbus-scores-boeing-paris-air-show <p>The Paris Air Show opens today. It’s where manufacturers show off their new planes – and where Boeing and Airbus try to best each other. Mon, 17 Jun 2013 15:14:12 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 14979 at http://kuow.org Airbus Scores On Boeing Before Paris Air Show Boeing Certification Flight Complete http://kuow.org/post/boeing-certification-flight-complete <p>Boeing's 787 certification flight has landed.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The flight was Boeing's final certification test for the battery system it redesigned following smoke and fire incidents in January. Boeing Co. said the test would show the Federal Aviation Administration that the new system performs as intended "during normal and non-normal flight conditions."</span></p><p> Fri, 05 Apr 2013 18:01:22 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 10931 at http://kuow.org Boeing Certification Flight Complete 70 Years Ago: Remembering The Crash Of Boeing’s Superfortress http://kuow.org/post/70-years-ago-remembering-crash-boeing-s-superfortress <p></p><p>The Boeing Dreamliner was been grounded since Jan. 16 as authorities try to sort out problems with the plane’s high tech batteries and electrical system. Meanwhile, it was 70 years ago this coming week that an earlier Boeing plane caught fire over Seattle during a test flight, causing one of the worst air disasters in the city’s history.<br> Fri, 15 Feb 2013 16:03:48 +0000 Feliks Banel 8251 at http://kuow.org 70 Years Ago: Remembering The Crash Of Boeing’s Superfortress Battery At Heart Of Safety Review Was "Key" In 787 Development http://kuow.org/post/battery-heart-safety-review-was-key-787-development <p></p><p>The Boeing 787’s lithium-ion batteries are now the subject of intense scrutiny. The Federal Aviation Administration has&nbsp;grounded the entire 787 fleet in the US until it can get to the root cause of a fire hazard involving the batteries.</p><p> Fri, 18 Jan 2013 01:56:16 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 6755 at http://kuow.org Battery At Heart Of Safety Review Was "Key" In 787 Development Will Grounded Dreamliners Be A Nightmare For Boeing? http://kuow.org/post/will-grounded-dreamliners-be-nightmare-boeing <p>Airlines around the world have grounded their Boeing 787 Dreamliners after yesterday’s emergency landing in Japan. Officials are looking into the cause of a battery malfunction that caused smoke to appear in the cabin of the aircraft. Ross Reynolds gets the latest news on Boeing from NPR reporter Wendy Kaufman.</p><p> Thu, 17 Jan 2013 20:00:00 +0000 Ross Reynolds 6740 at http://kuow.org Will Grounded Dreamliners Be A Nightmare For Boeing? Boeing Stands By 787 Despite FAA Grounding http://kuow.org/post/boeing-stands-787-despite-faa-grounding <p></p><p>The Federal Aviation Administration is grounding all Boeing 787 Dreamliners in the US. That’s after a 787 in Japan was forced to make an emergency landing Wednesday because of a battery problem.</p><p> Thu, 17 Jan 2013 00:35:59 +0000 Deborah Wang 6709 at http://kuow.org Boeing Stands By 787 Despite FAA Grounding Two Japanese Airlines Ground Boeing 787s After New Problems http://kuow.org/post/two-japanese-airlines-ground-boeing-787s-after-new-problems <p>Major global news services are reporting that two Japanese airlines have grounded all of their Boeing 787 jets. All Nippon Airways and Japan Airlines made the announcements following an emergency landing Wednesday morning in Japan. Wed, 16 Jan 2013 03:33:37 +0000 Lisa Brooks & Deborah Wang & Associated Press 6644 at http://kuow.org Two Japanese Airlines Ground Boeing 787s After New Problems Dreamliner Electrical System Focus Of FAA Review http://kuow.org/post/dreamliner-electrical-system-focus-faa-review <p></p><p>Federal regulators are pledging a full-scale review of the design and build of the Boeing 787 Dreamliner. In a news conference, the Federal Aviation Administration said it will get to the root cause of a set of problems, including last week’s fire on a Dreamliner at Boston's Logan Airport.</p><p> Mon, 14 Jan 2013 14:51:08 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 6475 at http://kuow.org Dreamliner Electrical System Focus Of FAA Review