recycling http://kuow.org en The Ultimate Reuse: Shipping Containers For Buildings http://kuow.org/post/ultimate-reuse-shipping-containers-buildings <p></p><p>The cost of housing in the city is making many people think small, to embrace the micro movement that loves to reuse and recycle. Enter the idea of a shipping container as a building — a natural in a port city like Seattle, which handles 1.6 million container units in a year. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 14:27:00 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 31813 at http://kuow.org The Ultimate Reuse: Shipping Containers For Buildings More Communities Look To Recycling Toilet Water http://kuow.org/post/more-communities-look-recycling-toilet-water As California deals with a historic drought, more communities are looking to recycling sewage and storm runoff as a way to deal with the water crisis.<p>At the Edward C. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 17:33:51 +0000 editor 30852 at http://kuow.org More Communities Look To Recycling Toilet Water Garbage Collection Advice From Oregon: 'Go For It' http://kuow.org/post/garbage-collection-advice-oregon-go-it <p>David Hyde talks with Michael Armstrong, senior sustainability manager for the City of Portland, about Portland's biweekly trash program. Seattle is currently considering a proposal to reduce garbage collection to every other week.<br /> Thu, 20 Feb 2014 23:09:38 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 29142 at http://kuow.org Garbage Collection Advice From Oregon: 'Go For It' Biweekly Trash Pickup: Are The Savings Worth The Stink? http://kuow.org/post/biweekly-trash-pickup-are-savings-worth-stink <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Suzie Burke, member of Seattle Public Utilities' Citizen Advisory Committee, about the proposal to move toward biweekly trash pickup. Thu, 13 Feb 2014 00:50:08 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 28659 at http://kuow.org Biweekly Trash Pickup: Are The Savings Worth The Stink? Best Recycling Advice: Don't Agonize Over It http://kuow.org/post/best-recycling-advice-dont-agonize-over-it <p></p><p>Northwest denizens are known to take their recycling responsibilities seriously. But it can be confusing to keep on top of all the rules. Tom Watson from the King County Recycling and Environmental Services in Seattle told Steve Scher on <em>The Record</em> that you don't need to agonize too much about it. Thu, 02 Jan 2014 23:42:20 +0000 Steve Scher & Christine Streich 26423 at http://kuow.org Best Recycling Advice: Don't Agonize Over It For Recyclers, Holiday Gift Wrap Is A Mine Field Of 'Contaminants' http://kuow.org/post/recyclers-holiday-gift-wrap-mine-field-contaminants <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/12/122413JR_WrappingPaper_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The same shiny gift wrap and bright bows that make Christmas presents so enticing are exactly what give recycling centers headaches the day after Christmas.<p> Thu, 26 Dec 2013 17:23:42 +0000 Jessica Robinson 26108 at http://kuow.org For Recyclers, Holiday Gift Wrap Is A Mine Field Of 'Contaminants' Washington Recycles Millions Of Gadgets, But That's Barely Keeping Up http://kuow.org/post/washington-recycles-millions-gadgets-thats-barely-keeping <p></p><p></p><p>The loading dock at Total Reclaim in Seattle is piled high with electronic discards: phones, old TVs and computer carcasses. It is also deafening: Computer boards are shredded, and trucks roar in with new loads. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 20:03:44 +0000 Jamala Henderson 25981 at http://kuow.org Washington Recycles Millions Of Gadgets, But That's Barely Keeping Up Seattle Keeps Door Open To Biweekly Garbage Pickups http://kuow.org/post/seattle-keeps-door-open-biweekly-garbage-pickups <p>Seattle trash pickup could be reduced to every other week by 2015 if the Seattle City Council votes on Monday to keep that option on the table for the next year.</p><p>If the action passes as expected, biweekly service won’t be definite, however: Mayor-elect Ed Murray and&nbsp; council members will still need to pass the legislation early next year. Mon, 16 Dec 2013 18:57:24 +0000 Amy Radil 25475 at http://kuow.org Seattle Keeps Door Open To Biweekly Garbage Pickups Seattle Compost Is A Hot Potato http://kuow.org/post/seattle-compost-hot-potato <p></p><p>Seattle city council members are scheduled to vote Monday on legislation that could change where the city's food and yard waste ends up. But the latest plan is raising a stink east of the Cascades.</p><p> Sat, 23 Mar 2013 01:11:52 +0000 Derek Wang 10246 at http://kuow.org Seattle Compost Is A Hot Potato Construction Debris: Where Seattle's Old Buildings Go To Die http://kuow.org/post/construction-debris-where-seattles-old-buildings-go-die <p></p><p>Close to half of the garbage generated in America doesn’t come from individual homes or businesses. It comes from construction sites.</p><p> Fri, 11 Jan 2013 01:45:08 +0000 John Ryan 6400 at http://kuow.org Construction Debris: Where Seattle's Old Buildings Go To Die