jobs http://kuow.org en Is A Robot Going To Take Your Job? http://kuow.org/post/robot-going-take-your-job <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Andrew McAfee,&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">principal research scientist at the Initiative on the Digital Economy at MIT, about whether robots will replace humans in the job market.</span> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 21:32:19 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Matthew Streib 38953 at http://kuow.org Is A Robot Going To Take Your Job? Cesar Millan's Long Walk To Becoming The 'Dog Whisperer' http://kuow.org/post/cesar-millans-long-walk-becoming-dog-whisperer <em>As part of a series called "My Big Break,"</em><em> </em>All Things Considered<em> </em><em>is collecting stories of triumph, big and small. These are the moments when everything seems to click, and people leap forward into their careers.</em><p>Long before Cesar Millan became the "Dog Whisperer," with <a href="http://channel.nationalgeographic.com/wild/dog-whisperer/">TV shows</a> and a best-selling series of books, he had to learn how to ask for a job in English. Sun, 30 Mar 2014 21:06:00 +0000 NPR Staff 31574 at http://kuow.org Cesar Millan's Long Walk To Becoming The 'Dog Whisperer' Washington Recoups Great Recession Job Losses, With Caveat http://kuow.org/post/washington-recoups-great-recession-job-losses-caveat <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/030514AJ_Turek_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>It took four years, but Washington has now recovered more jobs than it lost during the Great Recession.<p> Thu, 06 Mar 2014 15:43:37 +0000 Austin Jenkins 29952 at http://kuow.org Washington Recoups Great Recession Job Losses, With Caveat Tri-Cities Lands New National Energy Lab, Growing Cleanup Firm http://kuow.org/post/tri-cities-lands-new-national-energy-lab-growing-cleanup-firm <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/012914AK_Lab_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Southeast Washington is getting an economic boost after two announcements were made on Wednesday that are expected to lead to new jobs in the region.<p> Thu, 30 Jan 2014 17:08:57 +0000 Anna King 27926 at http://kuow.org Tri-Cities Lands New National Energy Lab, Growing Cleanup Firm Unemployment Rate In Washington Lowest In More Than 5 Years http://kuow.org/post/unemployment-rate-washington-lowest-more-5-years <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/012314TB_Turek_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>New numbers for December from the Washington state employment department peg the current jobless rate at 6.6 percent. The last time it was lower was in November 2008.<p> Fri, 24 Jan 2014 17:04:11 +0000 Tom Banse 27569 at http://kuow.org Unemployment Rate In Washington Lowest In More Than 5 Years Jobless In Seattle: Researcher Struggles To Get Back In The Market http://kuow.org/post/jobless-seattle-researcher-struggles-get-back-market <p>More than 24,000 Washington residents lost their federal unemployment benefits late last month. Congress let expire an emergency federal jobless program that was created in 2008 during the great recession.</p><p>One Seattle researcher has been struggling to find work since last spring.&nbsp; Fri, 03 Jan 2014 17:01:11 +0000 Ruby de Luna 26448 at http://kuow.org Jobless In Seattle: Researcher Struggles To Get Back In The Market Ireland Exits Bailout Program, But Economy Still On The Mend http://kuow.org/post/ireland-exits-bailout-program-economy-still-mend Ireland was one of the countries hardest hit by Europe's debt crisis. On Sunday, it passed a big milestone when the nation became the first country to formally exit the bailout program funded by the International Monetary Fund and the European Union.<p>After three years of the bailout program, it isn't hard to find signs of improvement in Ireland and of an economy coming back from the dead.<p>"Don't get me wrong, it's been bad in a lot of ways, but there's a silver lining in every cloud," says Conor Mulhall, a 41-year-old father of three.<p>Mulhall used to be in construction management. Sun, 15 Dec 2013 23:56:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 25526 at http://kuow.org Ireland Exits Bailout Program, But Economy Still On The Mend Microsoft Exec: Soldiers Make Great Software Developers http://kuow.org/post/microsoft-exec-soldiers-make-great-software-developers <p>A new program in Lacey, Wash., gives soldiers training and a career track in software development after discharge from the Army. Tue, 05 Nov 2013 17:16:45 +0000 Patricia Murphy 23279 at http://kuow.org Microsoft Exec: Soldiers Make Great Software Developers Google Breaks Ground On Kirkland Expansion http://kuow.org/post/google-breaks-ground-kirkland-expansion <p></p><p>Google officially launched construction of a new building to double its campus in Kirkland.</p><p>The Seattle area is already home to the third-largest Google center in the US, behind New York City and Mountain View, California. Google says it’s expanding here because it likes the talent coming out of nearby universities. It is not saying how much it intends to grow its workforce in Kirkland.</p><p> Fri, 06 Sep 2013 04:28:14 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 19828 at http://kuow.org Google Breaks Ground On Kirkland Expansion Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is: The Conversation Talks Economics http://kuow.org/post/put-your-money-where-your-mouth-conversation-talks-economics <p>We discuss the economy a lot on <em>The Conversation</em>. From the effects of the recession to financial planning, money is always in the news. Today, we rebroadcast some of our best interviews with economists and financial reporters, including a talk with Paul Krugman in front of a live studio audience.</p><p> Wed, 21 Aug 2013 13:00:00 +0000 The Conversation With Ross Reynolds 17827 at http://kuow.org Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is: The Conversation Talks Economics Ask The Private Investigator http://kuow.org/post/ask-private-investigator <p></p><p>Pop culture has served up many fantastic private investigators over the years: Sherlock Holmes, Magnum P.I. and Columbo just to name a few. What is it like to be a real life private investigator&nbsp;and how do you get started? Ross Reynolds talks with veteran private investigator Linda Montgomery about the fact and fiction of the mysterious profession.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> </span> Fri, 22 Mar 2013 18:44:15 +0000 Producer 10216 at http://kuow.org Ask The Private Investigator What Effect Is The Shrinking Public Sector Having On The Washington State Economy? http://kuow.org/post/what-effect-shrinking-public-sector-having-washington-state-economy <p>Nationally the private sector added 5 million jobs since a low point in June of 2009. But during that same time period the public sector cut 721,000 jobs. What effect is the shrinking public sector having on the economy? And what’s the story here in Washington state?</p><p> Wed, 13 Feb 2013 20:20:00 +0000 Ross Reynolds 8178 at http://kuow.org E-Verify: A Verifiably Good Or Bad Idea? http://kuow.org/post/e-verify-verifiably-good-or-bad-idea <p>President Obama thinks E-Verify should be mandatory as part of his plan for immigration reform. Is this a good idea? How accurate is E-Verify? What happens if someone comes up negative? Is immigration contacted immediately? Ross Reynolds talks with CEO Roy Beck of Numbers USA, and Policy Analyst David Bier.</p><p> Mon, 04 Feb 2013 20:32:00 +0000 Ross Reynolds 7655 at http://kuow.org E-Verify: A Verifiably Good Or Bad Idea? Seattle And "The New Geography Of Jobs" http://kuow.org/post/seattle-and-new-geography-jobs <p></p><p>Where you decide to live is more important than your resume in determining your salary. That's according to Berkeley economist Enrico Moretti. He'll tell us about where to live if you want to be healthy and wealthy. Thu, 10 Jan 2013 20:12:52 +0000 Ross Reynolds 6394 at http://kuow.org Seattle And "The New Geography Of Jobs"