Shell Oil http://kuow.org en Shell Still Aims For Arctic Oil Drilling Despite Mishaps http://kuow.org/post/shell-still-aims-arctic-oil-drilling-despite-mishaps <p></p><p>Exactly a year ago, an oil rig being towed to Seattle ran aground on a remote island in the Gulf of Alaska. The New Year's Eve accident capped a year of trouble for Shell Oil in Alaska and in Puget Sound.</p><p>Shell is still seeking federal approval to drill in the Arctic, and a critical ship in Shell’s Arctic fleet is still sitting idle on the Bellingham, Wash., waterfront.</p><p> Tue, 31 Dec 2013 16:14:34 +0000 John Ryan 26290 at http://kuow.org Shell Still Aims For Arctic Oil Drilling Despite Mishaps Shell Moving Ahead On Oil Train Project For Puget Sound Refinery http://kuow.org/post/shell-moving-ahead-oil-train-project-puget-sound-refinery <p>On Thursday morning Shell Oil will be meeting with officials from a county in Washington state to talk about plans to build a rail extension to deliver oil from North Dakota to its refinery near Puget Sound. Thu, 29 Aug 2013 18:14:12 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 19404 at http://kuow.org Shell Moving Ahead On Oil Train Project For Puget Sound Refinery Safety Problems Old And New At Anacortes Oil Refineries http://kuow.org/post/safety-problems-old-and-new-anacortes-oil-refineries <p></p><p>The Shell Oil Co. refinery in Anacortes, Wash., sprang a leak last week. Shell quickly shut down the equipment that was boiling oil to make gasoline, but the shutdown led to a release of toxic gases.</p><p> Sat, 06 Apr 2013 00:11:27 +0000 John Ryan 10897 at http://kuow.org Safety Problems Old And New At Anacortes Oil Refineries US Blames Shell For Mishaps, Remains Committed To Arctic Drilling http://kuow.org/post/us-blames-shell-mishaps-remains-committed-arctic-drilling <p></p><p>Interior Secretary Ken Salazar had some tough words for Shell Oil Thursday as he announced the results of an investigation into Shell's Alaskan accidents in 2012. But he did not announce the tough consequences that environmentalists were hoping for in the wake of Shell’s year of Arctic mishaps.</p><p> Fri, 15 Mar 2013 14:16:23 +0000 John Ryan 9790 at http://kuow.org US Blames Shell For Mishaps, Remains Committed To Arctic Drilling Shell Cancels Arctic Drilling For 2013 http://kuow.org/post/shell-cancels-arctic-drilling-2013 <p></p><p>Shell Oil Co. has put Arctic drilling on hold. The company announced Wednesday that it will not attempt to drill for oil in the Arctic Ocean this year. The announcement comes after a year of accidents and setbacks for Shell’s Arctic drilling efforts.</p><p> Thu, 28 Feb 2013 00:52:24 +0000 John Ryan 8932 at http://kuow.org Shell Cancels Arctic Drilling For 2013 Shell's Arctic Vessels: To Asia For Major Repairs, Anacortes Area For Tests http://kuow.org/post/shells-arctic-vessels-asia-major-repairs-anacortes-area-tests <div><p></p><p><em>UPDATE:&nbsp;Shell plans to use three tugs to tow the damaged Kulluk oil rig to Dutch Harbor in Alaska's Aleutian Islands, where it will await a longer trip&nbsp;to an unnamed Asian drydock.&nbsp;Shell and the US Coast Guard have disbanded the joint command formed after the&nbsp;Seattle-bound&nbsp;rig&nbsp;broke free from its sole&nbsp;tugboat, then ran aground. Officials said the Kulluk's outer hull was damaged but not breached. <a href="https://www.piersystem.com/go/doc/5507/1704131/#.URz5LaX3W0t">They did not specify the degree of damage</a>, saying only, "The&nbsp;outer hull did receive damage as expected with a vessel being aground during adverse weather."&nbsp;</em></p><p> Thu, 14 Feb 2013 01:06:19 +0000 John Ryan 8133 at http://kuow.org Shell's Arctic Vessels: To Asia For Major Repairs, Anacortes Area For Tests Interior Dept., Coast Guard To Probe Shell’s Arctic Drilling Mishaps http://kuow.org/post/interior-dept-coast-guard-probe-shell-s-arctic-drilling-mishaps <p></p><p>The Obama administration launched a sweeping inquiry into Shell Oil’s Arctic drilling program on Tuesday. The probe, to be completed within 60 days, will look at the company’s mishaps in Alaska and in Puget Sound.<br><br>The announcement from Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar comes a week after Shell’s Kulluk oil rig ran aground in the Gulf of Alaska.</p><p> Wed, 09 Jan 2013 17:05:22 +0000 John Ryan 6294 at http://kuow.org Interior Dept., Coast Guard To Probe Shell’s Arctic Drilling Mishaps Shell’s Beached Kulluk Oil Rig Towed To Safe Harbor http://kuow.org/post/shell-s-beached-kulluk-oil-rig-towed-safe-harbor <p></p><p>A shipwrecked oil rig that was bound for Seattle has been floated off the rocks and towed to a safe harbor in the Gulf of Alaska. A fleet of nine ships accompanied Shell Oil’s Kulluk drill rig on the 45-mile tow. Shortly before noon Pacific Time, the rig reached its anchorage in sheltered Kiliuda Bay on Kodiak Island. &nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 08 Jan 2013 00:40:39 +0000 John Ryan 6232 at http://kuow.org Shell’s Beached Kulluk Oil Rig Towed To Safe Harbor Shell's Seattle-Bound Oil Rig Evacuated, Lost, Recovered In Gulf Of Alaska http://kuow.org/post/shells-seattle-bound-oil-rig-evacuated-lost-recovered-gulf-alaska <p><em>UPDATE:&nbsp;<a href="http://www.kuow.org/post/oil-drilling-rig-runs-aground-gulf-alaska">The&nbsp;Kulluk&nbsp;ran aground</a>&nbsp;late Monday night, with 150,000 gallons of diesel and oil on board.</em></p><p>A floating oil rig that was abandoned on Saturday in heavy seas in the Gulf of Alaska is being towed away from land — a second time. Wed, 02 Jan 2013 15:58:43 +0000 John Ryan 5906 at http://kuow.org Shell's Seattle-Bound Oil Rig Evacuated, Lost, Recovered In Gulf Of Alaska Oil Rig Adrift In Alaska http://kuow.org/post/oil-rig-adrift-alaska <p>An oil rig that was on its way to a Seattle shipyard from Alaska went adrift in the Gulf of Alaska on Sunday. John Ryan told Ross Reynolds about it on <em>The Conversation</em>.</p><p> Mon, 31 Dec 2012 23:13:32 +0000 John Ryan 5903 at http://kuow.org Oil Rig Adrift In Alaska