animals http://kuow.org en Northwest Researchers Document Whales Which Set New Breath-Hold Record http://kuow.org/post/northwest-researchers-document-whales-which-set-new-breath-hold-record <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040214TB_Breath_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Think about how long you can hold your breath and then let this discovery blow your mind.<p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 11:06:20 +0000 Tom Banse 31844 at http://kuow.org Northwest Researchers Document Whales Which Set New Breath-Hold Record Changes Coming To Woodland Park Zoo's Elephant Program http://kuow.org/post/changes-coming-woodland-park-zoos-elephant-program <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with Woodland Park Zoo Chief Operations Officer Bruce Bohmke about <a href="http://www.zoo.org/document.doc?id=1211">changes</a> coming to the zoo's elephant program. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 22:23:39 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 31689 at http://kuow.org Changes Coming To Woodland Park Zoo's Elephant Program Animal Rescuers Create Joy Amid Chaos After Exxon Valdez Spill http://kuow.org/post/animal-rescuers-create-joy-amid-chaos-after-exxon-valdez-spill It's been 25 years since the Exxon Valdez ran aground off the coast of Alaska, spilling millions of gallons of oil into Prince William Sound.<p>The impact on wildlife was devastating. Cleanup crews poured into the nearby port town, also called Valdez, where an animal rescue center was set up.<p>"The chaos is incredibly difficult to describe or even imagine," says LJ Evans, a local resident who volunteered to help. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 16:07:29 +0000 NPR Staff 31010 at http://kuow.org Animal Rescuers Create Joy Amid Chaos After Exxon Valdez Spill Conservationists Work To Restore Wolf Population In Western Washington http://kuow.org/post/conservationists-work-restore-wolf-population-western-washington <p>David Hyde speaks with Jay Kehne of <a href="http://www.conservationnw.org/">Conservation Northwest</a> about efforts to restore the gray wolf population in the western regions of Washington State. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 23:15:24 +0000 David Hyde & Posey Gruener 30884 at http://kuow.org Conservationists Work To Restore Wolf Population In Western Washington Noah Strycker: We Learn About Ourselves Through Bird Behavior http://kuow.org/post/noah-strycker-we-learn-about-ourselves-through-bird-behavior <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Steve </span>Scher<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> talks with Noah </span>Strycker<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> about his book, “The Thing With Feathers: The Surprising Lives of Birds and What They Reveal about Being Human.”</span> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 21:46:56 +0000 Steve Scher 30728 at http://kuow.org Noah Strycker: We Learn About Ourselves Through Bird Behavior Trapping And Tracking The Mysterious Snowy Owl http://kuow.org/post/trapping-and-tracking-mysterious-snowy-owl This is Hungerford, a large female snowy owl. Last summer she was just a hatchling — a gray ball of fuzz in the middle of the Arctic tundra. In the fall, newly equipped with adult plumage, she flew thousands of miles south until she reached the coast of Maryland. And this winter, she became an important part of an unprecedented research project.<p><h3>'Something Huge Is Going On'</h3><p>Snowy owls are among the largest birds in North America, but scientists know very little about their behavior. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 09:28:00 +0000 editor 30243 at http://kuow.org Trapping And Tracking The Mysterious Snowy Owl Demise Of The Alpaca Bubble http://kuow.org/post/demise-alpaca-bubble <p></p><p>David Hyde talks with Rich Sexton, chair of the Agricultural and Resource Economics Department at the University of California, Davis. Sexton explains the making of the alpaca boom and why it's now bursting. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 23:18:18 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 29985 at http://kuow.org Demise Of The Alpaca Bubble Who Finds You When You Wander Off The Hiking Trail? http://kuow.org/post/who-finds-you-when-you-wander-hiking-trail <p>If you’re out one day hunting or wander off a hiking trail, a select group of volunteers may come to look for you. K-9 search and rescue teams spend countless hours training for just such an emergency. Fri, 28 Feb 2014 17:10:05 +0000 Courtney Flatt 29638 at http://kuow.org Who Finds You When You Wander Off The Hiking Trail? Navy Looks To Renew Permits For Bombing And Sonar Exercises In The Northwest http://kuow.org/post/navy-looks-renew-permits-bombing-and-sonar-exercises-northwest <p>The Navy is pursuing permits to continue conducting sonar and explosives exercises in a large area of the Pacific Ocean — and that’s putting marine mammal advocates on high alert.</p><p> Sat, 22 Feb 2014 00:50:00 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 29236 at http://kuow.org Navy Looks To Renew Permits For Bombing And Sonar Exercises In The Northwest Urban Goat Herd Gets A New, Temporary Home http://kuow.org/post/urban-goat-herd-gets-new-temporary-home <p></p><p>A beloved urban goat herd in Portland has found a temporary new home in the city. Tue, 11 Feb 2014 17:46:19 +0000 Toni Tabora-Roberts 28583 at http://kuow.org Urban Goat Herd Gets A New, Temporary Home Panel Finds Feds Didn't Use Best Science In Wolf Plan http://kuow.org/post/panel-finds-feds-didnt-use-best-science-wolf-plan <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/020714JR_WolfDelisting_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A new independent review finds the federal government used uncertain science when it proposed taking the gray wolf off the endangered species list across the Lower 48.<p> Mon, 10 Feb 2014 16:39:41 +0000 Jessica Robinson 28499 at http://kuow.org Panel Finds Feds Didn't Use Best Science In Wolf Plan One Step For Mutts, One Leap For Dogkind http://kuow.org/post/one-step-mutts-one-leap-dogkind <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Westminster Kennel Club spokesperson David Frei about the decision to include mixed-breed dogs in the upcoming Masters Agility Championship on Feb. 8 in New York City. Sat, 18 Jan 2014 00:00:37 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 27247 at http://kuow.org One Step For Mutts, One Leap For Dogkind More Than 300 Sharks In Australia Are Now On Twitter http://kuow.org/post/more-300-sharks-australia-are-now-twitter Sharks in Western Australia are now tweeting out where they are — in a way.<p>Government researchers have <a href="http://www.fish.wa.gov.au/About-Us/Media-releases/Pages/Roll-out-of-tagged-shark-monitors-continues.aspx">tagged 338 sharks with acoustic transmitters</a> that monitor where the animals are. When a tagged shark is about half a mile away from a beach, it triggers a computer alert, which tweets out a message on the <a href="https://twitter.com/SLSWA">Surf Life Saving Western Australia Twitter feed</a>. Mon, 06 Jan 2014 15:42:01 +0000 Alan Yu 26582 at http://kuow.org More Than 300 Sharks In Australia Are Now On Twitter New Oregon Laws: Taxes, Texting, Tethering And Tanning http://kuow.org/post/new-oregon-laws-taxes-texting-tethering-and-tanning <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/12/122713CL_newlaws_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Call it the year of the "T." Some of the new laws set to take effect in Oregon when the clock strikes midnight on New Year's Eve involve taxes, texting, tethering and teen tanning.<p> Mon, 30 Dec 2013 15:34:59 +0000 Chris Lehman 26247 at http://kuow.org New Oregon Laws: Taxes, Texting, Tethering And Tanning How To Spot A Whale On The Northwest Coast http://kuow.org/post/how-spot-whale-northwest-coast <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/12/122613CL_whales.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The week between Christmas and New Year's is one of the best times of the year to watch grey whales migrating along the Oregon coast.<p> Mon, 30 Dec 2013 15:31:53 +0000 Chris Lehman 26246 at http://kuow.org How To Spot A Whale On The Northwest Coast