animals http://kuow.org en EarthFix Conversation: Puget Sound Whales For Sale http://kuow.org/post/earthfix-conversation-puget-sound-whales-sale The resident killer whales of Puget Sound are an endangered species. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 14:46:04 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 38707 at http://kuow.org EarthFix Conversation: Puget Sound Whales For Sale How To Listen For A Spotted Bat http://kuow.org/post/how-listen-spotted-bat Moses Coulee is a bat-lovers paradise. Washington is home to 15 species of these flying mammals and you can find 14 of them in this deep ravine about 45 minutes north of Ephrata.<p>And one of those species is the most rare type of bat in the state: the <a href="http://ecos.fws.gov/speciesProfile/profile/speciesProfile.action?spcode=A08A" title="spotted bat">spotted bat</a>.<p>There’s one thing especially cool about this bat: people can hear its echolocation. <em>(Audio courtesy of Neal Hedges.)</em><p>“Listen real carefully and above the crickets you should hear another very insect-like call. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 13:51:51 +0000 Courtney Flatt 38624 at http://kuow.org How To Listen For A Spotted Bat To Save These Pigs, Ky. Farmer Says We Have To Eat Them http://kuow.org/post/save-these-pigs-ky-farmer-says-we-have-eat-them Robertson County has the smallest population of any county in the state of Kentucky, and it's the only one, word has it, without a stoplight.<p>So it's an unlikely place to find a campaign to keep the food system more genetically diverse. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 11:52:00 +0000 Leslie Guttman 38618 at http://kuow.org To Save These Pigs, Ky. Farmer Says We Have To Eat Them Celebrating Bobo, Seattle’s Most Famous Primate http://kuow.org/post/celebrating-bobo-seattle-s-most-famous-primate <p>Mid-July in Seattle means Seafair events, the actual arrival of summer and – if you lived here in the 1950s and '60s – it meant the annual birthday celebration for the city’s most famous primate, Bobo the gorilla.</p><p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 14:55:00 +0000 Feliks Banel 16957 at http://kuow.org Celebrating Bobo, Seattle’s Most Famous Primate Endangered Species Listing For Wolverine Looking Doubtful http://kuow.org/post/endangered-species-listing-wolverine-looking-doubtful <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/071614TB_Wolverine_web2.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A federal threatened species listing for the wolverine is looking increasingly unlikely.</span><p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 02:41:01 +0000 Tom Banse 38481 at http://kuow.org Endangered Species Listing For Wolverine Looking Doubtful Komodo Dragons On Display At Nashville Zoo http://kuow.org/post/komodo-dragons-display-nashville-zoo There are less than 2,500 Komodo dragons &#8212; the world&#8217;s largest living lizards &#8212; left in the wild.<p>The venomous beasts can spend hours in one spot, waiting for a deer, boar, goat or anything sizable and nutritious. By the time the reach adulthood, they can be over 10 feet long and more than 350 pounds.<p><strong>Dale McGinnity</strong>, curator of <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ectotherm" target="_blank">ectotherms</a> at the Nashville Zoo, researches the endangered Komodo dragons and other reptiles. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 22:05:51 +0000 editor 38391 at http://kuow.org Komodo Dragons On Display At Nashville Zoo Dogs Carry Kissing Bug Disease In Texas And Latin America http://kuow.org/post/dogs-spread-kissing-bug-disease-texas-and-latin-america We often think about people spreading diseases around the world. This spring,<strong> </strong>vacationers brought <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/health/2014/07/03/327760854/chikun-what-a-new-mosquito-borne-virus-lands-in-the-u-s">chikungunya</a> from the Caribbean to the United States. Businessmen have likely spread Ebola across international borders in West Africa. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 22:05:23 +0000 editor 38388 at http://kuow.org Dogs Carry Kissing Bug Disease In Texas And Latin America U.S. Customs Seize Giant African Snails Bound For Dinner Plates http://kuow.org/post/us-customs-seize-giant-african-snails-bound-dinner-plates Oh no! Snails are getting a bad name in the U.S.<p>I'm not talking about the delicate garlic-and-butter <em>escargots</em> that the French favor and savor.<p>It's giant African land snails, also known as <em>Archachatina marginata,</em> banana rasp snails or a number of other names they go by.<p>I hadn't realized the snails could be such a pest. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 14:31:03 +0000 Ofeibea Quist-Arcton 38343 at http://kuow.org U.S. Customs Seize Giant African Snails Bound For Dinner Plates Fossil Discovery May Reveal Largest Bird Ever To Fly http://kuow.org/post/fossil-discovery-may-reveal-largest-bird-ever-fly An extinct species of bird just discovered by a Connecticut scientist may have been the largest ever to fly. The <em>pelagornis sandersi</em> lived 25 million years ago. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 14:30:45 +0000 editor 38345 at http://kuow.org Fossil Discovery May Reveal Largest Bird Ever To Fly Feds Phase Out Bee-Harming Pesticides In Northwest Wildlife Refuges http://kuow.org/post/federal-wildlife-agency-phases-out-bee-harming-pesticides-northwest-refuges The U.S. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 14:28:53 +0000 editor 38341 at http://kuow.org Feds Phase Out Bee-Harming Pesticides In Northwest Wildlife Refuges A Peacock Murder Mystery: (Pea)Fowl Play In California http://kuow.org/post/peacock-murder-mystery-peafowl-play-california Someone is killing the peacocks in Rolling Hills Estates, Calif.<p>The boisterous and colorful birds have been a part of this upscale community near Los Angeles for more than a century. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 21:18:00 +0000 editor 38304 at http://kuow.org Feds To Remove Fewer Wild Horses From Western Rangelands This Year http://kuow.org/post/feds-remove-fewer-wild-horses-western-rangelands-year <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/071414TB_WildHorses_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The federal Bureau of Land Management plans to capture and remove fewer wild horses from Western rangelands this summer. An agency statement blames budget constraints and already-full holding pens.<p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 16:16:10 +0000 Tom Banse 38269 at http://kuow.org Feds To Remove Fewer Wild Horses From Western Rangelands This Year Giant Snails Stopped From Entery The U.S. At LAX http://kuow.org/post/giant-snails-stopped-entery-us-lax Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne. U.S. Custom inspectors at LA's international airport are trained to watch for anything fishy. But slimy? This month inspectors discovered dozens of live giant African snails. Each weighs about 2 pounds and measures nearly six inches. Packed in picnic baskets, the snails arrived from Nigeria where they're considered a delicacy. Here in California, though, they're considered an invasion - able to eat paint and 500 types of plants. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 11:24:00 +0000 editor 38249 at http://kuow.org What's Killing Clams? Solve This Low Tide Mystery http://kuow.org/post/whats-killing-clams-solve-low-tide-mystery <p>One of the lowest tides of the year this weekend revealed a "crime scene" at the beach at Golden Gardens Park in Seattle. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 15:16:35 +0000 Joshua McNichols 38188 at http://kuow.org What's Killing Clams? Solve This Low Tide Mystery The Constitution Might Have Something To Say When Police Shoot Dogs http://kuow.org/post/constitution-might-have-something-say-when-police-shoot-dogs <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/071114JR_DogShootings_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A handful of recent incidents where police have shot pet dogs in Idaho have angered animal rights advocates. One dog owner in the small town of Filer has issued notice that he intends to sue the city over the death of his dog, Hooch.<p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 14:46:52 +0000 Jessica Robinson 38184 at http://kuow.org The Constitution Might Have Something To Say When Police Shoot Dogs