LGBTQ http://kuow.org en Flee Or Die: Olympia Quakers Support Uganda's Underground Railroad http://kuow.org/post/flee-or-die-olympia-quakers-support-ugandas-underground-railroad <p>In March, Talcott Broadhead received a call from a friend. Weeks earlier, the Uganda Anti-Homosexuality Act was signed into law, and a crisis was emerging in the small nation in East Africa.</p><p>The act calls for the imprisonment of gay, lesbian, bisexual and trans people, and was inspired in part by three American evangelical Christians Thu, 17 Jul 2014 17:51:23 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Matthew Streib 38432 at http://kuow.org Flee Or Die: Olympia Quakers Support Uganda's Underground Railroad Tacoma School District To Apologize For Firing Gay Teacher In 1972 http://kuow.org/post/tacoma-school-district-apologize-firing-gay-teacher-1972 <p>Marcie Sillman&nbsp;talks with former teacher Jim Gaylord, who was fired from&nbsp;Tacoma's Wilson High School in 1972 for being gay. The school district will offer a formal apology this Sunday. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:36:38 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Matthew Streib 38096 at http://kuow.org Complaint Says Insurance Plans Discriminate Against HIV Patients http://kuow.org/post/complaint-says-insurance-plans-discriminate-against-hiv-patients Four Florida insurers allegedly discriminate against people with HIV/AIDS by structuring their prescription drug benefits so that patients are discouraged from enrolling, according to a complaint filed by health advocacy groups.<p>According to the <a href="http://www.healthlaw.org/publications/browse-all-publications/HHS-HIV-Complaint">complaint</a> filed with the Office for Civil Rights at the federal Department of Health and Human Services, the insurers — CoventryOne, Cigna, Humana and Preferred Medical — violated the Affordable Care Act and federal civil rights laws by placing all covered H Tue, 08 Jul 2014 15:04:00 +0000 Michelle Andrews 37798 at http://kuow.org Complaint Says Insurance Plans Discriminate Against HIV Patients In Maine, A Gay Candidate With An Uneven Record On LGBT Rights http://kuow.org/post/maine-gay-candidate-uneven-record-lgbt-rights Maine was among the first states to legalize same-sex marriage at the ballot box — and now, LGBT groups are hoping voters there will break new ground by electing the nation's first openly gay governor in November.<p>But Democratic candidate Mike Michaud only recently came out, and he hasn't always been a gay-rights supporter.<p>Responding to what he called a "whisper campaign" about his sexual orientation, the six-term congressman did something dramatic last November: He outed himself in a series of newspaper op-eds.<p>"Yes, I am gay, but you know, so what?" <a href="http://www.mpbn.net/Home/t Mon, 07 Jul 2014 20:38:00 +0000 Susan Sharon 37755 at http://kuow.org In Maine, A Gay Candidate With An Uneven Record On LGBT Rights Advertisers Come Out Of The Closet, Openly Courting Gay Consumers http://kuow.org/post/advertisers-come-out-closet-openly-courting-gay-consumers <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ks-SgE_waSo</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BSjDX9e2EOE</p> Mon, 30 Jun 2014 15:00:33 +0000 Sonari Glinton 37330 at http://kuow.org Advertisers Come Out Of The Closet, Openly Courting Gay Consumers Court Stays Decision Striking Down Indiana's Gay Marriage Ban http://kuow.org/post/court-stays-decision-striking-down-indianas-gay-marriage-ban A federal appeals court has granted a stay on a <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/06/25/325520261/federal-judges-reverse-gay-marriage-bans-in-utah-indiana">lower court ruling striking down Indiana's same-sex marriage ban</a> ahead of a planned appeal.<p>Indiana Attorney General Greg Zoeller was granted a stay by the 7th Circuit Court of Appeals, which will hear an appeal of a ruling Wednesday of the U.S. District Court. Sat, 28 Jun 2014 03:26:42 +0000 Scott Neuman 37253 at http://kuow.org 'Don't Sneak': Dad's Unexpected Advice To His Gay Son In The '50s http://kuow.org/post/dont-sneak-dads-unexpected-advice-his-gay-son-50s <em>StoryCorps is marking the anniversary of a pivotal moment for gay rights, the 1969 <a href="http://soundportraits.org/on-air/remembering_stonewall/">Stonewall riots</a>. Forty-five years ago, on June 28, gay protesters clashed with police in New York. Now, StoryCorps is launching an initiative to preserve the stories of LGBT people called "OutLoud."</em><p>In the 1950s in rural Washington, a teenage boy learned an important lesson about self-acceptance. Sat, 28 Jun 2014 03:26:29 +0000 NPR Staff 37252 at http://kuow.org 'Don't Sneak': Dad's Unexpected Advice To His Gay Son In The '50s Over Tea, Mayor Murray And His Husband Recall An Old Friend Named Cal http://kuow.org/post/over-tea-mayor-murray-and-his-husband-recall-old-friend-named-cal <p>Last week, ahead of Pride Weekend, I sat down for a morning chat with Mayor Ed Murray and his husband to discuss their dear friend Cal Anderson. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 20:42:20 +0000 Arwen Nicks 37224 at http://kuow.org Over Tea, Mayor Murray And His Husband Recall An Old Friend Named Cal A Peek Inside Seattle's Remaining Communes http://kuow.org/post/peek-inside-seattles-remaining-communes <p>Four people live in a cozy home on Capitol Hill, which they call WOW, for Wild Old Women.</p><p>Or that’s what they used to call it; now they call it Wild Old Women And One Young Man, since a godson of one member joined a year ago. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 17:28:44 +0000 Isolde Raftery 37211 at http://kuow.org A Peek Inside Seattle's Remaining Communes The Secret Messages In Gay Men's Pockets http://kuow.org/post/secret-messages-gay-mens-pockets <p>Marcie Sillman&nbsp;talks with Jeff Henness, owner of Doghouse Leathers on Capitol Hill, about the history of the "hanky code," a system devised by gay men to communicate sexual preferences. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 21:31:45 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Matthew Streib 37158 at http://kuow.org Without Saying 'I Do,' Thousands Of Washington Couples Set To Get Married http://kuow.org/post/without-saying-i-do-thousands-washington-couples-set-get-married <p></p><p>There will be no wedding band, no ceremony or awkward toasts. But on June 30, up to 4,000 same-sex couples in Washington are set to be married – without ever uttering the words, "I do." Mon, 23 Jun 2014 18:57:33 +0000 Liz Jones 36896 at http://kuow.org Without Saying 'I Do,' Thousands Of Washington Couples Set To Get Married When Gay Kids Had To Sneak Around For Counseling http://kuow.org/post/when-gay-kids-had-sneak-around-counseling <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Ann McGettigan, executive director of Seattle Counseling Service, about the history of the organization and her role in the LGBT community. The program was founded in 1969, when its founder noticed that there were runaways in Pioneer Square -- many of them had been kicked out of their homes.&nbsp; Thu, 19 Jun 2014 22:40:00 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 36719 at http://kuow.org When Gay Kids Had To Sneak Around For Counseling The HIV Prevention Pill No One is Taking http://kuow.org/post/hiv-prevention-pill-no-one-taking <p>Marcie Sillman&nbsp;talks with Shaun Knittel, associate editor at Seattle Gay News and founder of Social Outreach Seattle, about why few people in the gay community are taking Truvada, a pill that when taken daily is 99 percent effective in preventing HIV infection. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 22:16:15 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Matthew Streib 36560 at http://kuow.org The HIV Prevention Pill No One is Taking Washington To Pursue Fuller Health Care Coverage For Transgender State Employees http://kuow.org/post/washington-pursue-fuller-health-care-coverage-transgender-state-employees <p>Marcie Sillman speaks with <a href="http://www.genderjusticeleague.org/author/danielle/">Danielle Askini</a>, advocacy director for the <a href="http://www.genderjusticeleague.org/">Gender Justice League</a>, about their efforts to remove health care exclusions affecting transgender people from Washington state employee plans. Wed, 04 Jun 2014 22:24:36 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Posey Gruener 35784 at http://kuow.org Washington To Pursue Fuller Health Care Coverage For Transgender State Employees Geoffrey McGrath: The Inadvertent Spokesman For Gay Rights http://kuow.org/post/geoffrey-mcgrath-inadvertent-spokesman-gay-rights <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Seattleite Geoffrey McGrath about his path from a hiking/biking software engineer&nbsp; to international spokesperson for gay rights after his membership from the Boy Scouts of America was revoked for his sexual orientation. Wed, 04 Jun 2014 22:24:10 +0000 Hannah Burn & Marcie Sillman 35779 at http://kuow.org Geoffrey McGrath: The Inadvertent Spokesman For Gay Rights