public safety http://kuow.org en Feds Ban Free Climbing By Electric Utility Workers http://kuow.org/post/feds-ban-free-climbing-electric-utility-workers <p>The Obama Administration is putting an end to the common practice of "free climbing" by electrical lineworkers. Seattle City Light and other electric utilities let their lineworkers climb transmission towers without using safety harnesses. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 16:20:50 +0000 John Ryan 38760 at http://kuow.org Feds Ban Free Climbing By Electric Utility Workers Updates On The Carlton Complex Fire http://kuow.org/post/updates-carlton-complex-fire <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Paul Gibbs,&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">media information officer on location</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;at the Carlton Complex Fire camp, where emergency and firefighting efforts are based. In addition, Brewster resident&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Jessica Mae Periman&nbsp;talks about losing her house to the fire.</span> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:15:36 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn & Matthew Streib 38738 at http://kuow.org Updates On The Carlton Complex Fire I Watched My Church Burn: Washington Man Faces Down Wildfires http://kuow.org/post/i-watched-my-church-burn-washington-man-faces-down-wildfires <p></p><p><strong>UPDATE 7/22/2014, 9:44 a.m.</strong></p><p>KUOW's Lisa Brooks checked back in with Bruce Craven Tuesday morning to get an update on how his town was faring after the Carlton Complex fire ripped through Thursday evening.</p><p>He said the fire he witnessed in Pateros burned up the vegetation all around his church, but the structure itself is intact, albeit with char marks on the outside and broken windows.</p><p>Residents including Craven were able to attend services there on Sunday. Craven said many congregants had lost everything in the fire.</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 15:25:17 +0000 Lisa Brooks 38514 at http://kuow.org I Watched My Church Burn: Washington Man Faces Down Wildfires Wildfire Season Starts Early And With A Vengeance http://kuow.org/post/wildfire-season-starts-early-and-vengeance <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/072114CL_wildfireseason_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>So far, more than 150 homes in Washington state have been destroyed in what veteran firefighters are calling the worst fire season in decades.&#160;<p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 14:45:29 +0000 Chris Lehman 38706 at http://kuow.org Wildfire Season Starts Early And With A Vengeance Wildfire Town Meeting Grows Tense Over Missed Evacuation Notices http://kuow.org/post/wildfire-town-meeting-grows-tense-over-missed-evacuation-notices <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/072114CF_FireMeeting_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>In north-central Washington, fire crews aided by cooler temperatures and calmer winds are going on the offensive against several sprawling wildfires. Incident commanders of the region’s biggest and most destructive wildfire briefed residents in Omak and Brewster Sunday night. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 14:45:07 +0000 Courtney Flatt 38703 at http://kuow.org Wildfire Town Meeting Grows Tense Over Missed Evacuation Notices One Wildfire Victim Never Got An Evacuation Notice, Here's Why http://kuow.org/post/one-wildfire-victim-never-got-evacuation-notice-heres-why <p>Bill Radke speaks with Brenda Riggan of Brewster, Washington, about coming back to her home after the Carlton Complex wildfire tore through the area and her frustration over never having received an evacuation notice in the first place. Then, Ross Reynolds talks with Okanogan County Sheriff Frank Rogers about why people like Riggan didn't receive the same notices that other residents did. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 22:31:52 +0000 Ross Reynolds, Bill Radke & Hannah Burn 38662 at http://kuow.org One Wildfire Victim Never Got An Evacuation Notice, Here's Why Why Hot Cars Are So Deadly http://kuow.org/post/why-hot-cars-are-so-deadly <p style="padding-left: 30px"><em>It’s an annual summer tragedy. So far this year, 17 children in the U.S. have died of heat stroke inside a parked car. Some of those cases have been getting extra attention this summer, but that number is not unusual. Georgia Public Broadcasting’s <strong>Adam Ragusea</strong> looked into the science that explains how a parked car can get so hot, so fast.</em><p>It’s a sunny, summer day in Macon, Georgia. I’m standing with Matt Marone outside his truck, and the A.C. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 21:01:45 +0000 editor 38668 at http://kuow.org Why Hot Cars Are So Deadly Wildfires Blaze Their Way Across The Northwest http://kuow.org/post/wildfires-blaze-their-way-across-northwest <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/071614CL_wildfires_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>As wildfires continue to blaze around the Northwest, both Oregon and Washington have issued emergency declarations for fire-ravaged portions of their state. Affected are 20 of Washington's eastern counties and central Oregon, where most of the state's 13 active fires are burning.<p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 15:00:42 +0000 Chris Lehman 38421 at http://kuow.org Wildfires Blaze Their Way Across The Northwest Hot Weather Increasing Wildfires In Eastern Washington http://kuow.org/post/hot-weather-increasing-wildfires-eastern-washington <p>Ross Reynolds talks to Janet Pearce about recent wildfires in the state. Pearce does community outreach and environmental education for the Washington State Department of Natural Resources about the wildfires in Eastern Washington.</p><p>Then, Reynolds interviews Michael Fishbaugher, who was evacuated from his home last week as a wildfire swept within half a mile of his house. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 22:12:05 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 38371 at http://kuow.org Hot Weather Increasing Wildfires In Eastern Washington How Safe Are Escalators In Washington? http://kuow.org/post/how-safe-are-escalators-washington <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Tacoma News Tribune reporter Melissa Santos about her <a href="http://www.theolympian.com/2014/06/28/3224008/new-washington-state-escalator.html">investigation</a> into escalator safety in Washington state. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 22:28:55 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38285 at http://kuow.org How Safe Are Escalators In Washington? How Do We Prevent Gun Violence? http://kuow.org/post/how-do-we-prevent-gun-violence <p>Marcie Sillman talks with <a href="http://psychiatry.duke.edu/faculty/details/0112411">Jeffrey Swanson</a> about which public policies are effective in reducing gun violence. Swanson is a professor in psychiatry and behavioral sciences at Duke University School of Medicine. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 21:31:26 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 37130 at http://kuow.org Rural Americans Waiting On Police In Emergencies http://kuow.org/post/rural-americans-waiting-police-emergencies <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Les Zaitz, investigative reporter with The Oregonian, about <a href="http://topics.oregonlive.com/tag/oregon-rural-police/posts.html#incart_big-photo">his series on rural policing</a> in Oregon. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 22:26:44 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 36576 at http://kuow.org Rural Americans Waiting On Police In Emergencies Does Lockdown Training Save Lives? http://kuow.org/post/does-lockdown-training-save-lives New details are emerging today about the school shooting at Reynolds High School in Troutdale, Oregon, earlier this week.<p>Officials have identified the shooter as freshman student Jared Michael Padgett, and say he was armed with an AR-15 rifle and carrying nine loaded magazines, which could have shot off several hundred rounds. The gun and ammunition belonged to the boy&#8217;s family. Padget killed fellow freshman Emilio Hoffman and wounded a teacher.<p>While no one is downplaying the magnitude of the tragedy, officials say that preparation, including lockdown training at the school, may ha Thu, 12 Jun 2014 18:42:00 +0000 editor 36279 at http://kuow.org Does Lockdown Training Save Lives? What Is The Best Action In The Face Of A Shooter? http://kuow.org/post/what-best-action-face-shooter <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Greg Crane, president and founder of ALICE: Alert Lockdown Inform Counter Evacuate. He explains what he believes are the best practices are for responding to an active shooting situation. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 21:19:33 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 35952 at http://kuow.org Advisory: E. Coli Cases In Washington Possibly Linked To Clover Sprouts http://kuow.org/post/advisory-e-coli-cases-washington-possibly-linked-clover-sprouts <p>Health officials have advised people not to eat clover sprouts until further notice because of a possible link to E. coli. Ten people have become ill from E. coli in Washington and Idaho since May 1; half of them were hospitalized. Thu, 22 May 2014 17:31:56 +0000 Paige Browning 34984 at http://kuow.org Advisory: E. Coli Cases In Washington Possibly Linked To Clover Sprouts