guns http://kuow.org en Two Perspectives On The Gun Safety Debate http://kuow.org/post/two-perspectives-gun-safety-debate <p></p><p>David Hyde speaks with Christian Sinderman of Washington state's&nbsp;initiative to implement background checks for gun sales. Dan Baum, author of "Gun Guys: A Road Trip," also talks about strategies for better gun safety. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 22:20:35 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 32669 at http://kuow.org Two Perspectives On The Gun Safety Debate How More People Buying Guns Equals More Money For Wildlife http://kuow.org/post/how-more-people-buying-guns-equals-more-money-wildlife <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032614JR_GunWindfall_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The run on firearms last year is turning into a windfall for conservation programs in the Northwest.<p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 23:23:42 +0000 Jessica Robinson 31380 at http://kuow.org How More People Buying Guns Equals More Money For Wildlife How Gun Bills Fared In The 2014 Legislative Session http://kuow.org/post/how-gun-bills-fared-2014-legislative-session <p>David Hyde checks in with KUOW's Olympia correspondent Austin Jenkins about what happened with gun-related proposals during this legislative session.</p><p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 22:25:03 +0000 David Hyde & Christine Streich 30878 at http://kuow.org How Gun Bills Fared In The 2014 Legislative Session Idaho Students Make Last-Ditch Effort To Kill Guns-On-Campus Bill http://kuow.org/post/idaho-students-make-last-ditch-effort-kill-guns-campus-bill <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/031014JR_GunsOnCampus_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Idaho university students are making a last-minute attempt to stop a measure that would allow people to carry concealed weapons on campus.<p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 15:35:42 +0000 Jessica Robinson 30258 at http://kuow.org Idaho Students Make Last-Ditch Effort To Kill Guns-On-Campus Bill Facebook Moves To Restrict Posts About Gun Sales http://kuow.org/post/facebook-moves-restrict-posts-about-gun-sales <em>This post was updated at 10:30 a.m. ET on March 6.</em><p>Facebook said Wednesday that it will limit minors' access to pages and posts that offer firearms for sale, along with other measures intended to curtail illegal gun trafficking.<p>"This is something we've been working on for a while," says Facebook spokesman Matt Steinfeld. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 17:38:14 +0000 editor 29968 at http://kuow.org Facebook Moves To Restrict Posts About Gun Sales How ‘Smart’ Gun Technology Could Help Make Guns Safer http://kuow.org/post/how-smart-gun-technology-could-help-make-guns-safer <p>David Hyde talks with Professor Stephen Teret from John's Hopkins Center for Gun Policy and Research about the new smart guns hitting the market. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 23:31:54 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 29766 at http://kuow.org How ‘Smart’ Gun Technology Could Help Make Guns Safer Idaho Colleges Ask Lawmakers To Consider Fiscal Side Of Guns On Campus http://kuow.org/post/idaho-colleges-ask-lawmakers-consider-fiscal-side-guns-campus <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/022714JR_GunsOnCampus_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">State colleges and universities across Idaho are appealing to state lawmakers' fiscally conservative side in an attempt to sideline a proposal to allow guns on campuses.</span><p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 16:35:29 +0000 Jessica Robinson 29633 at http://kuow.org Idaho Colleges Ask Lawmakers To Consider Fiscal Side Of Guns On Campus Gabby Giffords Makes Case For Washington Gun Checks http://kuow.org/post/gabby-giffords-makes-case-washington-gun-checks <p>Former Arizona Congresswoman Gabby Giffords was the star witness at a hearing on gun control and gun rights in Olympia. Wed, 29 Jan 2014 17:33:43 +0000 Taylor Winkel 27852 at http://kuow.org Gabby Giffords Makes Case For Washington Gun Checks Dueling Gun Bills Get A Hearing In Olympia http://kuow.org/post/dueling-gun-bills-get-hearing-olympia <p>Steve Scher talks with state Representative Laurie Jinkins, D-Tacoma, and state Senator Mike Padden, R-Spokane Valley, about two opposing gun background check proposals holding public hearings in Olympia this week. Wed, 29 Jan 2014 00:07:55 +0000 Steve Scher & Jason Pagano 27806 at http://kuow.org Dueling Gun Bills Get A Hearing In Olympia Online Gun Exchange To Launch On Eve Of Washington Gun Hearings http://kuow.org/post/online-gun-exchange-launch-eve-washington-gun-hearings <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/012414AJ_GunDebate_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Starting Monday, Washington gun owners will have a new place to sell their firearms. That’s when a website called Washington Gun Exchange plans to launch.<p> Mon, 27 Jan 2014 17:59:24 +0000 Austin Jenkins 27711 at http://kuow.org Online Gun Exchange To Launch On Eve Of Washington Gun Hearings The State Of Our State With Governor Inslee http://kuow.org/post/state-our-state-governor-inslee <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Governor Jay Inslee about his priorities for the year. The governor also takes questions from our listeners. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 00:04:32 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 27110 at http://kuow.org The State Of Our State With Governor Inslee 'Absolutely Crazy': Man Killed In Movie Theater For Texting? http://kuow.org/post/absolutely-crazy-man-killed-movie-theater-texting <h6><a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/01/14/262369211/absolutely-crazy-man-killed-in-movie-theater-for-texting/#0001" target="_self">Click here for our latest update</a>.</h6><p>The early reports about what happened Monday afternoon inside a movie theater near Tampa are certainly disturbing:<p>"It started with a father sending text messages to his daughter during the previews of a movie," <a href="http://www.cnn.com/2014/01/13/justice/florida-movie-theater-shooting/" target="_blank">CNN writes</a>. Tue, 14 Jan 2014 14:06:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 27021 at http://kuow.org 'Absolutely Crazy': Man Killed In Movie Theater For Texting? Oregon Lawmakers Could Reconsider Background Checks For Gun Purchases http://kuow.org/post/oregon-lawmakers-could-reconsider-background-checks-gun-purchases <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/010914CL_gunsales_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Oregon lawmakers are gearing up for another fight over background checks for gun purchases.<p> Mon, 13 Jan 2014 16:56:47 +0000 Chris Lehman 26970 at http://kuow.org Oregon Lawmakers Could Reconsider Background Checks For Gun Purchases Despite Calls To Arm Teachers, Most Schools Opt For Other Measures http://kuow.org/post/despite-calls-arm-teachers-most-schools-opt-other-measures <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/010714JR_SchoolBuzzer_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Parents and students across the Northwest are <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/12/14/250744414/parents-say-school-security-has-increased-since-newtown-massacre">seeing many new security measures</a> as a result of the Sandy Hook shooting in 2012.<p> Wed, 08 Jan 2014 15:43:07 +0000 Jessica Robinson 26716 at http://kuow.org Despite Calls To Arm Teachers, Most Schools Opt For Other Measures Why Seattle Public Library Surrendered Its Gun Ban http://kuow.org/post/why-seattle-public-library-surrendered-its-gun-ban <p>When Seattle Public Library lifted its ban on guns in early November, officials there said they had done so because patrons had complained. &nbsp;</p><p>Internal library emails reveal that there was just one patron complaint in several years – a man with a Yahoo email account who didn’t identify himself as either a patron or Seattle resident. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 18:02:12 +0000 Isolde Raftery 26605 at http://kuow.org Why Seattle Public Library Surrendered Its Gun Ban