health insurance http://kuow.org en 1 Million Texans Still Without Health Coverage http://kuow.org/post/1-million-texans-still-without-health-coverage More than 700,000 Texans have signed up for a health plan through the online insurance marketplace. Fri, 23 May 2014 18:04:14 +0000 editor 35091 at http://kuow.org 1 Million Texans Still Without Health Coverage Employers May Start Paying You To Buy Health Insurance http://kuow.org/post/employers-may-start-paying-you-buy-health-insurance What if employers started giving workers a chunk of cash to buy health insurance on their own instead of offering them a chance to buy into the company plan? Are workers ready to manage their own health insurance like they do a 401(k)?<p>The idea that employers might drop their health plans and replace them with a "defined contribution" for employees has been around for years. Tue, 13 May 2014 15:52:59 +0000 Michelle Andrews 34365 at http://kuow.org Employers May Start Paying You To Buy Health Insurance Parents Discover That Even Obamacare Has Gaps http://kuow.org/post/parents-discover-even-obamacare-has-gaps <p>Not all health plans are the same, as Washington consumers have learned the hard way. Mon, 12 May 2014 18:11:19 +0000 Ruby de Luna 34165 at http://kuow.org Parents Discover That Even Obamacare Has Gaps New Rule Promises 'No Surprises' From Health Insurance Plans http://kuow.org/post/new-rule-promises-no-surprises-health-insurance-plans <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman&nbsp;checks in with Washington State Insurance Commissioner Mike Kreidler&nbsp;about a <a href="http://www.insurance.wa.gov/laws-rules/legislation-rules/proposed-rules/2013-22/">new rule</a> that will mandate increased transparency for plans offered on the Washington state health exchange. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 22:42:15 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Christine Streich 33550 at http://kuow.org New Rule Promises 'No Surprises' From Health Insurance Plans White House Honors Community Health Enrollment 'Champions' http://kuow.org/post/white-house-honors-community-health-enrollment-champions <p></p><p>This week the White House honored community heroes for their work in educating and signing up Asian American and Pacific Island residents for health care. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 15:44:42 +0000 Ruby de Luna 33259 at http://kuow.org White House Honors Community Health Enrollment 'Champions' The Challenges Of Medicaid Expansion http://kuow.org/post/challenges-medicaid-expansion <p></p><p>Steve Scher&nbsp;talks with Washington state Medicaid Director<a href="http://www.nashp.org/spotlight/maryanne-lindeblad" target="_blank"> MaryAnne Lindeblad</a> about how the state plans to accommodate more than 250,000 newly enrolled residents who <a href="http://www.wahbexchange.org/news-resources/press-room/press-releases/april-1-enrollment-report">qualified for Medicaid expansion</a> under the Affordable Care Act. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:06:31 +0000 Steve Scher & Christine Streich 32749 at http://kuow.org The Challenges Of Medicaid Expansion Obamacare Rolls Into N.H. Like A Political Campaign — And Wins http://kuow.org/post/obamacare-rolls-nh-political-campaign-and-wins Monday is the deadline to sign up for health insurance under the Affordable Care Act, or at least to begin the process. We already know that nationwide more than <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/03/27/295311611/obamacare-enrollment-exceeds-6-million" target="_blank">6 million people have enrolled</a>.<p>But each state has its own insurance market and its own experience with the law. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 07:35:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 31578 at http://kuow.org Obamacare Rolls Into N.H. Like A Political Campaign — And Wins Most People Don't Know The Health Insurance Deadline Looms http://kuow.org/post/most-people-dont-know-health-insurance-deadline-looms Next week is the last chance for most people without insurance to sign up for individual health coverage for the remainder of 2014.<p>Yet according to the <a href="http://kff.org/health-reform/poll-finding/kaiser-health-tracking-poll-march-2014">latest monthly tracking poll</a> from the Kaiser Family Foundation, more than 60 percent of those without coverage still don't know that.<p>The survey, conducted between March 11 and 17<sup>th</sup>, found that 39 percent of the uninsured between ages 18 and 64 did know that March 31 is the <a href="https://www.healthcare.gov/">deadline</a> to sign up Wed, 26 Mar 2014 10:03:00 +0000 Julie Rovner 31279 at http://kuow.org Most People Don't Know The Health Insurance Deadline Looms Independent Audit Outlines Problems At Cover Oregon http://kuow.org/post/independent-audit-outlines-problems-cover-oregon <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032014CL_coveroregon_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>According to a <a href="http://www.oregon.gov/DAS/Pages/coreview.aspx ">scathing audit from an independent consultant</a>, Oregon's health insurance exchange was riddled with internal conflict and unrealistic expectations.<p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 15:59:23 +0000 Chris Lehman 31008 at http://kuow.org Independent Audit Outlines Problems At Cover Oregon Feds Confirm Investigation Into Cover Oregon http://kuow.org/post/feds-confirm-investigation-cover-oregon <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/030514CL_richardson_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Federal officials confirmed Wednesday that they will investigate the troubled roll-out of Oregon's health insurance exchange website.<p> Thu, 06 Mar 2014 15:42:49 +0000 Chris Lehman 29951 at http://kuow.org Feds Confirm Investigation Into Cover Oregon Washington Insurance Commissioner: Premera 'Guts' Consumer Protection Bill http://kuow.org/post/washington-insurance-commissioner-premera-guts-consumer-protection-bill <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/030414AJ_InsuranceProtection_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Washington’s Insurance Commissioner wants to notify consumers if their insurance company is on the verge of bankruptcy.<p> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 15:42:03 +0000 Austin Jenkins 29886 at http://kuow.org Washington Insurance Commissioner: Premera 'Guts' Consumer Protection Bill High Enrollment In A State With No Love For Obamacare http://kuow.org/post/high-enrollment-state-no-love-obamacare <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/022114JR_IdahoObamacare_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The latest figures on who's signing up under the federal health care law tell a surprising story about one of the most conservative states in the country.<p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 16:38:08 +0000 Jessica Robinson 29313 at http://kuow.org High Enrollment In A State With No Love For Obamacare Who Picks Up The Tab When Affordable Care Act Customers Can't Pay? http://kuow.org/post/who-picks-tab-when-affordable-care-act-customers-cant-pay <p>It’s one thing to get people to buy health insurance, something the state’s health exchange has been focusing on. But what happens when a patient can no longer pay monthly premiums — who would then be responsible for the medical bills? Doctors are worried they’ll be stuck holding the bag, and they’re taking their issue to Olympia this week. Wed, 29 Jan 2014 17:24:25 +0000 Ruby de Luna 27820 at http://kuow.org Who Picks Up The Tab When Affordable Care Act Customers Can't Pay? Young, But Not So Invincible http://kuow.org/post/young-not-so-invincible <p>Ross Reynolds talks with one of the so-dubbed young invincibles, 23-year-old Ursula Swantner, about her experience signing up for health care through <span class="st">the <a href="http://www.wahbexchange.org/">Washington Health Benefit Exchange</a> website,</span> and why she's glad she did. Tue, 21 Jan 2014 23:25:19 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 27389 at http://kuow.org Young, But Not So Invincible State Health Exchange Amps Up Marketing To Reach Young Invincibles http://kuow.org/post/state-health-exchange-amps-marketing-reach-young-invincibles <p>You don’t often hear Justin Timberlake and health insurance in the same sentence. But this Friday, fans going to Key Arena to get their dose of Justin Timberlake will also get a chance to learn about health plans. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 00:22:54 +0000 Ruby de Luna 27134 at http://kuow.org State Health Exchange Amps Up Marketing To Reach Young Invincibles