health exchange http://kuow.org en Why Oregon's Health Exchange Website Failed http://kuow.org/post/why-oregons-health-exchange-website-failed <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Oregon Public Broadcasting reporter and producer <a href="http://www.opb.org/contributor/kristian-foden-vencil/">Kristian Foden-Vencil</a> about&nbsp; Oregon's troubled health exchange website,<a href="https://www.coveroregon.com//"> Cover Oregon</a>. Wed, 07 May 2014 22:16:21 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 34048 at http://kuow.org Why Oregon's Health Exchange Website Failed New Rule Promises 'No Surprises' From Health Insurance Plans http://kuow.org/post/new-rule-promises-no-surprises-health-insurance-plans <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman&nbsp;checks in with Washington State Insurance Commissioner Mike Kreidler&nbsp;about a <a href="http://www.insurance.wa.gov/laws-rules/legislation-rules/proposed-rules/2013-22/">new rule</a> that will mandate increased transparency for plans offered on the Washington state health exchange. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 22:42:15 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Christine Streich 33550 at http://kuow.org New Rule Promises 'No Surprises' From Health Insurance Plans Giving Up On Its Obamacare Exchange No Cure For Oregon's Ills http://kuow.org/post/giving-its-obamacare-exchange-no-cure-oregons-ills Oregon has been "all in" on health reform. Sun, 27 Apr 2014 16:00:00 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil 33408 at http://kuow.org Giving Up On Its Obamacare Exchange No Cure For Oregon's Ills About 600,000 Washington Residents Enrolled Through Health Exchange http://kuow.org/post/about-600000-washington-residents-enrolled-through-health-exchange <p></p><p>State and local officials are celebrating the robust number of people who signed up for health care through Washington’s exchange over the open enrollment period.</p><p>Between last October through the end of March, more than 164,000 Washington residents bought private health plans through the state exchange. In addition, more than 423,000 people got coverage through Washington Apple Health, the state’s Medicaid program.&nbsp; Thu, 24 Apr 2014 15:22:07 +0000 Ruby de Luna 33166 at http://kuow.org About 600,000 Washington Residents Enrolled Through Health Exchange HealthCare.Gov Woes Frustrate Last-Minute Shoppers And Helpers http://kuow.org/post/healthcaregov-woes-frustrate-last-minute-shoppers-and-helpers Last-minute health insurance shoppers turned up in record numbers Monday, both online and in person at clinics, county health departments and libraries. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 14:10:00 +0000 editor 31658 at http://kuow.org HealthCare.Gov Woes Frustrate Last-Minute Shoppers And Helpers Health Exchange Open Enrollment Deadline Looms http://kuow.org/post/health-exchange-open-enrollment-deadline-looms <p>If you don’t have health coverage yet, you still have two weeks to sign up. But state officials are urging people not to wait until the last minute. They say there are reasons to enroll sooner — you’ll avoid the surge leading up to the deadline. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 15:24:17 +0000 Ruby de Luna 30508 at http://kuow.org Health Exchange Open Enrollment Deadline Looms You Might Pay A Lot More Than $95 For Skipping Health Insurance http://kuow.org/post/you-might-pay-lot-more-95-skipping-health-insurance 2014 is the first year most Americans will have to either have health insurance or face a tax penalty.<p>But most people who are <a href="http://www.thefiscaltimes.com/Articles/2014/02/18/ACA-Awareness-Lacking-Among-Low-Income-Uninsured">aware</a> of the penalty think it's pretty small, at least for this first year. Wed, 12 Mar 2014 07:41:00 +0000 Julie Rovner 30331 at http://kuow.org You Might Pay A Lot More Than $95 For Skipping Health Insurance How Do You Get A Young Adult To Buy Health Insurance? http://kuow.org/post/how-do-you-get-young-adult-buy-health-insurance <p></p><p>Washington Healthplanfinder has rolled out a new series of snappy ads aimed at getting young adults to sign up for health care. To date, the enrollment participation for this group is still just above 20 percent. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 16:23:10 +0000 Ruby de Luna 29015 at http://kuow.org How Do You Get A Young Adult To Buy Health Insurance? Who Picks Up The Tab When Affordable Care Act Customers Can't Pay? http://kuow.org/post/who-picks-tab-when-affordable-care-act-customers-cant-pay <p>It’s one thing to get people to buy health insurance, something the state’s health exchange has been focusing on. But what happens when a patient can no longer pay monthly premiums — who would then be responsible for the medical bills? Doctors are worried they’ll be stuck holding the bag, and they’re taking their issue to Olympia this week. Wed, 29 Jan 2014 17:24:25 +0000 Ruby de Luna 27820 at http://kuow.org Who Picks Up The Tab When Affordable Care Act Customers Can't Pay? Young, But Not So Invincible http://kuow.org/post/young-not-so-invincible <p>Ross Reynolds talks with one of the so-dubbed young invincibles, 23-year-old Ursula Swantner, about her experience signing up for health care through <span class="st">the <a href="http://www.wahbexchange.org/">Washington Health Benefit Exchange</a> website,</span> and why she's glad she did. Tue, 21 Jan 2014 23:25:19 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 27389 at http://kuow.org Young, But Not So Invincible State Health Exchange Amps Up Marketing To Reach Young Invincibles http://kuow.org/post/state-health-exchange-amps-marketing-reach-young-invincibles <p>You don’t often hear Justin Timberlake and health insurance in the same sentence. But this Friday, fans going to Key Arena to get their dose of Justin Timberlake will also get a chance to learn about health plans. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 00:22:54 +0000 Ruby de Luna 27134 at http://kuow.org State Health Exchange Amps Up Marketing To Reach Young Invincibles ACA Coverage Starts Tomorrow: Are Insurance Companies Ready? http://kuow.org/post/aca-coverage-starts-tomorrow-are-insurance-companies-ready <p>Steve Scher&nbsp;checks in with Premera&nbsp;Blue Cross spokesman Eric Earling on how Washington state insurance companies have prepared for the full rollout of the Affordable Care Act. Tue, 31 Dec 2013 23:35:59 +0000 Steve Scher & Christine Streich 26351 at http://kuow.org ACA Coverage Starts Tomorrow: Are Insurance Companies Ready? Monday Is Deadline To Sign Up For Health Insurance http://kuow.org/post/monday-deadline-sign-health-insurance <p>Steve Scher talks with Richard Onizuka, CEO of Washington Health Benefit Exchange, ahead of the deadline to sign up for health insurance to receive coverage starting in the new year. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 23:06:43 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 26003 at http://kuow.org Monday Is Deadline To Sign Up For Health Insurance Health Care Sign-up Deadline Looms As Payment Deadline Extended http://kuow.org/post/health-care-sign-deadline-looms-payment-deadline-extended <p>Marcie Sillman sits down with KUOW reporter Ruby de Luna to talk about the Monday health exchange deadline for coverage beginning on Jan. 1. Fri, 20 Dec 2013 23:34:34 +0000 Marcie Sillman, Ruby de Luna & Jason Pagano 25865 at http://kuow.org Health Care Sign-up Deadline Looms As Payment Deadline Extended Washington Ranks Fifth For Health Exchange Enrollment (Oregon Ranks Last) http://kuow.org/post/washington-ranks-fifth-health-exchange-enrollment-oregon-ranks-last <p></p><p>You wouldn’t know it given the technical problems that plagued Washington’s health exchange over the last several days, but the state is fifth in the country for enrollment based on population, according to the Department of Health and Human Services and the US Census Bureau. Wed, 11 Dec 2013 22:54:47 +0000 Ruby de Luna & Elise Hu 25326 at http://kuow.org Washington Ranks Fifth For Health Exchange Enrollment (Oregon Ranks Last)