international politics http://kuow.org en Train Carrying MH17 Victims' Remains Arrives In Government-Controlled City http://kuow.org/post/train-carrying-mh17-victims-remains-arrives-government-controlled-city A refrigerated train carrying the remains of the people who died aboard the downed Malaysia Airlines plane arrived in Kharkiv, Ukraine, on Tuesday. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 10:56:00 +0000 editor 38694 at http://kuow.org Train Carrying MH17 Victims' Remains Arrives In Government-Controlled City Dozens Killed As Libyan Militias Battle For Tripoli's Airport http://kuow.org/post/47-killed-libyan-militias-battle-tripolis-airport At least 47 people have been killed in fighting over the past 24 hours between rival Libyan militias battling for control of Tripoli's international airport.<p>The country's health ministry said late Sunday that the fighting also wounded 120 people. The Associated Press reports:<p><blockquote><p>"The weeklong battle over the airport is being waged by a powerful militia from the western city of Zintan, which controls the facility, and Islamist-led militias, including fighters from Misrata, east of Tripoli. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 13:57:35 +0000 Krishnadev Calamur 38629 at http://kuow.org Dozens Killed As Libyan Militias Battle For Tripoli's Airport As Violence Continues, U.S. Weighs The Options In Iraq http://kuow.org/post/violence-continues-us-weighs-options-iraq <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Kenneth Pollack, senior fellow at the Saban Center for Middle East Policy at the Brookings Institution, about President Obama's remarks on Iraq Thursday morning. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 22:41:30 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 36704 at http://kuow.org As Violence Continues, U.S. Weighs The Options In Iraq Bitter, Incomplete Divorce Blamed For South Sudan's Fighting http://kuow.org/post/bitter-incomplete-divorce-blamed-south-sudans-fighting What happened after Africa's biggest country split in two? Renee Montagne talks to James Copnall about his book, A Poisonous Thorn in Our Hearts: Sudan and South Sudan's Bitter and Incomplete Divorce. Wed, 18 Jun 2014 09:20:00 +0000 editor 36588 at http://kuow.org Iraqi-Americans Rally In Seattle To Protest ISIS Violence http://kuow.org/post/iraqi-americans-rally-seattle-protest-isis-violence <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Majid al-Bahadli, a Seattleite&nbsp;who fled Iraq after the first Gulf War. He is among a group of Iraqi-Americans who organized a rally Monday to protest the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant's escalation of violence. Mon, 16 Jun 2014 21:20:54 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Matthew Streib 36492 at http://kuow.org What India's Election Means For Washingtonians http://kuow.org/post/what-indias-election-means-washingtonians <div><p>David Hyde interviews former Washingtonian, diplomat and scholar&nbsp;Haroon Ullah about the recent election of &nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Narendra </span>Modi&nbsp;to be the next prime minister of India<span style="line-height: 1.5;">.</span> Fri, 23 May 2014 22:15:29 +0000 David Hyde, Amina Al-Sadi & Jeannie Yandel 35127 at http://kuow.org What India's Election Means For Washingtonians After 300 Years Of Marriage, Scotland Contemplates U.K. Divorce http://kuow.org/post/after-300-years-marriage-scotland-contemplates-uk-divorce Scotland has been part of the United Kingdom for more than 300 years. This fall, that could change. In mid-September, a referendum on independence will determine whether Scotland breaks off from England, Northern Ireland and Wales to become a sovereign nation.<p>Scotland's largest city, Glasgow, is ground zero in this debate. The East End of this city is poor and run down, with some of the worst health figures in Europe. Men here are expected to live into only their mid-50s, some 30 years less than in wealthy areas.<p>"You can just look around and see. Everybody's in the same boat. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 09:24:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 30751 at http://kuow.org After 300 Years Of Marriage, Scotland Contemplates U.K. Divorce Post-Chavez Venezuela: A Political House Of Mirrors http://kuow.org/post/post-chavez-venezuela-political-house-mirrors <p>Steve Scher talks with <a href="http://jsis.washington.edu/jackson/bio/lucero.shtml">Jose Antonio Lucero</a>, chair of Latin American and Caribbean Studies at the University of Washington, about the protests in Venezuela. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 23:36:27 +0000 Steve Scher & Christine Streich 29781 at http://kuow.org Post-Chavez Venezuela: A Political House Of Mirrors After Entering Crimea, Where Will Russia Stop? http://kuow.org/post/after-entering-crimea-where-will-russia-stop <strong>Update at 1 p.m. ET. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 16:52:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 29729 at http://kuow.org After Entering Crimea, Where Will Russia Stop? Ukraine Crisis: New Government Takes Shape As Crimea Simmers http://kuow.org/post/ukraine-crisis-pro-russia-gunmen-seize-offices-crimea <h6>We're adding updates throughout this post as the day continues.</h6><p>Tensions continue to rise in Ukraine, where months of public protests led last week to the downfall of President Viktor Yanukovych's government. His opponents are now installing pro-Western ministers to replace the pro-Russian leaders who worked for Yanukovych. The interim government is expected to be in charge at least until new elections can be held, perhaps in late May.<p>Meanwhile, in the Crimea region there have been clashes between the ethnic-Russian majority and those who want Ukraine to remain united. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 12:10:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 29543 at http://kuow.org Ukraine Crisis: New Government Takes Shape As Crimea Simmers Why Ukraine Is 'Unique' Among Post-Soviet Countries http://kuow.org/post/why-ukraine-unique-among-post-soviet-countries <p>Ross Reynolds talks with associate professor Scott Radnitz about the growing tension in Ukraine and why there has been a rise in violence. Radnitz explains how the situation in Ukraine differs from the other post-Soviet countries. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 23:34:44 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 29146 at http://kuow.org Why Ukraine Is 'Unique' Among Post-Soviet Countries Is Russia Ready For The Winter Olympics? http://kuow.org/post/russia-ready-winter-olympics <p>Marcie Sillman discusses the 2014 Sochi Winter Olympics with Jill Dougherty, former CNN foreign affairs correspondent.</p><p>Dougherty spoke at the University of Washington's Ellison Center about the state of <a href="http://jsis.washington.edu/ellison/">Russia and U.S. affairs. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 23:31:09 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 27179 at http://kuow.org Is Russia Ready For The Winter Olympics? Joseph Cirincione On The Threat Of 'Nuclear Nightmares' http://kuow.org/post/joseph-cirincione-threat-nuclear-nightmares <p><span style="font-size: 10.5pt; line-height: 15.75pt; font-family: Georgia, serif;">Ross Reynolds talks with author Joseph&nbsp;Cirincione&nbsp;about his&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5; font-family: Georgia, serif;">latest book “Nuclear Nightmares: Securing the World Before It Is Too Late.”</span><span style="font-size: 10.5pt; line-height: 15.75pt; font-family: Georgia, serif;">&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 14 Jan 2014 23:09:31 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 27039 at http://kuow.org Joseph Cirincione On The Threat Of 'Nuclear Nightmares' Leaving Home, Local Refugee On The Conflict In South Sudan http://kuow.org/post/leaving-home-local-refugee-conflict-south-sudan <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Marcie </span>Sillman<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> speaks with Moses </span>Monynhial<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> </span>Dut<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, a student and maintenance engineer for Seattle's Smith Tower, about his journey out of South Sudan and how he views the conflict today.</span></p><p> Tue, 14 Jan 2014 23:05:43 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 27056 at http://kuow.org Leaving Home, Local Refugee On The Conflict In South Sudan Weird Stuff World Leaders Give Each Other http://kuow.org/post/weird-stuff-world-leaders-give-each-other You say potato, John Kerry says let's give it to Russia.<p>The U.S. secretary of state proudly presented his Russian counterpart, Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov, with <a href="https://twitter.com/mfa_russia/status/422644051410558976" target="_blank">two Idaho potatoes</a> at a meeting in Paris on Monday. Tue, 14 Jan 2014 20:37:00 +0000 editor 27058 at http://kuow.org Weird Stuff World Leaders Give Each Other