international politics http://kuow.org en After 300 Years Of Marriage, Scotland Contemplates U.K. Divorce http://kuow.org/post/after-300-years-marriage-scotland-contemplates-uk-divorce Scotland has been part of the United Kingdom for more than 300 years. This fall, that could change. In mid-September, a referendum on independence will determine whether Scotland breaks off from England, Northern Ireland and Wales to become a sovereign nation.<p>Scotland's largest city, Glasgow, is ground zero in this debate. The East End of this city is poor and run down, with some of the worst health figures in Europe. Men here are expected to live into only their mid-50s, some 30 years less than in wealthy areas.<p>"You can just look around and see. Everybody's in the same boat. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 09:24:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 30751 at http://kuow.org After 300 Years Of Marriage, Scotland Contemplates U.K. Divorce Post-Chavez Venezuela: A Political House Of Mirrors http://kuow.org/post/post-chavez-venezuela-political-house-mirrors <p>Steve Scher talks with <a href="http://jsis.washington.edu/jackson/bio/lucero.shtml">Jose Antonio Lucero</a>, chair of Latin American and Caribbean Studies at the University of Washington, about the protests in Venezuela. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 23:36:27 +0000 Steve Scher & Christine Streich 29781 at http://kuow.org Post-Chavez Venezuela: A Political House Of Mirrors After Entering Crimea, Where Will Russia Stop? http://kuow.org/post/after-entering-crimea-where-will-russia-stop <strong>Update at 1 p.m. ET. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 16:52:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 29729 at http://kuow.org After Entering Crimea, Where Will Russia Stop? Ukraine Crisis: New Government Takes Shape As Crimea Simmers http://kuow.org/post/ukraine-crisis-pro-russia-gunmen-seize-offices-crimea <h6>We're adding updates throughout this post as the day continues.</h6><p>Tensions continue to rise in Ukraine, where months of public protests led last week to the downfall of President Viktor Yanukovych's government. His opponents are now installing pro-Western ministers to replace the pro-Russian leaders who worked for Yanukovych. The interim government is expected to be in charge at least until new elections can be held, perhaps in late May.<p>Meanwhile, in the Crimea region there have been clashes between the ethnic-Russian majority and those who want Ukraine to remain united. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 12:10:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 29543 at http://kuow.org Ukraine Crisis: New Government Takes Shape As Crimea Simmers Why Ukraine Is 'Unique' Among Post-Soviet Countries http://kuow.org/post/why-ukraine-unique-among-post-soviet-countries <p>Ross Reynolds talks with associate professor Scott Radnitz about the growing tension in Ukraine and why there has been a rise in violence. Radnitz explains how the situation in Ukraine differs from the other post-Soviet countries. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 23:34:44 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 29146 at http://kuow.org Why Ukraine Is 'Unique' Among Post-Soviet Countries Is Russia Ready For The Winter Olympics? http://kuow.org/post/russia-ready-winter-olympics <p>Marcie Sillman discusses the 2014 Sochi Winter Olympics with Jill Dougherty, former CNN foreign affairs correspondent.</p><p>Dougherty spoke at the University of Washington's Ellison Center about the state of <a href="http://jsis.washington.edu/ellison/">Russia and U.S. affairs. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 23:31:09 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 27179 at http://kuow.org Is Russia Ready For The Winter Olympics? Joseph Cirincione On The Threat Of 'Nuclear Nightmares' http://kuow.org/post/joseph-cirincione-threat-nuclear-nightmares <p><span style="font-size: 10.5pt; line-height: 15.75pt; font-family: Georgia, serif;">Ross Reynolds talks with author Joseph&nbsp;Cirincione&nbsp;about his&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5; font-family: Georgia, serif;">latest book “Nuclear Nightmares: Securing the World Before It Is Too Late.”</span><span style="font-size: 10.5pt; line-height: 15.75pt; font-family: Georgia, serif;">&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 14 Jan 2014 23:09:31 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 27039 at http://kuow.org Joseph Cirincione On The Threat Of 'Nuclear Nightmares' Leaving Home, Local Refugee On The Conflict In South Sudan http://kuow.org/post/leaving-home-local-refugee-conflict-south-sudan <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Marcie </span>Sillman<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> speaks with Moses </span>Monynhial<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> </span>Dut<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, a student and maintenance engineer for Seattle's Smith Tower, about his journey out of South Sudan and how he views the conflict today.</span></p><p> Tue, 14 Jan 2014 23:05:43 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 27056 at http://kuow.org Leaving Home, Local Refugee On The Conflict In South Sudan Weird Stuff World Leaders Give Each Other http://kuow.org/post/weird-stuff-world-leaders-give-each-other You say potato, John Kerry says let's give it to Russia.<p>The U.S. secretary of state proudly presented his Russian counterpart, Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov, with <a href="https://twitter.com/mfa_russia/status/422644051410558976" target="_blank">two Idaho potatoes</a> at a meeting in Paris on Monday. Tue, 14 Jan 2014 20:37:00 +0000 editor 27058 at http://kuow.org Weird Stuff World Leaders Give Each Other Thai Anti-Government Protesters Occupy Bangkok http://kuow.org/post/thai-anti-government-protesters-occupy-bangkok <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Ross Reynolds speaks with ​Thai political blogger and foreign correspondent Saksith Saiyasombut about the anti-government protests shutting down Bangkok streets, and what it means for the future of democracy in Thailand.</span></p><p> Mon, 13 Jan 2014 22:01:00 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Posey Gruener 27059 at http://kuow.org Thai Anti-Government Protesters Occupy Bangkok The Role Of 'Basketball Diplomacy' In North Korea http://kuow.org/post/role-basketball-diplomacy-north-korea <p>When former basketball star Dennis Rodman implied to CNN that Kenneth Bae, a Lynnwood, Wash., man imprisoned in North Korea, had committed a crime, Bae’s sister lashed out. Thu, 09 Jan 2014 22:44:27 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 26798 at http://kuow.org The Role Of 'Basketball Diplomacy' In North Korea Officials In U.S. Stumped By China's Claim Of Tainted Northwest Shellfish http://kuow.org/post/officials-us-stumped-chinas-claim-tainted-northwest-shellfish Environment and health officials in the U.S. say they are puzzled by China’s decision to ban shellfish harvested from Northern California to Alaska. State officials say their records don’t show the same unsafe toxin levels that were detected by a lab in China.<p>China says it found toxins in two shipments of geoducks. These giant clams harvested in Puget Sound and Alaska can go for $150 a pound. Mon, 16 Dec 2013 14:59:46 +0000 Amelia Templeton, Tony Schick 25543 at http://kuow.org Officials In U.S. Stumped By China's Claim Of Tainted Northwest Shellfish China Imposes First-Ever West Coast Shellfish Ban http://kuow.org/post/china-imposes-first-ever-west-coast-shellfish-ban China has suspended imports of shellfish from the west coast of the United States -- an unprecedented move that cuts off a $270 million Northwest industry from its biggest export market.<p>China said it decided to impose the ban after recent shipments of geoduck clams from Northwest waters were found by its own government inspectors to have high levels of arsenic and a toxin that causes paralytic shellfish poisoning.<p>The restriction took effect last week and China's government says it will continue indefinitely. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 17:11:49 +0000 Ashley Ahearn & Katie Campbell & Anthony Schick 25430 at http://kuow.org China Imposes First-Ever West Coast Shellfish Ban Nelson Mandela, South Africa's 'Greatest Son,' Dies At 95 http://kuow.org/post/nelson-mandela-south-africas-greatest-son-dies-95 <p></p><p></p><p>Nelson Mandela, South Africa's first black president and anti-apartheid icon has died, according to South Africa President Jacob Zuma. He was 95. Fri, 06 Dec 2013 15:15:29 +0000 The Associated Press and BBC 24982 at http://kuow.org Nelson Mandela, South Africa's 'Greatest Son,' Dies At 95 Can Child Marriages Be Stopped? http://kuow.org/post/can-child-marriages-be-stopped Christina Asima seems tired for a 13-year-old. I meet the shy-mannered girl in the remote farming village of Chitera, in the southern African nation of Malawi. She wears a bright pink zip-up shirt and a blue print cloth wrapped up to her chest. Snuggled in that, hugging her side, is a chubby-cheeked baby boy.<p>My gut assumption is that the infant must be Christina's little brother. I know 8-month-old Praise is actually her son. Still, it's startling when, as we speak, she shifts him around front to nurse.<p>"I was 12 years old when I got married to my husband," she explains softly. Mon, 25 Nov 2013 14:47:00 +0000 Jennifer Ludden 24396 at http://kuow.org Can Child Marriages Be Stopped?