economy http://kuow.org en Seattle Startup Seeks To Create Foodsharing Community http://kuow.org/post/seattle-startup-seeks-create-foodsharing-community <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Kamal Patel, co-founder of Ubrlocal, a marketplace for Seattle gardeners and farmers to share their wares. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 22:03:49 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Matthew Streib 38909 at http://kuow.org Seattle Startup Seeks To Create Foodsharing Community Massive Layoffs At Microsoft A Test For Seattle Startup Culture http://kuow.org/post/massive-layoffs-microsoft-test-seattle-startup-culture <p>Last week, Microsoft began the biggest layoffs in the company’s history: 18,000 total expected in the next year. So far, about 1,300 local workers have been affected.</p><p>Jon Talton, business reporter for the Seattle Times, told KUOW’s Ross Reynolds on <em>The Record</em> that this event is a test for the local economy. He said the Seattle area is in the midst of an economic boom – driven by Amazon, Boeing’s 777X and 737, increased exports and low unemployment. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 22:31:36 +0000 Ross Reynolds, Andy Hurst & Amina Al-Sadi 38643 at http://kuow.org Massive Layoffs At Microsoft A Test For Seattle Startup Culture San Francisco Median Home Price Hits $1 Million http://kuow.org/post/san-francisco-median-home-price-hits-1-million In an already pricey real estate market, San Francisco&#8217;s median home price has just hit the $1 million mark, according to <a href="http://dqnews.com/Articles/2014/News/California/Bay-Area/RRBay140716.aspx" target="_blank">a new report</a> from industry info firm DataQuick.<p>To figure out what&#8217;s going on in the city by the bay, <em><a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/">Here & Now&#8217;</a></em>s Jeremy Hobson turns to <strong>Nancy Wallace</strong>, co-chair of the Fisher Center for Real Estate and Urban Economics at the University of California, Berkeley.<p>According to Wallace, Thu, 17 Jul 2014 18:48:08 +0000 editor 38445 at http://kuow.org San Francisco Median Home Price Hits $1 Million Washington Jobless Rate At 6-Year Low, But Rural Counties Lag http://kuow.org/post/washington-jobless-rate-6-year-low-rural-counties-lag <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/071614AJ_NWUnemployment_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>According to the <a href="https://fortress.wa.gov/esd/employmentdata/docs/economic-reports/current-monthly-employment-report.pdf">June jobs report released Wednesday</a>, Washington’s jobless rate has dropped to 5.8 percent -- the lowest level in six years.<p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 15:00:39 +0000 Austin Jenkins 38420 at http://kuow.org Washington Jobless Rate At 6-Year Low, But Rural Counties Lag What's Hot Right Now: Downtown Seattle Property Values http://kuow.org/post/whats-hot-right-now-downtown-seattle-property-values <p>Ross Reynolds talks with economist and real estate analyst <a href="http://gardnereconomics.com/company/principal">Matthew Gardner</a> about the commercial real estate market in Seattle. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 22:05:22 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38359 at http://kuow.org Is The Government Doing More For The Economy Than We Realize? http://kuow.org/post/government-doing-more-economy-we-realize <p>Ross Reynolds talks with&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Lew Daly, director of policy and research at Demos, a public policy think tank in New York.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">In a report released this month, Daly said our method of measuring gross domestic product obscures public value in our economy.</span> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 22:28:50 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Matthew Streib 38280 at http://kuow.org Trust In The Age Of The Sharing Economy http://kuow.org/post/trust-age-sharing-economy Until recently, there were a few gems of conventional wisdom followed by most: don&#8217;t get into a stranger&#8217;s car; don&#8217;t open your door to someone you don&#8217;t know; don&#8217;t lend out your valuables. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 22:34:17 +0000 editor 37932 at http://kuow.org Trust In The Age Of The Sharing Economy The American Wealth Gap, Changing Jobs, And Rising Wages http://kuow.org/post/american-wealth-gap-changing-jobs-and-rising-wages <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Seattle Times columnist Jon Talton about the paper's annual report on executive pay. In addition, the two discuss how jobs in America have shifted to service jobs. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 22:17:28 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 36921 at http://kuow.org Surprise? Seattle Traffic Has Only Gotten Worse http://kuow.org/post/surprise-seattle-traffic-has-only-gotten-worse <p>Traffic jams have plagued the Seattle area for weeks. Now a traffic data company reports that congestion has been getting worse even before the traffic snarls of the last few weeks.&nbsp; Tue, 17 Jun 2014 15:27:03 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 36511 at http://kuow.org Surprise? Seattle Traffic Has Only Gotten Worse Ms. Warren Goes to Washington: A Progressive Senator’s Life Story http://kuow.org/post/ms-warren-goes-washington-progressive-senator-s-life-story <p>This week on <em>Speakers Forum</em>,&nbsp;Massachusetts <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elizabeth_Warren">Senator Elizabeth Warren</a> tells the story of her life and her vision of a progressive America. Warren is known as an advocate for consumer protection. She was largely responsible for the hard-won establishment of the <a href="http://www.consumerfinance.gov/">U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.</a> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 18:43:51 +0000 John O'Brien 35941 at http://kuow.org Ms. Warren Goes to Washington: A Progressive Senator’s Life Story City Will Have To Help With $15 Minimum Wage, Says One Nonprofit http://kuow.org/post/city-will-have-help-15-minimum-wage-says-one-nonprofit <p>David Hyde talks with Bill Hobson, executive director of Downtown Emergency Service Center, about how his organization would implement the $15 minimum wage and why he's advocating that the city help. Mon, 02 Jun 2014 22:26:53 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 35645 at http://kuow.org City Will Have To Help With $15 Minimum Wage, Says One Nonprofit Study: More Skilled Foreign Workers Could Mean Higher Wages In Cities http://kuow.org/post/study-more-skilled-foreign-workers-could-mean-higher-wages-cities <p>Ross Reynolds talks to Giovanni Peri, an economics professor at U.C. Davis, about how foreign-born workers in science and technology might affect the health of economies. Peri argues that the federal government should increase the cap on H-1B worker visas, which would ultimately encourage economic growth and innovation. Fri, 30 May 2014 22:01:23 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Cameron Drews 35509 at http://kuow.org 'Stress Test': Before, During And After The Panic Of 2008 http://kuow.org/post/stress-test-during-and-after-panic-2008 <p>The <a href="http://timeline.stlouisfed.org/index.cfm?p=timeline">financial crisis of 2008</a> is widely referred to as the worst fiscal disaster since the Great Depression of the 1930s. It threatened large financial institutions with collapse and resulted in bank bailouts and downturns in stock and housing markets around the world. Fri, 30 May 2014 16:54:49 +0000 John O'Brien 35499 at http://kuow.org 'Stress Test': Before, During And After The Panic Of 2008 'To Have A Place Where I Can Have Food' http://kuow.org/post/have-place-where-i-can-have-food <p>The Census Bureau estimates Seattle grew faster than any other major American city last year. As more people move here, the pressure is on to find an affordable home. Tue, 27 May 2014 22:30:10 +0000 Steve Scher & Hannah Burn 35046 at http://kuow.org 'To Have A Place Where I Can Have Food' Thinking Like A Freak, Economically Speaking http://kuow.org/post/thinking-freak-economically-speaking <p></p><p>Arwen Nicks talks with best selling authors <a href="http://freakonomics.com">Steven Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner</a> about their most recent book, "Think Like A Freak." Fri, 23 May 2014 23:12:20 +0000 Arwen Nicks 35130 at http://kuow.org Thinking Like A Freak, Economically Speaking