oil http://kuow.org en Can A 'Bigger Hammer' Stop Oil Refinery Accidents? http://kuow.org/post/can-bigger-hammer-stop-oil-refinery-accidents <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Dave Fehling, energy and environment reporter for StateImpact Texas, an NPR reporting project, about oil refinery accidents and what happens when they're criminally prosecuted. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 21:50:11 +0000 Ross Reynolds, Phyllis Fletcher & Hannah Burn 37842 at http://kuow.org Rail Workers Raise Doubts About Safety As Oil Trains Roll On http://kuow.org/post/rail-workers-raise-doubts-about-safety-oil-trains-roll <p>Curtis Rookaird thinks BNSF Railway fired him <a href="https://www.documentcloud.org/documents/1055355-secretrays-findings-dated-9-18-13.html#document/p7/a164787" title="">because he took the time to test his train’s brakes.</a></p><p>The rail yard in Blaine, Washington, was on heightened security that day, he remembers, because of the 2010 Winter Olympics underway just across border in Vancouver, B.C. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 17:25:55 +0000 Ashley Ahearn & Tony Schick 37483 at http://kuow.org Rail Workers Raise Doubts About Safety As Oil Trains Roll On Report: Agency Blocked Urgent Recommendations For Tesoro Refinery Safety http://kuow.org/post/report-agency-blocked-urgent-recommendations-tesoro-refinery-safety <p></p><p>In the months following a deadly refinery explosion in Anacortes, Washington, in April 2010, federal investigators with the U.S. Chemical Safety Board were ready to issue urgent safety recommendations. But management at the agency blocked the release of their urgent alert. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 20:49:07 +0000 John Ryan 36806 at http://kuow.org Report: Agency Blocked Urgent Recommendations For Tesoro Refinery Safety Northwest States Tread Lightly With Oil Train Route Disclosures http://kuow.org/post/northwest-states-tread-lightly-oil-train-route-disclosures <p>The Northwest’s two main freight rail operators are complying with a federal requirement to inform states about the North Dakota crude oil they’re hauling, but they want the states to keep the public from finding out by signing non-disclosure agreements. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 20:43:21 +0000 Tony Schick 36223 at http://kuow.org Northwest States Tread Lightly With Oil Train Route Disclosures Despite Confidentiality Concerns, BNSF Will Report Oil Shipments To States http://kuow.org/post/despite-confidentiality-concerns-bnsf-will-report-oil-shipments-states <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/06/060614AJ_OilTrains_web_3.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>BNSF Railway said Friday it will comply with Saturday's federal deadline to provide states with information about the frequency and routes of oil trains from North Dakota and Montana.<p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 15:23:40 +0000 Austin Jenkins 36024 at http://kuow.org Despite Confidentiality Concerns, BNSF Will Report Oil Shipments To States Oil Train Preparedness A Gap For Oregon's Hazmat Response http://kuow.org/post/oil-train-preparedness-gap-oregons-hazmat-response For seven years, Central Oregon has been without a state hazardous materials team.<p>It means that in the event of an oil train spill in Deschutes County, the closest team assigned to the area comes from Salem, roughly two and half to three hours away.<p>An EarthFix analysis of hazmat response times shows infrequent incidents in Central Oregon -- only two in the past three years -- but with an average response time of nearly three hours. Tue, 27 May 2014 15:08:18 +0000 Tony Schick 35257 at http://kuow.org Oil Train Preparedness A Gap For Oregon's Hazmat Response Feds Urge Tighter Refinery Regulations After Fatal Tesoro Blast http://kuow.org/post/feds-urge-tighter-refinery-regulations-after-fatal-tesoro-blast <p></p><p>The U.S. Chemical Safety Board is calling for 60 improvements in the design, operation and regulation of the Tesoro oil refinery in Anacortes and of refineries nationwide. Fri, 02 May 2014 20:48:11 +0000 John Ryan 33768 at http://kuow.org Feds Urge Tighter Refinery Regulations After Fatal Tesoro Blast Gasoline Prices Rise As U.S. Refineries Send More Fuel Overseas http://kuow.org/post/gasoline-prices-rise-us-refineries-send-more-fuel-overseas The weather is warming and vacation season approaching.<p>And, just as predictably, the price of gasoline is rising. It does that every spring as refineries switch to more expensive summer blends.<p>But this year, the seasonal price bump is getting an extra bounce. Gasoline is costing consumers about 5 percent more than last year at this time, even though oil supplies are abundant. Why?<p>Experts say U.S. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 18:19:45 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 33313 at http://kuow.org Gasoline Prices Rise As U.S. Refineries Send More Fuel Overseas Residents Voice Fear And Concern Over Grays Harbor Oil Terminals http://kuow.org/post/residents-voice-fear-and-concern-over-grays-harbor-oil-terminals <p></p><p>HOQUIAM, Wash. — More than 100 people gathered at the local high school Thursday night with questions and concerns about proposals to build train-to-ship oil terminals in their community. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 16:21:29 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 33291 at http://kuow.org Residents Voice Fear And Concern Over Grays Harbor Oil Terminals As La. Coast Recedes, Battle Rages Over Who Should Pay http://kuow.org/post/la-coast-recedes-battle-rages-over-who-should-pay Louisiana's coast is disappearing at the rate of about a football field an hour. Since the 1930s, the Gulf of Mexico has swallowed up an area the size of Delaware.<p>You can see the water encroaching in Delacroix in St. Bernard Parish, less than an hour southeast of New Orleans. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 07:40:00 +0000 Debbie Elliott 32628 at http://kuow.org As La. Coast Recedes, Battle Rages Over Who Should Pay Urged To Support Oil Train Funding, Northwest Senator Seeks Answers http://kuow.org/post/urged-support-oil-train-funding-northwest-senator-seeks-answers <p>Fellow U.S. senators are calling on Washington’s Patty Murray to support major investments in oil train safety, but first she wants some answers. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 13:15:42 +0000 Tony Schick 32112 at http://kuow.org Urged To Support Oil Train Funding, Northwest Senator Seeks Answers Coast Guard Blames Kulluk Grounding on Shell Oil's Complacency, Risk Taking http://kuow.org/post/coast-guard-blames-kulluk-grounding-shell-oils-complacency-risk-taking <p>A US Coast Guard investigation blames Shell Oil's complacency and risk-taking for an oil rig running aground on a remote Alaskan Island on New Year's Eve 2012.</p><p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 05:52:06 +0000 John Ryan 31963 at http://kuow.org Coast Guard Blames Kulluk Grounding on Shell Oil's Complacency, Risk Taking EarthFix Conversation: 25 Years Later, Scientists Remember The Exxon Valdez http://kuow.org/post/earthfix-conversation-25-years-later-scientists-remember-exxon-valdez <p>Twenty five years ago today the Exxon Valdez, an oil tanker bound for Long Beach, Calif., ran aground in Prince William Sound.</p><p>Eleven million gallons of oil spilled out, polluting 1,300 miles of Alaska’s coastline. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 16:00:45 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 31151 at http://kuow.org EarthFix Conversation: 25 Years Later, Scientists Remember The Exxon Valdez Animal Rescuers Create Joy Amid Chaos After Exxon Valdez Spill http://kuow.org/post/animal-rescuers-create-joy-amid-chaos-after-exxon-valdez-spill It's been 25 years since the Exxon Valdez ran aground off the coast of Alaska, spilling millions of gallons of oil into Prince William Sound.<p>The impact on wildlife was devastating. Cleanup crews poured into the nearby port town, also called Valdez, where an animal rescue center was set up.<p>"The chaos is incredibly difficult to describe or even imagine," says LJ Evans, a local resident who volunteered to help. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 16:07:29 +0000 NPR Staff 31010 at http://kuow.org Animal Rescuers Create Joy Amid Chaos After Exxon Valdez Spill Oregon Says Coal Export Project Will Need To Lease More Land http://kuow.org/post/oregon-says-coal-export-project-will-need-lease-more-land Developers of the Morrow Pacific coal export project on the Columbia River already have land leases with the Port of St. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 16:08:17 +0000 Cassandra Profita 30769 at http://kuow.org Oregon Says Coal Export Project Will Need To Lease More Land