Internet http://kuow.org en Aereo's TV Streaming Service Is Illegal, Supreme Court Says http://kuow.org/post/aereos-tv-streaming-service-illegal-supreme-court-says Aereo, the company that lets subscribers watch TV stations' video that it routes onto the Internet, violates U.S. copyright law, the Supreme Court has ruled. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 14:42:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 37043 at http://kuow.org Aereo's TV Streaming Service Is Illegal, Supreme Court Says 'Distributed Denial Of Service': The Fastest Growing Cyber Attack http://kuow.org/post/distributed-denial-service-fastest-growing-cyber-attack <p></p><p></p><p>David Hyde talks with Matthew Prince, CEO of CloudFlare, about what he says is the fastest growing cyber attack sweeping the nation: distributed denial of service, or DDoS. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 22:20:23 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 36894 at http://kuow.org 'Distributed Denial Of Service': The Fastest Growing Cyber Attack Internet Of Things: Connecting All Objects With Mini Devices http://kuow.org/post/internet-things-connecting-all-objects-mini-devices <p>Ross Reynolds speaks with Lee Rainie, director of the Pew Research Center's Internet &amp; American Life Project, about the Internet of Things, and how it will connect with our bodies, our homes, our communities, our goods, and even the dirt beneath our feet.</p><p>IoT refers to the idea of equipping all objects with minuscule identifying devices or machine-readable identifiers. A Pew Research Center<a href="http://www.pewinternet.org/2014/05/14/internet-of-things/"> report</a> predicts IoT will thrive by 2025. Wed, 14 May 2014 21:59:46 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Posey Gruener 34451 at http://kuow.org Internet Of Things: Connecting All Objects With Mini Devices Comcast-Time Warner Merger Could Cause A 'Huge War' In Washington, D.C. http://kuow.org/post/comcast-time-warner-merger-could-cause-huge-war-washington-dc <p>Comcast provides Internet and cable service to more households than any other cable company in the U.S.</p><p>In Washington, D.C., Comcast has hired more than 80 lobbyists to sell its $45 billion mega-merger with Time Warner Cable. The deal, <a href="http://corporate.comcast.com/comcast-voices/comcast-and-time-warner-cable-file-applications-and-public-interest-statement-with-fcc">filed earlier this month</a>, is now pending approval from the FCC and Department of Justice.</p><p> Mon, 28 Apr 2014 22:44:32 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 33480 at http://kuow.org Comcast-Time Warner Merger Could Cause A 'Huge War' In Washington, D.C. Homeland Security: Don't Use Microsoft's Internet Explorer Until Bug Fixed http://kuow.org/post/homeland-security-dont-use-microsofts-internet-explorer-until-bug-fixed <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with Todd Bishop, co-founder of <a href="http://www.geekwire.com/">Geekwire</a>, about the major security flaw affecting Microsoft's web browser Internet Explorer. Mon, 28 Apr 2014 21:58:33 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 33459 at http://kuow.org Homeland Security: Don't Use Microsoft's Internet Explorer Until Bug Fixed Seattle Reconsidering Building A City Owned Broadband Network http://kuow.org/post/seattle-reconsidering-building-city-owned-broadband-network <p>Ross Reynolds talks with <a href="http://schrier.wordpress.com/">Bill Schrier</a>, City of Seattle's former chief technology officer, about the challenges to building a municipal broadband network in Seattle. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 21:58:11 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 32301 at http://kuow.org Seattle Reconsidering Building A City Owned Broadband Network The Security Bug That Affects Most Of The Internet, Explained http://kuow.org/post/security-bug-affects-most-internet-explained <strong><em>Editor's Note</em></strong>: <em>A very serious bug with a scary name, <a href="http://heartbleed.com/">Heartbleed</a>, <a href="http://arstechnica.com/security/2014/04/critical-crypto-bug-in-openssl-opens-two-thirds-of-the-web-to-eavesdropping/">was discovered and disclosed this week</a>. The bug affects OpenSSL, a popular cryptographic library that is used to secure a huge chunk of the Internet's traffic. Even if you have never heard of OpenSSL, chances are, </em><em>it's</em><em> helped secure your data in some way. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 20:19:00 +0000 editor 32134 at http://kuow.org The Security Bug That Affects Most Of The Internet, Explained Local Seniors Share How They Use The World Wide Web http://kuow.org/post/local-seniors-share-how-they-use-world-wide-web <p>As part of our week-long series on the 25th anniversary of the World Wide Web, <em>The Record</em> takes a trip to the <a href="http://www.ballardseniorcenter.org/" target="_blank">Ballard Senior Center</a> to learn how senior citizens are using the web today.</p><p>We hear from Stan Steenrod, Katherine Quackenbush, Robert Brumfield, Ruth Higgins, Stephen Sill, Betty Aman and Claire Anderson. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 21:53:38 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Steve Scher & Christine Streich 30573 at http://kuow.org Local Seniors Share How They Use The World Wide Web Listeners Reflect As World Wide Web Turns 25 http://kuow.org/post/listeners-reflect-world-wide-web-turns-25 <p>Marcie Sillman and Steve Scher&nbsp;take calls from listeners as they recount their early Internet memories in celebration of the World Wide Web's 25th birthday. Wed, 12 Mar 2014 23:19:12 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Steve Scher & Christine Streich 30414 at http://kuow.org Listeners Reflect As World Wide Web Turns 25 What Makes Us Vulnerable To Internet Scams? http://kuow.org/post/what-makes-us-vulnerable-internet-scams <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Doug Shadel, fraud expert and director of AARP Washington, about whom con artists are targeting and how to avoid falling victim to Internet scams. Wed, 12 Mar 2014 22:35:46 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Ross Reynolds 30395 at http://kuow.org What Makes Us Vulnerable To Internet Scams? Life Without Reliable Internet Access http://kuow.org/post/life-without-reliable-internet-access <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Steve McCullough, superintendent of <a href="http://www.curlew.wednet.edu/site/default.aspx?PageID=1">Curlew School District</a>, about the lack of adequate Internet access in the small, northeastern Washington town.</p><p>About 200 students attend the school, which houses the classrooms from preschool through high school. McCullough also serves as the school's principal. The district is currently the only place with the fastest and most reliable Internet access in town. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 22:18:05 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Christine Streich 30304 at http://kuow.org Life Without Reliable Internet Access Washington Broadband Office Wants Everyone Online http://kuow.org/post/washington-broadband-office-wants-everyone-online <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Frieda Ray from <a href="http://www.commerce.wa.gov/programs/infrastructure/broadband/Pages/default.aspx">Washington State Broadband Office</a> about Internet access and why her office wants every Washingtonian to go online. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 22:16:40 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 30285 at http://kuow.org Washington Broadband Office Wants Everyone Online How Did We Use The Internet, Before The URL? http://kuow.org/post/how-did-we-use-internet-url <p>Steve Scher talks with Janet Abbate, associate professor of <span class="st">Science and Technology In Society </span>at Virginia Tech, about the history and early users of the Internet. Abbate is also the author of, "Inventing the Internet." Mon, 10 Mar 2014 23:08:06 +0000 Steve Scher & Posey Gruener 30310 at http://kuow.org How Did We Use The Internet, Before The URL? The Complicated World Of Kids And Social Media http://kuow.org/post/complicated-world-kids-and-social-media <p>David Hyde talks with author danah boyd (who prefers to write her name in lowercase) about her book "It's Complicated: The Social Lives of Networked Teens" and the misconceptions of online dangers. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 22:56:13 +0000 Arwen Nicks & David Hyde 29767 at http://kuow.org The Complicated World Of Kids And Social Media FCC To Rewrite Net Neutrality Rules http://kuow.org/post/fcc-rewrite-net-neutrality-rules <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Maggie Reardon, senior writer for CNET News, about the Federal Communications Commission's decision to forgo an appeal of the court ruling that <a href="http://kuow.org/post/what-net-neutrality-court-ruling-means-consumers">threw out net neutrality rules</a>. The FCC has announced it will rewrite the existing rules instead.</p><p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 23:34:01 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 29069 at http://kuow.org FCC To Rewrite Net Neutrality Rules