Internet http://kuow.org en Seattle Reconsidering Building A City Owned Broadband Network http://kuow.org/post/seattle-reconsidering-building-city-owned-broadband-network <p>Ross Reynolds talks with <a href="http://schrier.wordpress.com/">Bill Schrier</a>, City of Seattle's former chief technology officer, about the challenges to building a municipal broadband network in Seattle. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 21:58:11 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 32301 at http://kuow.org Seattle Reconsidering Building A City Owned Broadband Network The Security Bug That Affects Most Of The Internet, Explained http://kuow.org/post/security-bug-affects-most-internet-explained <strong><em>Editor's Note</em></strong>: <em>A very serious bug with a scary name, <a href="http://heartbleed.com/">Heartbleed</a>, <a href="http://arstechnica.com/security/2014/04/critical-crypto-bug-in-openssl-opens-two-thirds-of-the-web-to-eavesdropping/">was discovered and disclosed this week</a>. The bug affects OpenSSL, a popular cryptographic library that is used to secure a huge chunk of the Internet's traffic. Even if you have never heard of OpenSSL, chances are, </em><em>it's</em><em> helped secure your data in some way. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 20:19:00 +0000 editor 32134 at http://kuow.org The Security Bug That Affects Most Of The Internet, Explained Local Seniors Share How They Use The World Wide Web http://kuow.org/post/local-seniors-share-how-they-use-world-wide-web <p>As part of our week-long series on the 25th anniversary of the World Wide Web, <em>The Record</em> takes a trip to the <a href="http://www.ballardseniorcenter.org/" target="_blank">Ballard Senior Center</a> to learn how senior citizens are using the web today.</p><p>We hear from Stan Steenrod, Katherine Quackenbush, Robert Brumfield, Ruth Higgins, Stephen Sill, Betty Aman and Claire Anderson. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 21:53:38 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Steve Scher & Christine Streich 30573 at http://kuow.org Local Seniors Share How They Use The World Wide Web Listeners Reflect As World Wide Web Turns 25 http://kuow.org/post/listeners-reflect-world-wide-web-turns-25 <p>Marcie Sillman and Steve Scher&nbsp;take calls from listeners as they recount their early Internet memories in celebration of the World Wide Web's 25th birthday. Wed, 12 Mar 2014 23:19:12 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Steve Scher & Christine Streich 30414 at http://kuow.org Listeners Reflect As World Wide Web Turns 25 What Makes Us Vulnerable To Internet Scams? http://kuow.org/post/what-makes-us-vulnerable-internet-scams <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Doug Shadel, fraud expert and director of AARP Washington, about whom con artists are targeting and how to avoid falling victim to Internet scams. Wed, 12 Mar 2014 22:35:46 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Ross Reynolds 30395 at http://kuow.org What Makes Us Vulnerable To Internet Scams? Life Without Reliable Internet Access http://kuow.org/post/life-without-reliable-internet-access <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Steve McCullough, superintendent of <a href="http://www.curlew.wednet.edu/site/default.aspx?PageID=1">Curlew School District</a>, about the lack of adequate Internet access in the small, northeastern Washington town.</p><p>About 200 students attend the school, which houses the classrooms from preschool through high school. McCullough also serves as the school's principal. The district is currently the only place with the fastest and most reliable Internet access in town. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 22:18:05 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Christine Streich 30304 at http://kuow.org Life Without Reliable Internet Access Washington Broadband Office Wants Everyone Online http://kuow.org/post/washington-broadband-office-wants-everyone-online <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Frieda Ray from <a href="http://www.commerce.wa.gov/programs/infrastructure/broadband/Pages/default.aspx">Washington State Broadband Office</a> about Internet access and why her office wants every Washingtonian to go online. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 22:16:40 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 30285 at http://kuow.org Washington Broadband Office Wants Everyone Online How Did We Use The Internet, Before The URL? http://kuow.org/post/how-did-we-use-internet-url <p>Steve Scher talks with Janet Abbate, associate professor of <span class="st">Science and Technology In Society </span>at Virginia Tech, about the history and early users of the Internet. Abbate is also the author of, "Inventing the Internet." Mon, 10 Mar 2014 23:08:06 +0000 Steve Scher & Posey Gruener 30310 at http://kuow.org How Did We Use The Internet, Before The URL? The Complicated World Of Kids And Social Media http://kuow.org/post/complicated-world-kids-and-social-media <p>David Hyde talks with author danah boyd (who prefers to write her name in lowercase) about her book "It's Complicated: The Social Lives of Networked Teens" and the misconceptions of online dangers. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 22:56:13 +0000 Arwen Nicks & David Hyde 29767 at http://kuow.org The Complicated World Of Kids And Social Media FCC To Rewrite Net Neutrality Rules http://kuow.org/post/fcc-rewrite-net-neutrality-rules <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Maggie Reardon, senior writer for CNET News, about the Federal Communications Commission's decision to forgo an appeal of the court ruling that <a href="http://kuow.org/post/what-net-neutrality-court-ruling-means-consumers">threw out net neutrality rules</a>. The FCC has announced it will rewrite the existing rules instead.</p><p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 23:34:01 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 29069 at http://kuow.org FCC To Rewrite Net Neutrality Rules Will The Comcast, Time Warner Cable Merger Effect You? http://kuow.org/post/will-comcast-time-warner-cable-merger-effect-you <p>David Hyde talks with Bill Schrier, City of Seattle's former chief technology officer, about the $45 billion merger of Comcast and Time Warner Cable. Tue, 18 Feb 2014 22:37:43 +0000 David Hyde & Amina Al-Sadi 29072 at http://kuow.org Will The Comcast, Time Warner Cable Merger Effect You? Will Comcast Get Federal OK To Buy Time Warner? http://kuow.org/post/will-comcast-get-federal-ok-buy-time-warner <h6>(We put a new top on this story at 9:25 a.m. ET and added an update at 10:15 a.m. ET.)</h6><p>As NPR's David Folkenflik pointed out earlier today, Comcast's proposed $45 billion purchase of fellow cable company Time Warner will receive some scrutiny from federal officials. Here's some more about that part of the story:<p><a href="http://www.politico.com/story/2014/02/comcast-time-warner-cable-deal-103482.html" target="_blank">Politico writes that</a>:<p><blockquote><p>"The acquisition will be subject to government approval — and it is already raising concerns in the industry. Thu, 13 Feb 2014 11:45:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 28714 at http://kuow.org Will Comcast Get Federal OK To Buy Time Warner? What Would You Do If The Feds Were Watching You? http://kuow.org/post/what-would-you-do-if-feds-were-watching-you <em>Part 1 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/265352348/the-end-of-privacy" target="_blank">The End Of Privacy</a>.<p><em>What are your thoughts on privacy? Tell us at <a href="http://huff.to/yourprivacy" target="_blank">huff.to/yourprivacy</a> a special collaboration with TED, NPR and The Huffington Post.</em><p><strong>About Hasan Elahi's TEDTalk</strong><p>When <a href="http://elahi.umd.edu/bio.php" target="_blank">Hasan Elahi</a>'s name was mistakenly added to the U.S. Fri, 31 Jan 2014 17:22:33 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 27997 at http://kuow.org What Would You Do If The Feds Were Watching You? Why Should You Be Worried About NSA Surveillance? http://kuow.org/post/why-should-you-be-worried-about-nsa-surveillance <em>Part 2 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/265352348/the-end-of-privacy" target="_blank">The End Of Privacy</a>.<p><em>What are your thoughts on privacy? Tell us at <a href="http://huff.to/yourprivacy" target="_blank">huff.to/yourprivacy</a> a special collaboration with TED, NPR and The Huffington Post.</em><p><strong>About Mikko Hyppönen's TEDTalk</strong><p>Virtually every international Internet user is being watched, says hacker and cyber security expert <a href="http://mikko.hypponen.com/" target="_blank">Mikko Hyppönen</a>. Fri, 31 Jan 2014 17:22:30 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 27996 at http://kuow.org Why Should You Be Worried About NSA Surveillance? Proposed Bill Would Make 'Revenge Porn' A Felony In Washington http://kuow.org/post/proposed-bill-would-make-revenge-porn-felony-washington <p>Ross Reynolds talks with activist <a href="http://www.charlottelaws.org/">Charlotte Laws</a> about her daughter's experience as a revenge porn victim. Tue, 21 Jan 2014 23:22:47 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 27390 at http://kuow.org Proposed Bill Would Make 'Revenge Porn' A Felony In Washington