movies http://kuow.org en Is Your Entire Life Just a TV Show? http://kuow.org/post/your-entire-life-just-tv-show <p>Ross Reynolds talks with psychologist Joel Gold, who co-authored the book "Suspicious Minds: How Culture Shapes Madness." The book deals in part with the "Truman Show" delusion: a belief that everyone around you is an actor, and you're the star of a TV show.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 21:31:56 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38960 at http://kuow.org Is Your Entire Life Just a TV Show? 'DamNation' Documentary Explores The Snake River Dam Controversy http://kuow.org/post/damnation-documentary-explores-snake-river-dam-controversy <p>Steve Scher talks to&nbsp;the filmmaker Travis Rummell, dam engineer Jim Waddell and Jim Ahern, a Lewiston, Idaho, native,&nbsp; about the new documentary "<a href="http://damnationfilm.com/">DamNation</a>." The film discusses the change in attitudes towards dam and river health.</p><p>http://vimeo.com/41319363 Thu, 05 Jun 2014 22:05:12 +0000 Steve Scher 35867 at http://kuow.org 'DamNation' Documentary Explores The Snake River Dam Controversy Shawn Telford's Tale Of Teens In "BFE" http://kuow.org/post/shawn-telfords-tale-teens-bfe <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Seattle actor Shawn Telford about his first feature film, "BFE."&nbsp; It's the story of disaffected youth in a small Idaho town. The film had its local premier at the Seattle International Film Festival. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 21:42:39 +0000 Marcie Sillman 35757 at http://kuow.org Matt Smith's Last Year With The Nuns http://kuow.org/post/matt-smiths-last-year-nuns <p></p><p>Seattle's Capitol Hill neighborhood is hipster central these days:<strong> </strong>the place to go for the latest in music clubs, trendy restaurants and street style.</p><p>That wasn't always the case. Wed, 21 May 2014 23:32:49 +0000 Marcie Sillman 34836 at http://kuow.org Matt Smith's Last Year With The Nuns 'I Can Love My Neighbor And Punch Him In The Face' http://kuow.org/post/i-can-love-my-neighbor-and-punch-him-face <p>Ross Reynolds interviews Bryan Storkel, the co-director of a new documentary called "Fight Church" about cage fighting Christian ministers, and Preston Hocker, one of those ministers who is known as the "Pastor of Disaster."&nbsp; Fri, 16 May 2014 17:43:55 +0000 Ross Reynolds 34585 at http://kuow.org 'I Can Love My Neighbor And Punch Him In The Face' President Of Pixar And Disney Animation On Fostering Creativity http://kuow.org/post/president-pixar-and-disney-animation-fostering-creativity <p>David Hyde talks to Ed Catmull, the co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios and president of Pixar and Disney animation, about managing creative people and his new book "Creativity Inc: Overcoming The Unseen Forces That Stand In The Way Of True Inspiration." Fri, 09 May 2014 21:34:40 +0000 David Hyde 34183 at http://kuow.org President Of Pixar And Disney Animation On Fostering Creativity But You Can Never Leave: 'The Girl And Death' In A Creepy Hotel http://kuow.org/post/you-can-never-leave-girl-and-death-creepy-hotel At the German hotel where Jos Stelling's <em>The Girl and Death</em> takes place, the guests include everyone from incapacitated men and women patiently awaiting death (the hotel seems to function in part as a makeshift sanatorium) to lively if somewhat unhinged residents given to impromptu performances of <em>Romeo and Juliet</em> monologues in the dining hall. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 18:17:35 +0000 Tomas Hachard 33310 at http://kuow.org But You Can Never Leave: 'The Girl And Death' In A Creepy Hotel Tracing One Life, Lost In The Desert http://kuow.org/post/tracing-one-life-lost-desert <em>Who Is Dayani Cristal?</em> attempts to humanize the many who illegally cross the U.S.-Mexico border by focusing on just one: a corpse found in the lethal Arizona desert with the words "Dayani Cristal" tattooed on his chest. The documentary follows the models of several genres of fictional films: the forensic procedural, the road movie, the man-who-wasn't-there mystery.<p>The results are poignant, yet show the difficulties of applying fiction templates to true stories. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 18:15:24 +0000 Mark Jenkins 33305 at http://kuow.org Tracing One Life, Lost In The Desert In 'Blue Ruin,' Revenge Is Not Served Cool http://kuow.org/post/blue-ruin-revenge-not-served-cool Revenge at the movies is a dish best served not cold, but cool. Homemade justice isn't just meted out by the wronged onscreen; it's delivered with swagger, style, and steely-eyed bad-assery. Michael Caine as Carter, Uma Thurman as The Bride, Charles Bronson as Paul Kersey: These are all individuals who are suave under pressure and look pretty hip to boot, in well-tailored three-piece suits, canary yellow racing leathers, and black leather jackets. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 18:14:38 +0000 Ian Buckwalter 33304 at http://kuow.org In 'Blue Ruin,' Revenge Is Not Served Cool Kristen Wiig Gets Serious For Alice Munro Adaptation http://kuow.org/post/kristen-wiig-gets-serious-alice-munro-adaptation The new film <em>Hateship Loveship</em> was adapted from an <a href="http://www.npr.org/books/authors/137943757/alice-munro">Alice Munro</a> short story and stars <em>Saturday Night Live</em> alumna Kristen Wiig in a performance that's a far cry from her outrageous characters on the comedy show.<p>In it, Wiig plays Johanna, a caretaker in Iowa assigned to help a grandfather, played by Nick Nolte, look after his 14-year-old granddaughter, Sabitha. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 15:40:45 +0000 NPR Staff 32367 at http://kuow.org Kristen Wiig Gets Serious For Alice Munro Adaptation 'Jodorowsky's Dune': The Greatest Film That Never Was http://kuow.org/post/jodorowskys-dune-greatest-film-never-was <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4WWu1kclNDA</p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 16:08:59 +0000 Ian Buckwalter 31016 at http://kuow.org 'Jodorowsky's Dune': The Greatest Film That Never Was Foreign Policy, With A Pugnacious French Twist http://kuow.org/post/foreign-policy-pugnacious-french-twist A frisky tour of the Gallic equivalent of the U.S. State Department, <em>The French Minister</em> boasts robust pacing, screwball-comedy banter and an exuberant central performance. For most American viewers, though, the movie could use footnotes to go with its subtitles.<p>Derived from a graphic novel, the movie observes the travails of Arthur Vlaminck (Raphael Personnaz), a recent graduate of the country's top public-administration college. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 16:08:01 +0000 Mark Jenkins 31015 at http://kuow.org Foreign Policy, With A Pugnacious French Twist A Teen On The Hunt, And Maybe In Over Her Head http://kuow.org/post/teen-hunt-and-maybe-over-her-head Feared and feared for in equal measure, today's teenagers are prisoners of pop and punditry. Branded as bad seeds or delicate flowers, they take shape in the public mind as either neglected or overprotected by their parents, abused by or abusive of the Internet, oversexed or terrified of sex. Is coming of age the pits, or what?<p>Filmmaker Eliza Hittman doesn't shy away from such labels, or from the extremity of the teen years. But she wants to get inside the subjective particularities of the experience, as felt by a fragile 14-year-old. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 16:07:57 +0000 Ella Taylor 31013 at http://kuow.org A Teen On The Hunt, And Maybe In Over Her Head It's Either Art Or A Fire Hose, And We're Calling It The Latter http://kuow.org/post/its-either-art-or-fire-hose-and-were-calling-it-latter <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AuOfpsz9MoM</p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 16:07:50 +0000 Ella Taylor 31012 at http://kuow.org It's Either Art Or A Fire Hose, And We're Calling It The Latter From Action Hero To Teenage Nerd, Shailene Woodley Has Range http://kuow.org/post/action-hero-teenage-nerd-shailene-woodley-has-range "I'm sorry you have to see my pancake face."<p>Those are among Shailene Woodley's first words as she opens the door to a suite in the Beverly Wilshire Hotel. She's got a publicists' luncheon later in the day — otherwise, she explains, under <em>absolutely no condition </em>would she have worn makeup for an interview.<p>Woodley is against makeup. She's against new clothes. But she's a Hollywood starlet whose job it is to mask herself in makeup and couture. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 16:07:37 +0000 Neda Ulaby 31011 at http://kuow.org From Action Hero To Teenage Nerd, Shailene Woodley Has Range