movies http://kuow.org en Kristen Wiig Gets Serious For Alice Munro Adaptation http://kuow.org/post/kristen-wiig-gets-serious-alice-munro-adaptation The new film <em>Hateship Loveship</em> was adapted from an <a href="http://www.npr.org/books/authors/137943757/alice-munro">Alice Munro</a> short story and stars <em>Saturday Night Live</em> alumna Kristen Wiig in a performance that's a far cry from her outrageous characters on the comedy show.<p>In it, Wiig plays Johanna, a caretaker in Iowa assigned to help a grandfather, played by Nick Nolte, look after his 14-year-old granddaughter, Sabitha. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 15:40:45 +0000 NPR Staff 32367 at http://kuow.org Kristen Wiig Gets Serious For Alice Munro Adaptation 'Jodorowsky's Dune': The Greatest Film That Never Was http://kuow.org/post/jodorowskys-dune-greatest-film-never-was <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4WWu1kclNDA</p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 16:08:59 +0000 Ian Buckwalter 31016 at http://kuow.org 'Jodorowsky's Dune': The Greatest Film That Never Was Foreign Policy, With A Pugnacious French Twist http://kuow.org/post/foreign-policy-pugnacious-french-twist A frisky tour of the Gallic equivalent of the U.S. State Department, <em>The French Minister</em> boasts robust pacing, screwball-comedy banter and an exuberant central performance. For most American viewers, though, the movie could use footnotes to go with its subtitles.<p>Derived from a graphic novel, the movie observes the travails of Arthur Vlaminck (Raphael Personnaz), a recent graduate of the country's top public-administration college. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 16:08:01 +0000 Mark Jenkins 31015 at http://kuow.org Foreign Policy, With A Pugnacious French Twist A Teen On The Hunt, And Maybe In Over Her Head http://kuow.org/post/teen-hunt-and-maybe-over-her-head Feared and feared for in equal measure, today's teenagers are prisoners of pop and punditry. Branded as bad seeds or delicate flowers, they take shape in the public mind as either neglected or overprotected by their parents, abused by or abusive of the Internet, oversexed or terrified of sex. Is coming of age the pits, or what?<p>Filmmaker Eliza Hittman doesn't shy away from such labels, or from the extremity of the teen years. But she wants to get inside the subjective particularities of the experience, as felt by a fragile 14-year-old. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 16:07:57 +0000 Ella Taylor 31013 at http://kuow.org A Teen On The Hunt, And Maybe In Over Her Head It's Either Art Or A Fire Hose, And We're Calling It The Latter http://kuow.org/post/its-either-art-or-fire-hose-and-were-calling-it-latter <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AuOfpsz9MoM</p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 16:07:50 +0000 Ella Taylor 31012 at http://kuow.org It's Either Art Or A Fire Hose, And We're Calling It The Latter From Action Hero To Teenage Nerd, Shailene Woodley Has Range http://kuow.org/post/action-hero-teenage-nerd-shailene-woodley-has-range "I'm sorry you have to see my pancake face."<p>Those are among Shailene Woodley's first words as she opens the door to a suite in the Beverly Wilshire Hotel. She's got a publicists' luncheon later in the day — otherwise, she explains, under <em>absolutely no condition </em>would she have worn makeup for an interview.<p>Woodley is against makeup. She's against new clothes. But she's a Hollywood starlet whose job it is to mask herself in makeup and couture. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 16:07:37 +0000 Neda Ulaby 31011 at http://kuow.org From Action Hero To Teenage Nerd, Shailene Woodley Has Range Wes Anderson's New Hotel Proves Pretty Grand Indeed http://kuow.org/post/wes-andersons-new-hotel-proves-pretty-grand-indeed Chances are you've already made up your mind about Wes Anderson. Either you're willing to go with the meticulous symmetry of his dollhouse compositions, the precious tchotchke-filled design sensibility and the stilted formality of his dialogue, or you check out of his storybook worlds in the first five minutes. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 16:51:43 +0000 Ian Buckwalter 30048 at http://kuow.org Wes Anderson's New Hotel Proves Pretty Grand Indeed '300': An Empire Rises, Dripping In Gore And Glamour http://kuow.org/post/300-empire-rises-dripping-gore-and-glamour Talk about meeting cute: The first time they're alone together, the protagonists of <em>300: Rise of an Empire</em> rip each other's clothes off. But then Themistokles (Sullivan Stapleton) and Artemisia (Eva Green) can't decide if they want to make love or war.<p>The other characters in this movie, a superstylized battle epic that doubles as an S&M comedy, suffer no such confusion. They're all primed to mangle, skewer and dismember each other, generally at angles that send red-black CGI blood spurting directly at 3-D-specs-wearing viewers. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 16:51:40 +0000 Mark Jenkins 30049 at http://kuow.org '300': An Empire Rises, Dripping In Gore And Glamour A Meet-Cute Romance With A Delicious Twist http://kuow.org/post/meet-cute-romance-delicious-twist <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ENgWVvQYCxg</p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 16:57:16 +0000 Bob Mondello 29641 at http://kuow.org A Meet-Cute Romance With A Delicious Twist A Legacy Of War, Hitting Home Decades Later In Norway http://kuow.org/post/legacy-war-hitting-home-decades-later-norway Decades after the end of World War II, the partly burned body of a young woman was found in a wooded area near the Norwegian town of Bergen. Her possible connection to a long-simmering Norwegian scandal, one dating back to the war, became the subject of a novel by Hannelore Hippe — and, in turn, of <em>Two Lives</em>, a new thriller loosely based on that novel.<p>The movie, from German filmmaker Georg Maas, speculates indirectly on the woman's identity through another character — Katrine, a middle-aged wife, mother and grandmother with a comfortable life in a scenic Norwegian coast town. Fri, 28 Feb 2014 16:56:57 +0000 Ella Taylor 29640 at http://kuow.org A Legacy Of War, Hitting Home Decades Later In Norway 'Non-Stop': Liam Neeson, Armed And Dangerous Again http://kuow.org/post/non-stop-liam-neeson-armed-and-dangerous-again <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jiHDJ19A3dk</p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 16:56:51 +0000 Ian Buckwalter 29639 at http://kuow.org 'Non-Stop': Liam Neeson, Armed And Dangerous Again Keen Eyes, Uncanny Instincts Keep Films In Sharp Focus http://kuow.org/post/keen-eyes-uncanny-instincts-keep-films-sharp-focus You won't believe it — I didn't — but the person responsible for keeping each and every shot of a movie in focus never looks through a camera lens.<p>"No," says focus puller Baird Steptoe. "We do not look through the camera at all."<p>Steptoe has worked as a first assistant cameraman on films from <em>The Sixth Sense</em> to <em>Thor</em> to last year's <em>Grownups Two.</em> He says he's learned to judge distances — precise distances — with his naked eye alone.<p>"I mean, I can tell you roughly from you to me right now," he says. "I would say about 2-11."<p>Two feet 11 inches, that is. Fri, 28 Feb 2014 16:56:31 +0000 Susan Stamberg 29637 at http://kuow.org Keen Eyes, Uncanny Instincts Keep Films In Sharp Focus How One Winner Changed The Academy Awards http://kuow.org/post/how-one-winner-changed-academy-awards <p>In anticipation for the Oscars this weekend, Steve Scher sat down with <em>Swing Years </em>host Amanda Wilde to discuss the history of the Best Original Song category. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 22:19:03 +0000 Steve Scher & Amanda Wilde 29563 at http://kuow.org How One Winner Changed The Academy Awards 'Calvin & Hobbes' Creator Pens His First Public Comic In 18 Years http://kuow.org/post/calvin-hobbes-creator-pens-his-first-public-comic-18-years Almost two decades after publishing his last <em>Calvin & Hobbes</em> comic strip, elusive cartoonist Bill Watterson is back — with a film poster. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 16:25:27 +0000 Nicole Cohen 29549 at http://kuow.org 'Calvin & Hobbes' Creator Pens His First Public Comic In 18 Years Philip Seymour Hoffman: 'People Need Each Other' http://kuow.org/post/philip-seymour-hoffman-people-need-each-other <p>Actor Philip Seymour Hoffman, who won a Best Actor Oscar for the title role in the 2005 film "Capote," was found dead in his Manhattan apartment on Sunday at age 46. Mon, 03 Feb 2014 17:20:14 +0000 Ross Reynolds 28116 at http://kuow.org Philip Seymour Hoffman: 'People Need Each Other'