football http://kuow.org en Did The U.S. Patent Office Just Mark The End Of Indian Mascots? http://kuow.org/post/did-us-patent-office-just-mark-end-indian-mascots <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Jay Rosenstein, journalism professor and producer of "<a href="http://jayrosenstein.com/pages/honor.html">In Whose Honor?",</a> about the history of Indian mascots and the significance of the U.S. patent's office cancelation of the Washington Redskins' trademark. Wed, 18 Jun 2014 21:51:26 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 36623 at http://kuow.org Did The U.S. Patent Office Just Mark The End Of Indian Mascots? How The First Openly Gay NFL Player Could Open Doors For Others http://kuow.org/post/how-first-openly-gay-nfl-player-could-open-doors-others <p>Ross Reynolds talks with <a href="http://www.thenation.com/authors/dave-zirin">Dave Zirin</a>, sports editor at The Nation, about Michael Sam — the first openly gay football player to be drafted by a National Football League team. Mon, 12 May 2014 22:22:27 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 34326 at http://kuow.org How The First Openly Gay NFL Player Could Open Doors For Others Dave Kopay's Advice To Michael Sam: 'Start Bringing It Like You've Never Brought It Before' http://kuow.org/post/dave-kopays-advice-michael-sam-start-bringing-it-youve-never-brought-it <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with former NFL running back Dave Kopay, who came out as a gay man after his retirement from football, about All-American defensive lineman Michael Sam's announcement that he is gay.</p><p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 06:55:39 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Jason Pagano 28630 at http://kuow.org Dave Kopay's Advice To Michael Sam: 'Start Bringing It Like You've Never Brought It Before' Sen. Maria Cantwell: NFL Needs To Abandon Redskin Name http://kuow.org/post/sen-maria-cantwell-nfl-needs-abandon-redskin-name <p>Ross Reynolds talks with U.S. Senator Maria Cantwell, D-Wash., about her letter to the National Football League urging it to get rid of the <span class="st">Washington Redskins' </span>name. Tue, 11 Feb 2014 22:57:02 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 28585 at http://kuow.org Sen. Maria Cantwell: NFL Needs To Abandon Redskin Name Coming Out Complicates Player's Prospects, NFL Execs Say http://kuow.org/post/coming-out-has-complicated-players-prospects-nfl-execs-say Michael Sam has been a star defensive end at the University of Missouri. Mon, 10 Feb 2014 15:47:59 +0000 Mark Memmott 28497 at http://kuow.org Coming Out Complicates Player's Prospects, NFL Execs Say How To Be A Fan http://kuow.org/post/how-be-fan My son didn't weep when his beloved 49ers lost to the Seahawks in the NFC championship. His team may have been vanquished, but at least there was ground for hope that the Broncos would stop the enemy from winning the Super Bowl.<p>Ah, the ways of love and hate in the world of the fan!<p>When I learned that the British philosopher David Papineau would be teaching in New York City over the next few years, and that he was interested in sports, I knew an intervention would be required. Fri, 31 Jan 2014 17:24:01 +0000 Alva Noë 28000 at http://kuow.org How To Be A Fan In The Puppy Bowl, Bach Goes To The Dogs http://kuow.org/post/puppy-bowl-bach-goes-dogs Not every sports fan is glued to the Super Bowl. Sunday also brings <em>Puppy Bowl X,</em> the 10th iteration of the immensely successful Animal Planet program featuring playful pups and a beleaguered human referee. Fri, 31 Jan 2014 17:23:18 +0000 Mark Mobley 27999 at http://kuow.org In The Puppy Bowl, Bach Goes To The Dogs America's Love Affair With Football Keeps Getting Stronger http://kuow.org/post/americas-love-affair-football-keeps-getting-stronger Football fandom simply overwhelms all other sports in America, growing not just merely super, but superior, from high school right on up to this Sunday's quasi-religious festival — which celebrates our adoration of the sport<em> </em>as much as the sport itself.<p>There are multiple reasons to account for this increased devotion to football, but curiously, there's no balancing diminution in interest in other sports. Baseball may no longer be the national pastime, but it's doing quite well. Sports fandom is not necessarily a zero-sum game. Wed, 29 Jan 2014 16:31:19 +0000 Frank Deford 27841 at http://kuow.org America's Love Affair With Football Keeps Getting Stronger In LA, Sports Bars Face Off Over Seahawks And Broncos http://kuow.org/post/la-sports-bars-face-over-seahawks-and-broncos <p>The Seattle Seahawks and the Denver Broncos will be facing off in New Jersey in Super Bowl XLVIII this weekend. In Los Angeles there will also be a contest, of two rival sports bars. Wed, 29 Jan 2014 15:59:05 +0000 Ben Bergman 27840 at http://kuow.org In LA, Sports Bars Face Off Over Seahawks And Broncos What It's Like To Cover The Super Bowl http://kuow.org/post/what-its-cover-super-bowl <p>David Hyde catches up with Jerry Brewer, Seattle Times columnist and radio host, about what it's like to cover the Super Bowl. Wed, 29 Jan 2014 00:09:30 +0000 David Hyde & Andy Hurst 27784 at http://kuow.org What It's Like To Cover The Super Bowl 5 Football Terms Every Seahawks Fan Should Know http://kuow.org/post/5-football-terms-every-seahawks-fan-should-know <p>Just like learning acronyms at a new workplace, catching on to the Seahawks’ lexicon can be daunting for the uninitiated. Ben Zimmer, linguist and self-described “word nerd,” helps us break down the terms that are flying around as often as a 12<sup>th</sup> Man flag. Tue, 28 Jan 2014 00:19:16 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Steve Scher 27712 at http://kuow.org 5 Football Terms Every Seahawks Fan Should Know Gambling: It May Be Illegal But 'Everyone Likes To Have A Little Action On The Game' http://kuow.org/post/gambling-it-may-be-illegal-everyone-likes-have-little-action-game <p>Super Sunday is big business between ticket sales, television revenue and tourism. But a huge amount of money will also be changing hands based on an activity that is largely illegal: sports gambling. Mon, 27 Jan 2014 22:09:27 +0000 Andy Hurst & Steve Scher 27694 at http://kuow.org Gambling: It May Be Illegal But 'Everyone Likes To Have A Little Action On The Game' Pushback On Richard Sherman Debate: 'He Is The Antithesis Of The Dumb Jock Stereotype' http://kuow.org/post/pushback-richard-sherman-debate-he-antithesis-dumb-jock-stereotype <p>The Seattle Seahawks booked their ticket to the Super Bowl by winning the NFC Championship on Sunday, but not without some controversy.</p><p>When Erin Andrews of Fox Sports grabbed Seattle cornerback Richard Sherman for a post-game interview, he looked right into the camera and said, “I’m the best corner in the game and when you try me against a sorry receiver like Crabtree that’s the results you going to get.” Tue, 21 Jan 2014 22:05:49 +0000 David Hyde & Christine Streich 27401 at http://kuow.org Pushback On Richard Sherman Debate: 'He Is The Antithesis Of The Dumb Jock Stereotype' The NFL: Big Business With Big Tax Breaks http://kuow.org/post/nfl-big-business-big-tax-breaks If you're a football fan, Sunday is kind of like Christmas.<p>Two conference championship games will determine the teams that advance to the Super Bowl, and the matchups couldn't be more exciting: Denver vs. New England (Peyton Manning vs. Tom Brady). And some would say the other game, pitting San Francisco against Seattle, might just feature the two best teams in the league.<p>America shows its love for the sport in many ways beyond breathless anticipation of big games. Sat, 18 Jan 2014 23:36:00 +0000 editor 27303 at http://kuow.org The NFL: Big Business With Big Tax Breaks Seahawks One Win Away From Reaching Super Bowl http://kuow.org/post/seahawks-one-win-away-reaching-super-bowl <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Seattle Times columnist <a href="http://seattletimes.com/html/jerrybrewer/?from=stnv2">Jerry Brewer</a> about the Seattle Seahawks' chances of reaching the Super Bowl. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 23:31:05 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 27168 at http://kuow.org Seahawks One Win Away From Reaching Super Bowl