crime http://kuow.org en Emma Donoghue's New Novel 'Frog Music' http://kuow.org/post/emma-donoghues-new-novel-frog-music <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with writer Emma Donoghue about her new book, "Frog Music." It was inspired by the unsolved 1876 murder of a woman named Jenny Bonnet in San Francisco.</p><p>Donoghue also discusses about how fact inspires her fiction. Her award-winning novel, "Room," was about a 5-year-old boy and his mother who were kept prisoner by their father and husband, respectively, in a backyard shed. The book was based, in small part, on a real life story Donoghue had seen in the news. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 22:34:42 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Arwen Nicks 32509 at http://kuow.org Emma Donoghue's New Novel 'Frog Music' How A Phony Rockefeller Fooled Walter Kirn http://kuow.org/post/how-phony-rockefeller-fooled-walter-kirn <p>Ross Reynolds speaks with novelist Walter Kirn, perhaps best known for book, “Up in the Air."</p><p>Kirn’s latest work reads like fiction, but it’s not. “Blood Will Out: The True Story of a Murder, a Mystery, and a Masquerade” is about Kirn's association with a man who called himself Clark Rockefeller and claimed to be a member of the Rockefeller family — one of the most powerful families in American history.</p><p>It turns out, Clark Rockefeller was not a Rockefeller nor an American. He was a murderer. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 22:04:36 +0000 Ross Reynolds 32143 at http://kuow.org How A Phony Rockefeller Fooled Walter Kirn The Long-Term Consequences Of Teen Gang Memberships http://kuow.org/post/long-term-consequences-teen-gang-memberships <p>Marcie Sillman talks with researcher <a href="http://socialwork.uw.edu/programs/phd/amanda-gilman">Amanda Gilman</a> about the <a href="http://ajph.aphapublications.org/doi/abs/10.2105/AJPH.2013.301821">long-term consequences</a> of teenage gang membership. Gilman is a doctoral candidate in the School of Social Work at the University of Washington. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 21:39:38 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 31478 at http://kuow.org The Long-Term Consequences Of Teen Gang Memberships Report: Pot Cases Plunge After Marijuana Legalization In Washington http://kuow.org/post/report-pot-cases-plunge-after-marijuana-legalization-washington <p>Steve Scher talks with Mark Cooke, policy advocate with the <a href="https://aclu-wa.org/">ACLU of Washington</a>, about the organization's findings that the number of <a href="https://aclu-wa.org/news/court-filings-adult-marijuana-possession-plummet">marijuana possession filings have dropped significantly</a> since Washington legalized pot. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 22:19:34 +0000 Steve Scher & Hannah Burn 30947 at http://kuow.org Report: Pot Cases Plunge After Marijuana Legalization In Washington ‘The Boy Who Shot The Sheriff’ With Nancy Bartley http://kuow.org/post/boy-who-shot-sheriff-nancy-bartley <p>In 1931, Asotin County Sheriff John Wormell was shot and killed by a 12-year-old boy. Herbert Niccolls, Jr., was almost hung by a lynch mob before he was sentenced to life in prison.</p><p>Journalist Nancy Bartley is the author of “The Boy Who Shot the Sheriff: The Redemption of Herbert Niccolls, Jr.” The book reveals Niccolls’ troubled past and early Washington state history. She spoke at the Elliott Bay Book Company on January 7. Thu, 13 Feb 2014 18:47:42 +0000 Rachel Solomon 28393 at http://kuow.org ‘The Boy Who Shot The Sheriff’ With Nancy Bartley Clean Slate For Tribal Fishing Rights Protesters? http://kuow.org/post/clean-slate-tribal-fishing-rights-protesters <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/011414TW_Yanity_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Around 40 to 50 years ago, American Indians in Western Washington were repeatedly arrested during protests over treaty fishing rights.<p> Wed, 15 Jan 2014 19:48:48 +0000 Taylor Winkel 27112 at http://kuow.org Clean Slate For Tribal Fishing Rights Protesters? Security Experts Say Data Thieves Are Getting Harder To Fight http://kuow.org/post/security-experts-say-data-thieves-are-getting-harder-fight The recent disclosure that a large trove of customer information <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/01/10/261365107/target-says-70-million-individuals-data-may-have-been-stolen">was stolen from Target</a>, and now also from Neiman Marcus, points to growing vulnerabilities in cybersecurity. Tue, 14 Jan 2014 08:36:00 +0000 editor 27014 at http://kuow.org Security Experts Say Data Thieves Are Getting Harder To Fight Feds Search Seattle Coach’s Home For Child Porn http://kuow.org/post/feds-search-seattle-coach-s-home-child-porn <p>The US Department of Homeland Security has searched the home of a Seattle coach and substitute teacher at The Bush School for evidence he was producing and distributing child pornography. Fri, 10 Jan 2014 18:50:16 +0000 KUOW Staff 26856 at http://kuow.org Investigated For Tampering, Rape Suspect’s Wife Hired As Magistrate http://kuow.org/post/investigated-tampering-rape-suspect-s-wife-hired-magistrate <p></p><p>A recently released report commissioned by the Seattle City Attorney’s office has found that one of its supervising prosecutors may have violated criminal law and professional rules for attorneys.</p><p>Three months after resigning, that prosecutor, Jennifer Grant, got a temporary job with Seattle Municipal Court as a magistrate. Wed, 08 Jan 2014 18:13:47 +0000 Phyllis Fletcher 26694 at http://kuow.org Investigated For Tampering, Rape Suspect’s Wife Hired As Magistrate The Secret Burglary That Exposed J. Edgar Hoover's FBI http://kuow.org/post/secret-burglary-exposed-j-edgar-hoovers-fbi More than 40 years ago, on the evening of March 8, 1971, a group of burglars carried out an audacious plan. They pried open the door of an FBI office in Pennsylvania and stole files about the bureau's surveillance of anti-war groups and civil rights organizations.<p>Hundreds of agents tried to identify the culprits, but the crime went unsolved. Until now.<p>For the first time, a new book reveals that the burglars were peace demonstrators who wanted to start a debate about the FBI's unchecked power to spy on Americans. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 07:57:00 +0000 Carrie Johnson 26632 at http://kuow.org The Secret Burglary That Exposed J. Edgar Hoover's FBI Fire Burns Historic Seattle Building Where Wah Mee Massacre Took Place http://kuow.org/post/fire-burns-historic-seattle-building-where-wah-mee-massacre-took-place <p></p><p></p><p>Djin Kwie Liem estimates he lost 20,000 fish.</p><p>“Goldfish, koi, tropical fish,” he specified. Fri, 27 Dec 2013 17:38:36 +0000 Phyllis Fletcher 26157 at http://kuow.org Fire Burns Historic Seattle Building Where Wah Mee Massacre Took Place New Year Brings Sobriety Testing For Repeat Drunk Drivers http://kuow.org/post/new-year-brings-sobriety-testing-repeat-drunk-drivers <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/12/122413AJ_DUIMonitoring_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Repeat drunk drivers in Washington who get arrested in the New Year may find themselves ordered to blow into a breathalyzer twice a day.<p> Thu, 26 Dec 2013 17:21:40 +0000 Austin Jenkins 26106 at http://kuow.org New Year Brings Sobriety Testing For Repeat Drunk Drivers Darold Stenson Sentenced To Two Life Terms After Retrial http://kuow.org/post/darold-stenson-sentenced-two-life-terms-after-retrial <p></p><p>Former death row inmate Darold Stenson was sent back to prison yesterday for the murder of&nbsp;his wife, Denise Stenson, and business partner, Frank Hoerner. Wed, 11 Dec 2013 14:46:16 +0000 Patricia Murphy 25301 at http://kuow.org Darold Stenson Sentenced To Two Life Terms After Retrial Seattle Police Say It’s OK To Stop Crime – But Be Safe http://kuow.org/post/seattle-police-say-it-s-ok-stop-crime-be-safe <p>Seattle Police are applauding the efforts of three bus riders who stopped a man robbing fellow passengers at gunpoint.</p><p> Wed, 27 Nov 2013 02:39:14 +0000 Lisa Brooks 24514 at http://kuow.org T'Was The Night Before Thanksgiving When DB Cooper Jumped ... http://kuow.org/post/twas-night-thanksgiving-when-db-cooper-jumped <p>If you don’t know the story of D.B. Cooper, the short version goes like this:</p><p>On Nov. 24, 1971, a man referred to as D.B. Cooper hijacked a Boeing 727 on a flight between Portland, Ore., and Seattle. He extorted $200,000 in ransom, and parachuted from the plane. No one has ever seen him since.<br /> Mon, 25 Nov 2013 20:00:52 +0000 Feliks Banel 24422 at http://kuow.org T'Was The Night Before Thanksgiving When DB Cooper Jumped ...