Vaughn Palmer http://kuow.org en Pot In Vancouver Is Illegal, Barely http://kuow.org/post/pot-vancouver-illegal-barely <p>Ross Reynolds talks to Vancouver Sun columnist Vaughn Palmer about wildfires raging in the Great North. They also discuss Canada's fears over flights to Israel and how scoring a medical marijuana card in Vancouver is as easy as saying as saying, "Ahhh." Wed, 23 Jul 2014 22:56:01 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Shane Mehling 38832 at http://kuow.org Rob Ford's Sobriety Coach Says He Likes To Take 'The Hard Cases' http://kuow.org/post/rob-fords-sobriety-coach-says-he-likes-take-hard-cases <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks to Vancouver Sun reporter Vaughn Palmer about the latest news from Canada: The British Columbia teachers union is still on strike and Rob Ford is back on the campaign trail. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 22:04:36 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 38384 at http://kuow.org Rob Ford's Sobriety Coach Says He Likes To Take 'The Hard Cases' Canadian Pot Tourists: Leave Your Souvenirs In Washington State http://kuow.org/post/canadian-pot-tourists-leave-your-souvenirs-washington-state <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Vaughn Palmer, columnist for the Vancouver Sun, about Canadian pot tourists making their way to Bellingham, Washington. Also they discuss the release of the "Prince Of Pot" from prison and the one-year anniversary of the train crash in Lac-Megnatic, Quebec, that killed 47 people. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:06:33 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 37911 at http://kuow.org Oh Canada! B.C.'s Concerned Over Our Pot Sales And Rob Ford Returns http://kuow.org/post/oh-canada-bcs-concerned-over-our-pot-sales-and-rob-ford-returns <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Vancouver Sun columnist Vaughn Palmer about British Columbia's concerns over our budding pot business. Also, just in time to celebrate Canada Day, Rob Ford comes back from rehab and marches in a parade, only to be heckled by a shirtless jogger. And do you have stereotypes about Canadians? The Ottawa Citizen tried to find out what Canadian cliches work and what were just plain wrong. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 22:20:23 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 37497 at http://kuow.org Canadian Government's Response To Journalist Detained In Egypt http://kuow.org/post/canadian-governments-response-journalist-detained-egypt <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Vaughn Palmer of the Vancouver Sun about the muted response the Canadian government has given to the news that Mohamed Fahmy, a Canadian-Egyptian journalist for Al-Jazeera, has been sentenced to seven years in Egyptian prison.</p><p>Also, Canadian-Americans find they have to pay Affordable Care Act tax, even if they haven't lived in the United States for years. And Vancouver school board approves new gender neutral pronouns but won't change bathroom signs. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 22:13:01 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 37074 at http://kuow.org Canadian PM Harper Approves Northern Gateway Pipeline http://kuow.org/post/canadian-pm-harper-approves-northern-gateway-pipeline <p>Marcie Sillman gets an update on the latest news from Canada with Vancouver Sun columnist Vaughn Palmer, including an update on the Northern Gateway Pipeline and a teacher strike in British Columbia. Wed, 18 Jun 2014 21:51:47 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 36648 at http://kuow.org Canadian PM Harper Approves Northern Gateway Pipeline Washington Lawmakers Push For Sewage Plant In Victoria http://kuow.org/post/washington-lawmakers-push-sewage-plant-victoria <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Vancouver Sun correspondent Vaughn Palmer Washington Governor Jay Inslee and King County Executive Dow Constantine petitioning the government of British Columbia to take action on the sewage plant in Victoria. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 22:13:08 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 36231 at http://kuow.org U.S. Ambassador To Canada Asks For Partnership In Combatting Climate Change http://kuow.org/post/us-ambassador-canada-asks-partnership-combatting-climate-change <p>David Hyde talks to columnist Vaughn Palmer about U.S. Ambassador to Canada Bruce Heyman's request for a partnership between the two countries in combating climate change. Plus, how the U.S. decision on coal-burning power plant affects the coal-port expansion and an update on the Victoria sewage plant. Wed, 04 Jun 2014 22:19:19 +0000 David Hyde & Amina Al-Sadi 35789 at http://kuow.org U.S. Ambassador To Canada Asks For Partnership In Combatting Climate Change Conflict Continues Over Sewage Plant In Victoria http://kuow.org/post/conflict-continues-over-sewage-plant-victoria <p>Steve Scher talks to Vaughn Palmer, Vancouver Sun columnist about the news from Canada. A decades long debate over a sewage plant in Victoria continues this week. Glaciers are melting all over Canada and some could disappear in the next twenty years. And finally, the latest on the teacher labor strike in the British Columbia. Wed, 28 May 2014 23:17:48 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 35375 at http://kuow.org Canada's Middle Class Surpasses U.S. Middle Class http://kuow.org/post/canadas-middle-class-surpasses-us-middle-class <p></p><p>David Hyde talks with Vaughn Palmer, columnist for the Vancouver Sun, about the latest news from Canada. Wed, 30 Apr 2014 23:12:46 +0000 David Hyde & Amina Al-Sadi 33634 at http://kuow.org Canada's Middle Class Surpasses U.S. Middle Class Pipeline Politics, Worker Safety, And Equal Rights Lawsuit http://kuow.org/post/pipeline-politics-worker-safety-and-equal-rights-lawsuit <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with Les Leyne of the Victoria Times Colonist about the town of Kitimat speaking up against the proposed Northern Gateway Pipeline and restoring public trust in workplace safety.</p><p>Leyne also talks about a lawsuit filed in the British Columbia Supreme Court on equal rights against religious freedom at a private evangelical university.</p><p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 23:13:18 +0000 Marcie Sillman 32699 at http://kuow.org Pipeline Politics, Worker Safety, And Equal Rights Lawsuit Quebec's New Premier, Sewage Standoff, And Bill Clinton On Rob Ford http://kuow.org/post/quebecs-new-premier-sewage-standoff-and-bill-clinton-rob-ford <p></p><p>Quebec names Philippe Couillard as its new premier after the general election on April 7, and Vancouver's sewage treatment plans run into some setbacks. Plus, Toronto Mayor Rob Ford gets offered to star in a reality TV show.</p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with Vancouver Sun columnist Vaughn Palmer about the week's big stories from Canada. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 22:11:35 +0000 Ross Reynolds 32302 at http://kuow.org Quebec's New Premier, Sewage Standoff, And Bill Clinton On Rob Ford Elections Controversy, Measles Outbreak, And Trucker Strike Settled http://kuow.org/post/elections-controversy-measles-outbreak-and-trucker-strike-settled <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Vancouver Sun columnist Vaughn Palmer about this week's news from Canada. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 16:56:37 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Jason Pagano 32505 at http://kuow.org Elections Controversy, Measles Outbreak, And Trucker Strike Settled Harper Appointee Benched And Cross-Border Tax Break http://kuow.org/post/harper-appointee-benched-and-cross-border-tax-break <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Vancouver Sun columnist Vaughn Palmer about Prime Minister Stephen Harper's attempt to fill a vacant <span class="st">seat on the Supreme Court of Canada and </span>cross-border shoppers getting a break on their purchases. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 22:41:22 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Jason Pagano 31354 at http://kuow.org Harper Appointee Benched And Cross-Border Tax Break Canada's Harper To Kiev, Port Truckers Strike, And Quebec Secession http://kuow.org/post/canadas-harper-kiev-port-truckers-strike-and-quebec-secession <p>David Hyde talks with Vancouver Sun columnist Vaughn Palmer about Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper's upcoming visit to Ukraine while truckers continue to strike at Port Metro Vancouver. Vaughn also has the latest update in the Quebec elections. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 23:31:44 +0000 David Hyde & Jason Pagano 30885 at http://kuow.org Canada's Harper To Kiev, Port Truckers Strike, And Quebec Secession