Vaughn Palmer http://kuow.org en Pipeline Politics, Worker Safety, And Equal Rights Lawsuit http://kuow.org/post/pipeline-politics-worker-safety-and-equal-rights-lawsuit <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with Les Leyne of the Victoria Times Colonist about the town of Kitimat speaking up against the proposed Northern Gateway Pipeline and restoring public trust in workplace safety.</p><p>Leyne also talks about a lawsuit filed in the British Columbia Supreme Court on equal rights against religious freedom at a private evangelical university.</p><p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 23:13:18 +0000 Marcie Sillman 32699 at http://kuow.org Pipeline Politics, Worker Safety, And Equal Rights Lawsuit Quebec's New Premier, Sewage Standoff, And Bill Clinton On Rob Ford http://kuow.org/post/quebecs-new-premier-sewage-standoff-and-bill-clinton-rob-ford <p></p><p>Quebec names Philippe Couillard as its new premier after the general election on April 7, and Vancouver's sewage treatment plans run into some setbacks. Plus, Toronto Mayor Rob Ford gets offered to star in a reality TV show.</p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with Vancouver Sun columnist Vaughn Palmer about the week's big stories from Canada. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 22:11:35 +0000 Ross Reynolds 32302 at http://kuow.org Quebec's New Premier, Sewage Standoff, And Bill Clinton On Rob Ford Elections Controversy, Measles Outbreak, And Trucker Strike Settled http://kuow.org/post/elections-controversy-measles-outbreak-and-trucker-strike-settled <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Vancouver Sun columnist Vaughn Palmer about this week's news from Canada. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 16:56:37 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Jason Pagano 32505 at http://kuow.org Elections Controversy, Measles Outbreak, And Trucker Strike Settled Harper Appointee Benched And Cross-Border Tax Break http://kuow.org/post/harper-appointee-benched-and-cross-border-tax-break <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Vancouver Sun columnist Vaughn Palmer about Prime Minister Stephen Harper's attempt to fill a vacant <span class="st">seat on the Supreme Court of Canada and </span>cross-border shoppers getting a break on their purchases. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 22:41:22 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Jason Pagano 31354 at http://kuow.org Harper Appointee Benched And Cross-Border Tax Break Canada's Harper To Kiev, Port Truckers Strike, And Quebec Secession http://kuow.org/post/canadas-harper-kiev-port-truckers-strike-and-quebec-secession <p>David Hyde talks with Vancouver Sun columnist Vaughn Palmer about Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper's upcoming visit to Ukraine while truckers continue to strike at Port Metro Vancouver. Vaughn also has the latest update in the Quebec elections. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 23:31:44 +0000 David Hyde & Jason Pagano 30885 at http://kuow.org Canada's Harper To Kiev, Port Truckers Strike, And Quebec Secession Quebec's Media Mogul, South Korean Trade Pact, And Victoria's Sewage Plan http://kuow.org/post/quebecs-media-mogul-south-korean-trade-pact-and-victorias-sewage-plan <p>Steve Scher talks with Vancouver Sun columnist Vaughn Palmer about Canadian media mogul, Pierre Karl Péladeau, throwing in his lot with the separatists. Canada also signs free trade agreement with South Korea, and Palmer updates us on Victoria’s latest plan to build its sewage treatment plant. Wed, 12 Mar 2014 23:16:40 +0000 Steve Scher & Jason Pagano 30415 at http://kuow.org Quebec's Media Mogul, South Korean Trade Pact, And Victoria's Sewage Plan Canada's Ukrainians, Water Wars, And Rob Ford Does Late Night http://kuow.org/post/canadas-ukrainians-water-wars-and-rob-ford-does-late-night <p>Steve Scher talks with Vancouver Sun columnist <a href="https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&amp;rct=j&amp;q=&amp;esrc=s&amp;source=web&amp;cd=1&amp;cad=rja&amp;uact=8&amp;ved=0CCYQFjAA&amp;url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.vancouversun.com%2Fcolumnists%2Fvaughn_palmer.html&amp;ei=u60XU5HFHs-GogS4w4HACQ&amp;usg=AFQjCNGTDeDQ2yQgAbtDJvxT1Ro8S2Hx2w&amp;bvm=bv.62577051,d.cGU">Vaughn Palmer</a> about this week's news from Canada, including a reaction from Canadian-Ukrainians to the crisis in Ukraine, and Rob Ford's stint on <em>Jimmy Kimmel Live</em>. Wed, 05 Mar 2014 23:58:45 +0000 Steve Scher 29934 at http://kuow.org Canada's Ukrainians, Water Wars, And Rob Ford Does Late Night North American Energy Rivalry, Tax Data, And Olympic Gold http://kuow.org/post/north-american-energy-rivalry-tax-data-and-olympic-gold <p>Steve Scher talks with Vancouver Sun columnist <a href="https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&amp;rct=j&amp;q=&amp;esrc=s&amp;source=web&amp;cd=4&amp;cad=rja&amp;ved=0CDAQFjAD&amp;url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.vancouversun.com%2Fcolumnists%2Fvaughn_palmer.html&amp;ei=mJ8GU8yrOc_zoASapYLgAQ&amp;usg=AFQjCNGTDeDQ2yQgAbtDJvxT1Ro8S2Hx2w&amp;sig2=zI_opXLs4iGCelBu2N_C9g&amp;bvm=bv.61725948,d.cGU">Vaughn Palmer</a> about the week's big stories from Canada. Wed, 26 Feb 2014 17:38:43 +0000 Steve Scher & Jason Pagano 29564 at http://kuow.org North American Energy Rivalry, Tax Data, And Olympic Gold Canadian Embassy In Ukraine Closes, NAFTA Summit, And Sochi Olympics http://kuow.org/post/canadian-embassy-ukraine-closes-nafta-summit-and-sochi-olympics <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Vancouver Sun columnist <a href="https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&amp;rct=j&amp;q=&amp;esrc=s&amp;source=web&amp;cd=4&amp;cad=rja&amp;ved=0CDAQFjAD&amp;url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.vancouversun.com%2Fcolumnists%2Fvaughn_palmer.html&amp;ei=mJ8GU8yrOc_zoASapYLgAQ&amp;usg=AFQjCNGTDeDQ2yQgAbtDJvxT1Ro8S2Hx2w&amp;sig2=zI_opXLs4iGCelBu2N_C9g&amp;bvm=bv.61725948,d.cGU">Vaughn Palmer</a> about the week's big stories from Canada. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 17:25:50 +0000 Ross Reynolds 29163 at http://kuow.org Canadian Embassy In Ukraine Closes, NAFTA Summit, And Sochi Olympics Canadian Olympians Mining For Gold In Sochi http://kuow.org/post/canadian-olympians-mining-gold-sochi <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Vancouver Sun columnist <a href="http://www.vancouversun.com/columnists/Vaughn_Palmer.html">Vaughn Palmer</a> about how Team Canada is faring at the 2014 Winter Olympic in Sochi, Russia. Wed, 12 Feb 2014 19:50:57 +0000 Jason Pagano & Marcie Sillman 28736 at http://kuow.org Canadian Olympians Mining For Gold In Sochi Supporters, Opponents Of Keystone Pipeline Make Hay Out Of State Department Report http://kuow.org/post/supporters-opponents-keystone-pipeline-make-hay-out-state-department-report <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Vancouver Sun columnist Vaughn Palmer about the State Department's latest report on the proposed Keystone XL oil pipeline. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 23:35:27 +0000 Marcie Sillman 28359 at http://kuow.org Supporters, Opponents Of Keystone Pipeline Make Hay Out Of State Department Report Keystone, Winter Olympics, And Seahawks Fever http://kuow.org/post/keystone-winter-olympics-and-seahawks-fever <p>David Hyde talks with Vancouver Sun columnist Vaughn Palmer about an ad blasting Prime Minister Stephen Harper during the State of the Union, the upcoming Winter Olympics and Seahawks fever spreading north of the border. Wed, 29 Jan 2014 15:43:40 +0000 David Hyde & Jason Pagano 27877 at http://kuow.org Keystone, Winter Olympics, And Seahawks Fever Harper Abroad, Dollar Woes, And Another Rob Ford Event http://kuow.org/post/harper-abroad-dollar-woes-and-another-rob-ford-event <p>David Hyde talks with Vancouver Sun columnist <a href="http://www.vancouversun.com/columnists/vaughn_palmer.html">Vaughn Palmer</a> about Prime Minister Stephen Harper's recent trip to Israel, troubles for the Canadian dollar and Toronto Mayor Rob Ford's latest video. Thu, 23 Jan 2014 00:09:12 +0000 David Hyde & Jason Pagano 27466 at http://kuow.org Harper Abroad, Dollar Woes, And Another Rob Ford Event Another Crude Oil Freight Train Derails In Canada http://kuow.org/post/another-crude-oil-freight-train-derails-canada <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Vancouver Sun columnist Vaughn Palmer regarding the latest news from Canada. Wed, 08 Jan 2014 18:47:07 +0000 Ross Reynolds & David Hyde 27240 at http://kuow.org Officials Weigh Proposed Pipeline Expansion In B.C. http://kuow.org/post/officials-weigh-proposed-pipeline-expansion-bc <p>David Hyde talks with Vancouver Sun columnist <a href="http://www.vancouversun.com/columnists/Vaughn_Palmer.html">Vaughn Palmer</a>&nbsp;about plans for a second pipeline carrying heavy oil from Alberta to the West Coast. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 00:55:11 +0000 David Hyde & Jason Pagano 25742 at http://kuow.org