Middle East http://kuow.org en A Look At America's Middle East Foreign Policy Over The Last 70 Years http://kuow.org/post/look-americas-middle-east-foreign-policy-over-last-70-years <p>Steve Scher talks to University of Washington professor Joel Migdal about his new book "Shifting Sands: The United States and The Middle East." Thu, 01 May 2014 22:07:48 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 33714 at http://kuow.org A Look At America's Middle East Foreign Policy Over The Last 70 Years A Biography Of The Prophet Muhammad http://kuow.org/post/biography-prophet-muhammad <p>Steve Scher sits down with writer Leslie Hazelton to talk about her book, "The First Muslim: The Story of Muhammad."</p><p><a href="http://kuow.org/post/lesley-hazleton-story-muhammad"><em>This interview originally aired on January 24, 2013.</em></a> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 23:58:29 +0000 Steve Scher & Christine Streich 28150 at http://kuow.org A Biography Of The Prophet Muhammad What Sprouted In The Arab Spring? http://kuow.org/post/what-sprouted-arab-spring <p>Marcie Sillman interviews Thanassis Cambanis about his <a href="http://thanassiscambanis.com/2013/10/29/what-sprouted-in-the-arab-revolts/">reasons for optimism</a> in the Middle East despite the crackdowns by repressive regimes following the Arab Spring. Thu, 07 Nov 2013 23:07:03 +0000 Marcie Sillman & David Hyde 23434 at http://kuow.org What Sprouted In The Arab Spring? Saudi Arabia's Influence In Syria And The Middle East http://kuow.org/post/saudi-arabias-influence-syria-and-middle-east <p>Steve Scher discusses the changing relationship between Saudi Arabia and the United States with Frederic Wehrey, senior associate in the Middle East Program at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. Tue, 29 Oct 2013 22:36:15 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 22866 at http://kuow.org Saudi Arabia's Influence In Syria And The Middle East Barack Obama, Larry Wilmore And The Shia-Sunni Split http://kuow.org/post/barack-obama-larry-wilmore-and-shia-sunni-split <p><strong>Before He Was President: Senator Barack Obama</strong></p><p></p><p>President Barack Obama is currently in his fifth year in the White House. Before he was president, then-Senator Barack Obama visited KUOW. Steve Scher talked with Obama about the war in Iraq, US-Russia relations and the Democratic Party.</p><p></p><p><strong>The Daily Show's Senior Black Correspondent: Larry Wilmore</strong></p><p></p><p>Larry Wilmore is <a href="http://www.thedailyshow.com/watch/thu-november-6-2008/black-liberal-guilt">The Daily Show’s Senior Black Correspondent</a>. He’s the author of "I'd Rather We Got Casinos and Other Black Thoughts," and he’s also written for “The Bernie Mac Show,” “The Office” and “The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air.” Steve Scher talked with Larry Wilmore in 2009 about the election of President Obama, the line between satire and compassion and more.</p><p></p><p><strong>The Story Behind The Shia-Sunni Split</strong></p><p></p><p>You've likely heard of the Shia-Sunni split in the Middle East but what caused the split? British journalist Lesley Hazleton explores the stories behind the schism: from assassinations, to a favored wife, to bloody battlefields. Marcie Sillman talks with Lesley Hazleton about the roots of this centuries-old divide.</p><p> Fri, 30 Aug 2013 13:00:00 +0000 weekday 18679 at http://kuow.org Greendays Gardening: Open Phones http://kuow.org/post/greendays-gardening-open-phones <p></p><p>The weather just keeps getting wetter. Is your garden ready for winter? <a href="http://digginfood.com/">Willi Galloway</a> and <a href="http://debraprinzing.com/">Debra Prinzing</a> join us to answer your gardening questions. &nbsp;Call us at 206.543.5869 or write to&nbsp;<a href="mailto:weekday@kuow.org">weekday@kuow.org</a>.</p><p> Tue, 20 Nov 2012 18:00:00 +0000 Steve Scher 3821 at http://kuow.org Greendays Gardening: Open Phones