teacher evaluations http://kuow.org en Superintendent Randy Dorn On Meeting Federal Evaluation Standards http://kuow.org/post/superintendent-randy-dorn-meeting-federal-evaluation-standards <p>David Hyde talks with State Superintendent Randy Dorn about meeting federal teacher evaluation requirements and why Washington might lose their waiver from the No Child Left Behind law. Tue, 03 Dec 2013 22:53:46 +0000 David Hyde & Christine Streich 24851 at http://kuow.org Superintendent Randy Dorn On Meeting Federal Evaluation Standards State Schools Chief Asks Legislature For Another $544M http://kuow.org/post/state-schools-chief-asks-legislature-another-544m <p></p><p>Washington state Superintendent of Public Instruction Randy Dorn is calling on the Legislature to add more than half a billion dollars for K-12 education over the next two years. Wed, 13 Nov 2013 02:39:47 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 23722 at http://kuow.org State Schools Chief Asks Legislature For Another $544M Seattle Teachers Agree To New Contract On Eve Of First Day Of School http://kuow.org/post/seattle-teachers-agree-new-contract-eve-first-day-school <p><strong>UPDATE: 9/4/13, 10:31 a.m. PT</strong></p><p>About 1,800 teachers cast their votes in the Seattle Education Association general membership meeting at Benaroya Hall. Members voted first by voice, then by standing to clarify the count. One member moved to call for a ballot count, but there wasn't enough support from fellow members. Teachers present estimated that at least 60 percent of the votes were in favor of the contract.</p> Wed, 04 Sep 2013 03:09:47 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 19659 at http://kuow.org Seattle Teachers Agree To New Contract On Eve Of First Day Of School “Fighting To Put Students First” With Michelle Rhee http://kuow.org/post/fighting-put-students-first-michelle-rhee <p>As the chancellor of Washington, DC, public schools in 2007, implemented a variety of changes that made her a controversial figure in the education reform movement. Fri, 22 Mar 2013 03:00:00 +0000 Rachel Solomon 9832 at http://kuow.org “Fighting To Put Students First” With Michelle Rhee Seattle Public Schools Releases Snapshot Of Teachers' Student Growth Ratings http://kuow.org/post/seattle-public-schools-releases-snapshot-teachers-student-growth-ratings <p>Seattle Public Schools has released new aggregate student growth ratings that will be now used as part of some teachers' <a href="http://www.seattleschools.org/modules/cms/pages.phtml?sessionid=&amp;pageid=235204">evaluations</a>. The ratings reflect how students did on state and district tests from one year to the next and factor in students' poverty levels, learning disabilities and English language proficiencies.</p> Wed, 21 Nov 2012 01:51:53 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 3939 at http://kuow.org Seattle Public Schools Releases Snapshot Of Teachers' Student Growth Ratings Seattle Releases First Teacher Ratings Based On Student Performance http://kuow.org/post/seattle-releases-first-teacher-ratings-based-student-performance <p></p><p><font size="3">Many teachers in Seattle Public Schools will learn today how they rank on a new scale <font size="3">based on</font> student performance. </font><font size="3">They’ll be rated by how their students’ test scores changed from one year to the next. </font><font size="3">Teachers with high ratings may qualify for bonuses or promotions. </font><font size="3">Teachers with low ratings will get closer oversight.</font></p><p> Fri, 16 Nov 2012 15:41:03 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 3679 at http://kuow.org