obituary http://kuow.org en Friend, Deputy Remember Former Mayor Paul Schell http://kuow.org/post/friend-deputy-remember-former-mayor-paul-schell <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Seattle Chamber of Commerce Acting CEO&nbsp;<a href="http://www.seattlechamber.com/news/pressroom/presskit/mauddaudon.aspx">Maud Daudon</a>&nbsp;about former Seattle Mayor Paul Schell. Daudon&nbsp;served as <span style="line-height: 1.5;">deputy mayor and chief of staff under Schell from 1998 to 2001.</span> In addition, Ross discusses Schell’s legacy with David Brewster, founder of the Seattle Weekly, who was a personal friend. Schell died Sunday at the age of 76. Mon, 28 Jul 2014 21:38:28 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst & Matthew Streib 39086 at http://kuow.org Margot Adler, An NPR Journalist For Three Decades, Dies http://kuow.org/post/margot-adler-npr-journalist-three-decades-dies Margot Adler, one of the signature voices on NPR's airwaves for more than three decades, died Monday at her home in New York City. She was 68 and had been battling cancer.<p>Margot joined the NPR staff as a general assignment reporter in 1979. She went on to cover everything from the beginnings of the AIDS epidemic to confrontations involving the Ku Klux Klan in Greensboro, N.C., to the terrorist attacks of Sept. 11, 2001.<p>"Her reporting was singular and her voice distinct," Margaret Low Smith, NPR's vice president for news, said in an announcement to staff. Mon, 28 Jul 2014 18:17:00 +0000 editor 39078 at http://kuow.org Margot Adler, An NPR Journalist For Three Decades, Dies Paul Schell, Innkeeper And Former Seattle Mayor, Dies At 76 http://kuow.org/post/paul-schell-innkeeper-and-former-seattle-mayor-dies-76 <p>He is the reason fish fly at the Pike Place Market, or so the story goes.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">On Sunday, Paul Schell, a former Seattle mayor and champion of urban neighborhoods, died. He was 76.</span></p><p>A spokeswoman for Mayor Ed Murray confirmed that Schell died at Swedish Hospital.</p><p> Sun, 27 Jul 2014 19:16:34 +0000 Isolde Raftery & Lisa Brooks 39033 at http://kuow.org Paul Schell, Innkeeper And Former Seattle Mayor, Dies At 76 Jini Dellaccio, The 'Unlikely Rock Photographer,' Dies At 97 http://kuow.org/post/jini-dellaccio-unlikely-rock-photographer-dies-97 <p></p><p></p><p>Local photographer Jini Dellaccio died last week. She was 97.</p><p>Jini was best known for her images of the Pacific Northwest music scene in the 1960s. But Jini came to photography later in life. She was a musician first, a homemaker and a painter. She didn't even pick up a camera until she was in her 40s. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 23:21:24 +0000 Marcie Sillman 37859 at http://kuow.org Jini Dellaccio, The 'Unlikely Rock Photographer,' Dies At 97 Local Artists Remember Maya Angelou's Impact On Their Lives, Work http://kuow.org/post/local-artists-remember-maya-angelous-impact-their-lives-work <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Colleen McElroy and Jen Marlowe about the legacy and impact of Dr. Maya Angelou on their lives.</p><p>McElroy is a writer and lecturer emeritus at the University of Washington. Marlowe is a Seattle writer and activist. Wed, 28 May 2014 23:09:25 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 35365 at http://kuow.org Local Artists Remember Maya Angelou's Impact On Their Lives, Work Maya Angelou, Poet, Activist And Singular Storyteller, Dies At 86 http://kuow.org/post/maya-angelou-poet-activist-and-singular-storyteller-dies-86 Poet, performer and political activist Maya Angelou has died after a long illness at her home in Winston-Salem, N.C. She was 86. Born in St. Louis in 1928, Angelou grew up in a segregated society that she worked to change during the civil rights era. Angelou, who refused to speak for much of her childhood, revealed the scars of her past in <em>I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings</em>, the first of a series of memoirs.<p>Growing up in St. Louis, Mo., and Stamps, Ark., she was Marguerite Johnson. It was her brother who first called her Maya, and the name stuck. Wed, 28 May 2014 14:06:00 +0000 Lynn Neary 35336 at http://kuow.org Maya Angelou, Poet, Activist And Singular Storyteller, Dies At 86 Jerry Manning, Seattle Rep Artistic Director, Dies Suddenly http://kuow.org/post/jerry-manning-seattle-rep-artistic-director-dies-suddenly <p></p><p>Jerry Manning, the artistic leader of Seattle Repertory Theatre, died suddenly on Wednesday following complications from a routine surgery in March,<a href="http://www.seattlerep.org/about/jerry?WH1"> according to a news release from the theater</a>. He was 58. Thu, 01 May 2014 22:37:25 +0000 Marcie Sillman 33709 at http://kuow.org Jerry Manning, Seattle Rep Artistic Director, Dies Suddenly Writer Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Who Gave Voice To Latin America, Dies http://kuow.org/post/writer-gabriel-garcia-marquez-who-gave-voice-latin-america-dies Latin American author Gabriel Garcia Marquez, who won the Nobel Prize in literature in 1982, died Thursday. He was 87. Garcia Marquez, the master of a style known as magic realism, was and remains Latin America's best-known writer.<p>His novels were filled with miraculous and enchanting events and characters; love and madness; wars, politics, dreams and death. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 21:30:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 32770 at http://kuow.org Writer Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Who Gave Voice To Latin America, Dies Remembering Chad Kellogg: 'It Was An Honor To Climb With Him' http://kuow.org/post/remembering-chad-kellogg-it-was-honor-climb-him <p></p><p>Last Friday, mountaineer legend Chad Kellogg was killed climbing Mount Fitz Roy in Argentina.</p><p>His death has been a blow to the local climbing community. Tue, 18 Feb 2014 22:55:15 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 29000 at http://kuow.org Remembering Chad Kellogg: 'It Was An Honor To Climb With Him' From The Archives: Norman Durkee On Art That Never Aired http://kuow.org/post/archives-norman-durkee-art-never-aired <p>In 1985, KUOW’s Marcia Alvar interviewed Norman Durkee, the longtime music director of Teatro Zinzanni, the over-the-top musical theater production held in a tent on lower Queen Anne. Durkee died on Sunday at the age of 65.</p><p>Durkee, a soft-spoken man with a long white beard, had a long career in jazz, classical and rock music, including playing the piano part on Bachman Turner Overdrive’s song, “Takin’ Care of Business.” He also did a stint making ads in Los Angeles, where his creative impulses didn’t always meet the approval of the businesses that hired him.</p><p> Sat, 18 Jan 2014 00:50:15 +0000 Record Staff 27260 at http://kuow.org From The Archives: Norman Durkee On Art That Never Aired William Booker, Tuskegee Airman From Kirkland, Dies At 90 http://kuow.org/post/william-booker-tuskegee-airman-kirkland-dies-90 <p>William Booker, a bomber with the Tuskegee Airmen, never complained.</p><p>He didn't complain about being pushed from town to town – from Texas to Florida, to Michigan, to Indiana and to Kentucky – because whites didn’t want black troops stationed near their homes. Nor did he complain about being segregated from other fighter squadrons. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 20:39:04 +0000 Jamala Henderson 25450 at http://kuow.org William Booker, Tuskegee Airman From Kirkland, Dies At 90 Nelson Mandela, South Africa's 'Greatest Son,' Dies At 95 http://kuow.org/post/nelson-mandela-south-africas-greatest-son-dies-95 <p></p><p></p><p>Nelson Mandela, South Africa's first black president and anti-apartheid icon has died, according to South Africa President Jacob Zuma. He was 95. Fri, 06 Dec 2013 15:15:29 +0000 The Associated Press and BBC 24982 at http://kuow.org Nelson Mandela, South Africa's 'Greatest Son,' Dies At 95 Lou Reed, Beloved Contrarian, Dies http://kuow.org/post/lou-reed-beloved-contrarian-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ffr0opfm6I4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0KaWSOlASWc</p> Sun, 27 Oct 2013 19:47:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 22762 at http://kuow.org Lou Reed, Beloved Contrarian, Dies Toby Saks, Founder Of Seattle Chamber Music Society, Dead At 71 http://kuow.org/post/toby-saks-founder-seattle-chamber-music-society-dead-71 <p>The Seattle classical music community lost one of its most respected leaders Thursday. Toby Saks was a cellist, music professor at the University of Washington and the founder of the Seattle Chamber Music Society. Her death at age 71 from pancreatic cancer came just after the completion of the annual summer festival that she has overseen for more than 30 years.</p><p> Fri, 02 Aug 2013 01:04:26 +0000 Dave Beck 17830 at http://kuow.org The Legacy Of Kip Tokuda http://kuow.org/post/legacy-kip-tokuda <p><strong>&nbsp;&nbsp;</strong>Former State Legislator Kip Tokuda passed away this weekend. The South Seattle Democrat served four terms in the House of Representatives. He was a champion for Asian-American rights, co-founding the <a href="http://aclfnorthwest.org/">Asian Pacific Islander Community Leadership Foundation</a> to encourage young people for leadership roles in politics and nonprofit organizations. Ross Reynolds discusses his legacy with Jill NiShii, a longtime friend and former mentee of Tokuda.</p><p> Tue, 16 Jul 2013 17:54:14 +0000 the conversation with ross reynolds 16793 at http://kuow.org