obituary http://kuow.org en Writer Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Who Gave Voice To Latin America, Dies http://kuow.org/post/writer-gabriel-garcia-marquez-who-gave-voice-latin-america-dies Latin American author Gabriel Garcia Marquez, who won the Nobel Prize in literature in 1982, died Thursday. He was 87. Garcia Marquez, the master of a style known as magic realism, was and remains Latin America's best-known writer.<p>His novels were filled with miraculous and enchanting events and characters; love and madness; wars, politics, dreams and death. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 21:30:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 32770 at http://kuow.org Writer Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Who Gave Voice To Latin America, Dies Remembering Chad Kellogg: 'It Was An Honor To Climb With Him' http://kuow.org/post/remembering-chad-kellogg-it-was-honor-climb-him <p></p><p>Last Friday, mountaineer legend Chad Kellogg was killed climbing Mount Fitz Roy in Argentina.</p><p>His death has been a blow to the local climbing community. Tue, 18 Feb 2014 22:55:15 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 29000 at http://kuow.org Remembering Chad Kellogg: 'It Was An Honor To Climb With Him' From The Archives: Norman Durkee On Art That Never Aired http://kuow.org/post/archives-norman-durkee-art-never-aired <p>In 1985, KUOW’s Marcia Alvar interviewed Norman Durkee, the longtime music director of Teatro Zinzanni, the over-the-top musical theater production held in a tent on lower Queen Anne. Durkee died on Sunday at the age of 65.</p><p>Durkee, a soft-spoken man with a long white beard, had a long career in jazz, classical and rock music, including playing the piano part on Bachman Turner Overdrive’s song, “Takin’ Care of Business.” He also did a stint making ads in Los Angeles, where his creative impulses didn’t always meet the approval of the businesses that hired him.</p><p> Sat, 18 Jan 2014 00:50:15 +0000 Record Staff 27260 at http://kuow.org From The Archives: Norman Durkee On Art That Never Aired William Booker, Tuskegee Airman From Kirkland, Dies At 90 http://kuow.org/post/william-booker-tuskegee-airman-kirkland-dies-90 <p>William Booker, a bomber with the Tuskegee Airmen, never complained.</p><p>He didn't complain about being pushed from town to town – from Texas to Florida, to Michigan, to Indiana and to Kentucky – because whites didn’t want black troops stationed near their homes. Nor did he complain about being segregated from other fighter squadrons. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 20:39:04 +0000 Jamala Henderson 25450 at http://kuow.org William Booker, Tuskegee Airman From Kirkland, Dies At 90 Nelson Mandela, South Africa's 'Greatest Son,' Dies At 95 http://kuow.org/post/nelson-mandela-south-africas-greatest-son-dies-95 <p></p><p></p><p>Nelson Mandela, South Africa's first black president and anti-apartheid icon has died, according to South Africa President Jacob Zuma. He was 95. Fri, 06 Dec 2013 15:15:29 +0000 The Associated Press and BBC 24982 at http://kuow.org Nelson Mandela, South Africa's 'Greatest Son,' Dies At 95 Lou Reed, Beloved Contrarian, Dies http://kuow.org/post/lou-reed-beloved-contrarian-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ffr0opfm6I4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0KaWSOlASWc</p> Sun, 27 Oct 2013 19:47:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 22762 at http://kuow.org Lou Reed, Beloved Contrarian, Dies Toby Saks, Founder Of Seattle Chamber Music Society, Dead At 71 http://kuow.org/post/toby-saks-founder-seattle-chamber-music-society-dead-71 <p>The Seattle classical music community lost one of its most respected leaders Thursday. Toby Saks was a cellist, music professor at the University of Washington and the founder of the Seattle Chamber Music Society. Her death at age 71 from pancreatic cancer came just after the completion of the annual summer festival that she has overseen for more than 30 years.</p><p> Fri, 02 Aug 2013 01:04:26 +0000 Dave Beck 17830 at http://kuow.org The Legacy Of Kip Tokuda http://kuow.org/post/legacy-kip-tokuda <p><strong>&nbsp;&nbsp;</strong>Former State Legislator Kip Tokuda passed away this weekend. The South Seattle Democrat served four terms in the House of Representatives. He was a champion for Asian-American rights, co-founding the <a href="http://aclfnorthwest.org/">Asian Pacific Islander Community Leadership Foundation</a> to encourage young people for leadership roles in politics and nonprofit organizations. Ross Reynolds discusses his legacy with Jill NiShii, a longtime friend and former mentee of Tokuda.</p><p> Tue, 16 Jul 2013 17:54:14 +0000 the conversation with ross reynolds 16793 at http://kuow.org Long-Time Seattle Community Leader Kip Tokuda Dies http://kuow.org/post/long-time-seattle-community-leader-kip-tokuda-dies <p>A prominent leader in Seattle's Asian-American community has died.</p><p>Kip Tokuda passed away suddenly, according to a statement from his family. He was 66 years old.</p><p> Tue, 16 Jul 2013 01:07:15 +0000 Deborah Wang 16758 at http://kuow.org Long-Time Seattle Community Leader Kip Tokuda Dies Pacific Northwest Pioneer Descendant Brewster Denny Dead at 88 http://kuow.org/post/pacific-northwest-pioneer-descendant-brewster-denny-dead-88 <p>Seattle pioneer descendant Brewster Denny passed away this past Saturday from natural causes. He was 88 years old.&nbsp; Denny spent much of his life as a champion of local history, and for many, he was a living embodiment of Seattle’s pioneer era.<br> Wed, 26 Jun 2013 00:14:42 +0000 Feliks Banel 15588 at http://kuow.org Pacific Northwest Pioneer Descendant Brewster Denny Dead at 88 Cheryl Chow, Educator And Politician Dies At 66 http://kuow.org/post/cheryl-chow-educator-and-politician-dies-66 <p>Cheryl Chow died Friday. Chow served on the Seattle City Council and the Seattle School Board. She grew up in Seattle and had also worked as a teacher, a principal and an assistant director for Girl Scouts of Western Washington.</p><p> Sat, 30 Mar 2013 05:34:01 +0000 Phyllis Fletcher 10620 at http://kuow.org Cheryl Chow, Educator And Politician Dies At 66 Booth Gardner, Washington’s 19th Governor, Dead At 76 http://kuow.org/post/booth-gardner-washington-s-19th-governor-dead-76 <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/03/031613AJ_BoothGardnerObit_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>OLYMPIA, Wash. – Booth Gardner, Washington’s 19th governor, has died at age 76. Gardner’s family says he passed away Friday night from complications of Parkinson's disease. Gardner had lived with the illness for more than a decade.<p>Democrat Booth Gardner took office in January of 1985. He was a Harvard-educated businessman with a playful manner. Mon, 18 Mar 2013 14:55:39 +0000 Austin Jenkins 9874 at http://kuow.org Booth Gardner, Washington’s 19th Governor, Dead At 76 Northwest Artist Alden Mason Dies http://kuow.org/post/northwest-artist-alden-mason-dies <p></p><p></p><p>Alden Mason was a Pacific Northwest native and a lifelong resident, but his artistic influence reaches far beyond this corner of the country. Mason was born in Everett, Wash., in 1919, and he grew up enamored with the outdoor world around him.&nbsp;</p><p>He planned to study entomology when he enrolled in the University of Washington.&nbsp; By chance, he told an interviewer, he wandered over to the art building, where a nude model was posing for painting students.&nbsp; Mason was only half-joking when he says that encounter changed his career path.</p> Thu, 07 Feb 2013 19:22:34 +0000 Marcie Sillman 7848 at http://kuow.org Northwest Artist Alden Mason Dies Memorial For U-District Needle Exchange Founder http://kuow.org/post/memorial-u-district-needle-exchange-founder <p></p><p>A public memorial service is planned Thursday for Bob Quinn. Quinn was a public health maverick. He died last month. Thu, 13 Dec 2012 15:25:10 +0000 Patricia Murphy 5001 at http://kuow.org Memorial For U-District Needle Exchange Founder Former Seattle Schools Superintendent Maria Goodloe-Johnson Reported Dead At 55 http://kuow.org/post/former-seattle-schools-superintendent-maria-goodloe-johnson-reported-dead-55 <p>A Seattle Public Schools spokeswoman says former Superintendent Maria Goodloe-Johnson died Wednesday at age 55.</p> Thu, 06 Dec 2012 03:43:31 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 4662 at http://kuow.org Former Seattle Schools Superintendent Maria Goodloe-Johnson Reported Dead At 55