Thanksgiving http://kuow.org en Northwest Cranberry Growers Wish You’d Eat Their Product Year-Round http://kuow.org/post/northwest-cranberry-growers-wish-you-d-eat-their-product-year-round <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/11/112713CL_cranberries_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>One out of every five cranberries grown in the U.S. is eaten Thanksgiving week, according to industry giant Ocean Spray.<p> Fri, 29 Nov 2013 11:00:16 +0000 Chris Lehman 24732 at http://kuow.org Northwest Cranberry Growers Wish You’d Eat Their Product Year-Round Labels On Your Turkey And How To Not Mess Up The Gravy http://kuow.org/post/labels-your-turkey-and-how-not-mess-gravy <p>Marcie Sillman talks with food writer Sara Dickerman about making gravy and how to work with the labels on your turkey. Wed, 27 Nov 2013 22:37:02 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 24568 at http://kuow.org Labels On Your Turkey And How To Not Mess Up The Gravy What Does It Mean To Give Thanks? http://kuow.org/post/what-does-it-mean-give-thanks <p>Marcie Sillman sits down the day before Thanksgiving to ponder what it means to give thanks with <a href="http://www.interfaithamigos.com/Home.html">The Interfaith Amigos</a>: Imam Jamal Rahman, Pastor Don Mackenzie and Rabbi Ted Falcon. Wed, 27 Nov 2013 22:29:40 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 24774 at http://kuow.org What Does It Mean To Give Thanks? Three Words For Getaway Day: Soggy, Sloppy And Snowy http://kuow.org/post/three-words-getaway-day-soggy-sloppy-and-snowy While those in the western half of the nation will mostly enjoy fair skies on this Thanksgiving Eve, we regret to repeat that for millions of Americans east of the Mississippi it's going to be a messy busiest-travel-day-of-the-year (otherwise known as Getaway Day).<p>Here's what <a href="http://www.weather.gov/" target="_blank">the National Weather Service</a> has to say:<p><blockquote><p>"Heavy snow is forecast from the Tennessee Valley to western New England, with freezing rain possible across the Appalachians and western Mid-Atlantic into the interior Northeast through Wednesday. Wed, 27 Nov 2013 11:44:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 24525 at http://kuow.org Three Words For Getaway Day: Soggy, Sloppy And Snowy How To Cook A Turkey Safely (It's Harder Than You Think) http://kuow.org/post/how-cook-turkey-safely-its-harder-you-think <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Phil Wyman, a <a href="http://www.kingcounty.gov/healthservices/health/ehs/foodsafety/inspections.aspx">restaurant inspector for King County Public Health</a>, about how to properly cook a turkey to avoid poisoning your loved ones. Wed, 27 Nov 2013 01:00:12 +0000 Marcie Sillman 24512 at http://kuow.org How To Cook A Turkey Safely (It's Harder Than You Think) As Storms Spread, Thanksgiving Travel Is Looking Tricky http://kuow.org/post/storms-spread-thanksgiving-travel-looking-tricky <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PXNnLnChwFo</p> Mon, 25 Nov 2013 12:10:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 24391 at http://kuow.org As Storms Spread, Thanksgiving Travel Is Looking Tricky A Cheez-It Feast, And Other Reasons To Be Thankful http://kuow.org/post/cheez-it-feast-and-other-reasons-be-thankful <p><em>RadioActive's</em> Yafiet Bezabih and Maddie Ewbank challenge our chef-in-residence Sarah Rosenthal to make a Thanksgiving meal out of mac and cheese, Oreos, Cheez-Its, salsa, and more cheese. Plus, hear the story of an inspirational nun from India: Sister Lucy Kurien helps thousands of destitute women and children through her organization, <a href="http://www.maherashram.org/">Maher</a>. Fri, 22 Nov 2013 19:25:35 +0000 Madeline Ewbank & Yafiet Bezabih & Amina Ibrahim & Varun Dhananjaya & Sarah Rosenthal & RadioActive Youth Media 24226 at http://kuow.org A Cheez-It Feast, And Other Reasons To Be Thankful How To Deal With Picky Thanksgiving Eaters With The Splendid Table's Lynne Rossetto Kasper http://kuow.org/post/how-deal-picky-thanksgiving-eaters-splendid-tables-lynne-rossetto-kasper <p></p><p></p><p>Your mom despises turkey, your uncle hates ham.&nbsp; Your brother’s vegan, and your sister is allergic to pumpkin pie.&nbsp; What do you do about the picky eaters (and people with dietary restrictions) at Thanksgiving?&nbsp; David Hyde talks to the host of <em>The Splendid Table</em>, Lynne Rossetto Kasper. &nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 21 Nov 2012 20:20:00 +0000 David Hyde 3986 at http://kuow.org How To Deal With Picky Thanksgiving Eaters With The Splendid Table's Lynne Rossetto Kasper Your Stories Of Thanksgiving http://kuow.org/post/your-stories-thanksgiving <p></p><p>Soon family and friends will gather, feasts will be prepared and memories will be made. Some from everything going right, some from things going comically wrong. Touching moments. Traditions. Mortifying mistakes. Put yourself in a festive mood and share your stories of Thanksgiving with us at 206.543.5869 or&nbsp;<a href="mailto:weekday@kuow.org">weekday@kuow.org</a>.</p><p> Tue, 20 Nov 2012 17:00:00 +0000 Steve Scher 3820 at http://kuow.org Your Stories Of Thanksgiving A Plumaged Pilgrimage: How Wild Turkeys Came To The Northwest http://kuow.org/post/plumaged-pilgrimage-how-wild-turkeys-came-northwest The turkey is a quintessentially American bird, exported from the New World like corn and potatoes. But the turkey is not native to the Pacific Northwest. The wild turkeys you may have seen here are part of the bird’s comeback story.<p>The Northwest's wild turkeys are out-of-state newcomers. In fact, you might have lived here longer than turkeys have. Thu, 15 Nov 2012 15:53:47 +0000 Jessica Robinson 3622 at http://kuow.org A Plumaged Pilgrimage: How Wild Turkeys Came To The Northwest