holidays http://kuow.org en African Americans And Native Speakers Keep Swahili Language Alive http://kuow.org/post/african-americans-and-native-speakers-keep-swahili-language-alive <p></p><p></p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 20:27:42 +0000 Leija Farr & RadioActive Youth Media 36271 at http://kuow.org African Americans And Native Speakers Keep Swahili Language Alive David Sedaris Reads From His 'Santaland Diaries' http://kuow.org/post/david-sedaris-reads-his-santaland-diaries You might not expect "Santa's Helper" to be a career-altering gig, but for David Sedaris, it changed everything. The writer and humorist spent a season working at Macy's as a department store elf. He described his short tenure as Crumpet the Elf in "The Santaland Diaries," an essay that he read on <em>Morning Edition</em> in 1992.<p>Instantly, a classic was born. Sedaris' reading has become an NPR holiday tradition. Click the "Listen" link above to hear Sedaris read his tale. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2013 NPR. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 17:21:27 +0000 editor 25961 at http://kuow.org David Sedaris Reads From His 'Santaland Diaries' The Enlightened Message Of Scrooge http://kuow.org/post/enlightened-message-scrooge <p>Charles Dickens’ story “A Christmas Carol” is a holiday favorite. It was performed earlier this month in front of a live audience at Seattle’s Center for Spiritual Living under the title “The Enlightened Message of Scrooge.”</p><p><em>This show will air on KUOW December 23 at 9:00 p.m.</em></p><p> Fri, 20 Dec 2013 14:00:00 +0000 Guy Nelson 25659 at http://kuow.org The Enlightened Message Of Scrooge The Stars Come Out For Holiday Bakers http://kuow.org/post/stars-come-out-holiday-bakers As a young woman, I had an attack of nostalgia for a possibly imaginary cookie. It was prompted by a walk up New York's Third Avenue, where I saw in the bakery case of a local delicatessen a stack of small round cookies, covered in the tiny rainbow sprinkles known as nonpareils. Wed, 18 Dec 2013 17:54:43 +0000 T. Susan Chang 25707 at http://kuow.org The Stars Come Out For Holiday Bakers Holiday Shoppers May Hit Snags As Banks Try To Curb Fraud http://kuow.org/post/holiday-shoppers-may-hit-snags-banks-try-curb-fraud <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/12/121613JR_StoreLimit_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>An unprecedented rash of credit card fraud in one corner of the Northwest is forcing banks to put limits on card purchases – just in time for the busiest shopping season of the year.<p> Tue, 17 Dec 2013 15:48:55 +0000 Jessica Robinson 25615 at http://kuow.org Holiday Shoppers May Hit Snags As Banks Try To Curb Fraud Massive Nativity Collection Represents More Than Just The Christmas Story http://kuow.org/post/massive-nativity-collection-represents-more-just-christmas-story <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/12/121313AK_Nativity_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>At a small Presbyterian church in Richland, Washington, one pastor has been trying to spread a little solace with an unusual exhibit.<p> Mon, 16 Dec 2013 15:03:22 +0000 Anna King 25545 at http://kuow.org Massive Nativity Collection Represents More Than Just The Christmas Story Thanksgivukkah: A Mash Of Two Holidays That's Easy To Relish http://kuow.org/post/thanksgivukkah-mash-two-holidays-thats-easy-relish It's that time of year again. Time for Mama Stamberg's Cranberry Relish. Every year since 1972, around Thanksgiving, I've shared my mother-in-law's famous cranberry relish recipe on the radio. It's appallingly pink, like Pepto Bismol — but it tastes terrific.<p>This year, I bring my relish recipe to Thanksgivukkah. Next week, Thanksgiving and the start of Hanukkah fall on the same day. It's a rare convergence.<p>How unusual is it? Well, the last time Thanksgiving and Hanukkah shared a start date was 125 years ago — and it won't happen again for another 76,000 or so years. Fri, 22 Nov 2013 07:57:00 +0000 Susan Stamberg 24266 at http://kuow.org Thanksgivukkah: A Mash Of Two Holidays That's Easy To Relish Death Becomes Whimsical On Dia De Los Muertos http://kuow.org/post/death-becomes-whimsical-dia-de-los-muertos On the Mexican <em>Dia de los Muertos</em> holiday, the living remember the dead. Some believe they are communing with the deceased. Fri, 25 Oct 2013 21:53:00 +0000 editor 22718 at http://kuow.org Death Becomes Whimsical On Dia De Los Muertos How To Have A Safe Fourth Of July Celebration http://kuow.org/post/how-have-safe-fourth-july-celebration <p>Fourth of July is coming up, and you can’t celebrate America’s freedoms without some fireworks. But what are our freedoms when it comes to lighting fireworks in King County? Chris Ricketts is the King County Fire Marshal. He shares the rules and regulations for shooting off fireworks on the upcoming holiday. Tue, 02 Jul 2013 19:03:27 +0000 grace drone 15955 at http://kuow.org How To Have A Safe Fourth Of July Celebration Pink Martini's Multilingual Holiday Joy http://kuow.org/post/pink-martinis-multilingual-holiday-joy <p> Portland's <a href="http://www.npr.org/2010/12/24/132231049/pink-martini-on-world-cafe">Pink Martini</a> released "Joy To The World" in November 2010. It's a collection of nondenominational holiday music from various countries. Among the traditional holiday tunes that we can all sing along to, the album features works in Chinese, Japanese, Hebrew, Spanish -- the list goes on. It's a joyful celebration of culture.<br> Tue, 25 Dec 2012 04:00:00 +0000 5505 at http://kuow.org Pink Martini's Multilingual Holiday Joy What Do You Really Know About St. Nicholas? http://kuow.org/post/what-do-you-really-know-about-st-nicholas <p></p><p>You think you know him: red suit, white beard, jolly old elf, etc. But do you why St. Nicholas became the Patron Saint Of Prisoners? David Hyde talks with Adam English, author of "The Saint Who Would Be Santa Claus: The True Life And Trials Of Nicholas Of Myra." Mon, 24 Dec 2012 19:13:05 +0000 David Hyde 5598 at http://kuow.org What Do You Really Know About St. Nicholas? The Weekday Holiday Fireside Chat! http://kuow.org/post/weekday-holiday-fireside-chat <p></p><p>Warm yourself by the fireside with us this morning. Steve Scher is kicking back before Christmas with Santa Claus, Jimmy Stewart, Frosty the Snowman and you!<br><br>Attend Weekday's holiday fireside chat by sharing your favorite holiday traditions, games and tasty delights with us. No holiday gathering is complete without laughter too. Mon, 24 Dec 2012 18:00:00 +0000 Steve Scher 5527 at http://kuow.org The Weekday Holiday Fireside Chat! Top 5 Holiday Cocktails http://kuow.org/post/top-5-holiday-cocktails <p></p><p>The weather outside <em>is</em> frightful, so why not curl up by the fire with a nice holiday cocktail? David Hyde talks to veteran bartender Kristen Naranjo about her favorite holiday cocktails. Mon, 24 Dec 2012 17:22:15 +0000 David Hyde 5524 at http://kuow.org Top 5 Holiday Cocktails 'Tis The Season For Weekday's Holiday Party http://kuow.org/post/tis-season-weekdays-holiday-party <p></p><p>'Tis the time of year for a good party, and you're invited to ours! Join us as Steve Scher hops aboard our horse-drawn sleigh with Frosty the Snowman, Jimmy Stewart, Charlie Brown, Ebenezer Scrooge and, of course, Santa Claus. &nbsp;<br><br>Bring your favorite traditions, games and culinary delights. Tell Santa what you're hoping for this year, and help keep Frosty cold. Mon, 24 Dec 2012 17:00:00 +0000 Steve Scher 5523 at http://kuow.org 'Tis The Season For Weekday's Holiday Party What Do The Holidays Mean To You? http://kuow.org/post/what-do-holidays-mean-you <p></p><p>Hanukkah has come to a close, and Christmas and Kwanzaa are still on the way. These are the three we hear about, but how do you celebrate the holidays? David Hyde takes calls from listeners and hears what the holiday season means to Seattle. Thu, 20 Dec 2012 19:33:10 +0000 David Hyde 5440 at http://kuow.org What Do The Holidays Mean To You?