Boeing http://kuow.org en Is A Robot Going To Take Your Job? http://kuow.org/post/robot-going-take-your-job <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Andrew McAfee,&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">principal research scientist at the Initiative on the Digital Economy at MIT, about whether robots will replace humans in the job market.</span> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 21:32:19 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Matthew Streib 38953 at http://kuow.org Is A Robot Going To Take Your Job? Boeing Bears Some Blame For Asiana Crash Says Safety Board http://kuow.org/post/boeing-bears-some-blame-asiana-crash-says-safety-board <p></p><p>The National Transportation Safety Board has concluded that Boeing's design of the 777’s automated systems was a contributing factor in the crash of Asiana Airlines Flight 214 that killed three Chinese teenagers last summer. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 15:26:10 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 37013 at http://kuow.org Boeing Bears Some Blame For Asiana Crash Says Safety Board Boeing Focuses On Fuel Efficiency In Light Of Coming Climate Rules http://kuow.org/post/boeing-focuses-fuel-efficiency-light-coming-climate-rules <p>Boeing is buying a software company that it says will make planes more fuel efficient. Tue, 27 May 2014 22:11:58 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 35267 at http://kuow.org Boeing Focuses On Fuel Efficiency In Light Of Coming Climate Rules Federal Aviation Administration Rapped For Dreamliner Battery Fires http://kuow.org/post/federal-aviation-administration-rapped-dreamliner-battery-fires <p></p><p>The Federal Aviation Administration failed to properly test the lithium ion batteries on the Boeing 787 Dreamliner, the National Transportation Safety Board said in a report released on Wednesday. The report said that the FAA relied too much on Boeing for technical expertise. Fri, 23 May 2014 18:14:18 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 35079 at http://kuow.org Federal Aviation Administration Rapped For Dreamliner Battery Fires Aviation Consultant: WTO Trade Rules Are 'Toothless' http://kuow.org/post/aviation-consultant-wto-trade-rules-are-toothless <p>Steve Scher talks with Scott Hamilton, an aviation consultant from the Leeham company, about the European Union's potential challenge to Boeing's tax breaks and what that says about trade rules and international business. Tue, 20 May 2014 21:52:18 +0000 Steve Scher & Hannah Burn 34828 at http://kuow.org Aviation Consultant: WTO Trade Rules Are 'Toothless' Finding Business Outside Of Boeing In Snohomish County http://kuow.org/post/finding-business-outside-boeing-snohomish-county <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman speaks with Seattle Times business columnist Jon Talton about the economic climate of Snohomish County — with and without Boeing's business. Mon, 28 Apr 2014 21:52:30 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 33482 at http://kuow.org Finding Business Outside Of Boeing In Snohomish County Boeing Says More Work Could Stay In-House http://kuow.org/post/boeing-says-more-work-could-stay-house <p>Boeing announced quarterly earnings Wednesday morning that beat analysts' expectations. CEO Jim McNerney said part of the company's success story is the new economics of its labor force. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 21:31:26 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 33150 at http://kuow.org Boeing Says More Work Could Stay In-House Tom Steps Down, Boeing Moves Jobs Out Of Washington, And Minimum Wage Debate Heats Up http://kuow.org/post/tom-steps-down-boeing-moves-jobs-out-washington-and-minimum-wage-debate-heats <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">As Washington state Senator Rodney Tom announced his decision to <a href="http://kuow.org/post/washington-senate-majority-leader-tom-wont-seek-re-election">not seek re-election</a> </span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">this week, how does his departure change the dynamic in the legislature. </span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Also, Boeing is shipping nearly 2,000 engineering and research jobs out of the state. After the big push for friendly tax breaks for the company, is this a betrayal?&nbsp;</span></p><p>Steve Scher reviews these stories and more with news analyst Joni Balter, Crosscut's Knute Berger, Eli Sanders of The Stranger and Livewire host Luke Burbank. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 20:29:52 +0000 Steve Scher & Jason Pagano 32802 at http://kuow.org Tom Steps Down, Boeing Moves Jobs Out Of Washington, And Minimum Wage Debate Heats Up Why Boeing Is Moving Engineering Jobs Out Of Everett http://kuow.org/post/why-boeing-moving-engineering-jobs-out-everett <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with Seattle Times aerospace reporter <a href="https://twitter.com/dominicgates" target="_blank">Dominic Gates</a> about Boeing moving engineering jobs out of Everett and Washington state. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 21:04:21 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Christine Streich 32763 at http://kuow.org Why Boeing Is Moving Engineering Jobs Out Of Everett What The Boeing 777 Can Tell Us About The Missing Malaysian Jet http://kuow.org/post/what-boeing-777-can-tell-us-about-missing-malaysian-jet <p>Marcie Sillman talks with <a href="http://topics.wsj.com/person/O/jon-ostrower/7372">Wall Street Journal aerospace reporter Jon Ostrower</a> about the Malaysia Airlines Boeing 777 and how its makeup can provide clues to finding the missing aircraft. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 22:59:28 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 30733 at http://kuow.org What The Boeing 777 Can Tell Us About The Missing Malaysian Jet How Decline Of Unions Contributed To Rise In Inequality http://kuow.org/post/how-decline-unions-contributed-rise-inequality <p>Ross Reynolds talks with University of Washington sociology professor Jake Rosenfeld about his book, “What Unions No Longer Do."</p><p>After World War II, one in three workers belonged to a union. Today, only one in 20 people employed in the private sector are in unions. Rosenfeld argues the decline of unions has helped lead to a rise in inequality. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 21:06:06 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 30253 at http://kuow.org How Decline Of Unions Contributed To Rise In Inequality Boeing Machinist Union Has A New Leader http://kuow.org/post/boeing-machinist-union-has-new-leader <p>Steve Scher talks with newly-elected <span class="st">District Lodge 751 </span>President Jon Holden about the direction he plans to take the <a href="http://www.iam751.org/">Boeing Machinist Union</a>.</p><p>"Our goal needs to be how we unify back to the membership to a position of strength in order to secure the best standard of living for our members that we can," he said. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 23:35:35 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 30084 at http://kuow.org Boeing Machinist Union Has A New Leader Boeing Hopes 'Wounds Would Heal' After 777X Wing Production Rivalry http://kuow.org/post/boeing-hopes-wounds-would-heal-after-777x-wing-production-rivalry <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Seattle Times aerospace reporter Dominic Gates about the aftermath of the fight to keep Boeing's 777X wing production in Washington state. Fri, 21 Feb 2014 22:52:27 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 29228 at http://kuow.org Boeing Hopes 'Wounds Would Heal' After 777X Wing Production Rivalry Boeing's 'Terrible Teens' Cut Into Profit, Tax Revenue http://kuow.org/post/boeings-terrible-teens-cut-profit-tax-revenue <p>Boeing says it will have to wait until sometime in 2016 to turn a profit on the 787 Dreamliners line.</p><p>By that time, the aerospace says developing the game-changing plane will cost the company more than $25 billion. There was a time when Boeing thought it would take $5 billion to develop the new plane. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 17:00:00 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 28986 at http://kuow.org Boeing's 'Terrible Teens' Cut Into Profit, Tax Revenue After The Machinists Vote, Labor Seeks New Directions http://kuow.org/post/after-machinists-vote-labor-seeks-new-directions <p>The idea of coming together in common cause is woven into Washington’s social fabric, especially into its union history. But labor has suffered reversals before, and it suffered a large one on Jan. 3, when the Machinists union voted by a narrow margin to abandon the Boeing pension plan. At stake was a key production line. Mon, 27 Jan 2014 21:33:47 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 27716 at http://kuow.org After The Machinists Vote, Labor Seeks New Directions