Congress http://kuow.org en Feds Warn States Of Possible Highway Cash Holdback http://kuow.org/post/feds-warn-states-possible-highway-cash-holdback <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/070314TB_DOTfund_web_3.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Idaho Transportation Department has suspended advertising for bids for future highway projects. Oregon and Washington may soon do the same.<p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 14:42:52 +0000 Tom Banse 37727 at http://kuow.org Feds Warn States Of Possible Highway Cash Holdback Wash. Congressman Jim McDermott Talks Supreme Court, Immigration Reform, And More http://kuow.org/post/wash-congressman-jim-mcdermott-talks-supreme-court-immigration-reform-and-more <p>Marcie Sillman talks with <a href="http://mcdermott.house.gov/">U.S. Congressman Jim McDermott</a> about the U.S. Supreme Court's recent decisions, President Obama's executive action on immigration policy, and a variety of other issues. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 22:20:28 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 37494 at http://kuow.org Report: Agency Blocked Urgent Recommendations For Tesoro Refinery Safety http://kuow.org/post/report-agency-blocked-urgent-recommendations-tesoro-refinery-safety <p></p><p>In the months following a deadly refinery explosion in Anacortes, Washington, in April 2010, federal investigators with the U.S. Chemical Safety Board were ready to issue urgent safety recommendations. But management at the agency blocked the release of their urgent alert. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 20:49:07 +0000 John Ryan 36806 at http://kuow.org Report: Agency Blocked Urgent Recommendations For Tesoro Refinery Safety Only 7 Percent Of Americans Are Big Fans Of Congress http://kuow.org/post/only-7-percent-americans-are-big-fans-congress The amount of confidence Americans have in Congress has hit a new low. Only 7 percent of the people polled by Gallup said they have "a great deal" or "quite a lot" of confidence in the legislature as an American institution.<p>The rock-bottom level of confidence in Congress "is not only the lowest on record," the polling company says, "but also the lowest Gallup has recorded for any institution in the 41-year trend. This is also the first time Gallup has ever measured confidence in a major U.S. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 12:39:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 36675 at http://kuow.org Only 7 Percent Of Americans Are Big Fans Of Congress U.S. Legislators Show Progress In Washington, D.C. http://kuow.org/post/us-legislators-show-progress-washington-dc <p>Steve Scher talks with Andrea Seabrook, founder of <a href="http://www.decodedc.com/"><em>DecodeDC</em></a>, about how the so-called lame-duck Congress may be turning over a new leaf. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 21:38:40 +0000 Steve Scher & Hannah Burn 30693 at http://kuow.org U.S. Legislators Show Progress In Washington, D.C. Ten-Term Congressman Doc Hastings Announces Retirement http://kuow.org/post/ten-term-congressman-doc-hastings-announces-retirement <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/021314AK_Hastings.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">After two decades as south central Washington’s congressman, Republican Doc Hastings announced Thursday that he is retiring at the end of the year.</span><p> Fri, 14 Feb 2014 16:00:19 +0000 Anna King 28804 at http://kuow.org Ten-Term Congressman Doc Hastings Announces Retirement House Panel Weighs Ethics Complaint Against McMorris-Rodgers http://kuow.org/post/house-panel-weighs-ethics-complaint-against-mcmorris-rodgers <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Andrea Seabrook of <em><a href="http://www.decodedc.com/">DecodeDC</a></em> about a possible ethics investigation surrounding Representative Cathy McMorris-Rodgers of Spokane. Mon, 10 Feb 2014 22:27:48 +0000 Marcie Sillman 28619 at http://kuow.org House Panel Weighs Ethics Complaint Against McMorris-Rodgers Revisiting The Last State Of The Union http://kuow.org/post/revisiting-last-state-union <p>David Hyde talks with David Gergen, former presidential advisor, CNN political analyst and professor at the Harvard Kennedy School, about President Barack Obama's last State of the Union address and whether he met his goals for 2013. Wed, 29 Jan 2014 00:03:24 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 27790 at http://kuow.org Revisiting The Last State Of The Union Looking Ahead: Congress Convenes For The New Year http://kuow.org/post/looking-ahead-congress-convenes-new-year <p>Marcie Sillman&nbsp;talks with <a href="http://www.decodedc.com/" target="_blank"><em>DecodeDC</em>'s</a> Andrea Seabrook about the new session of Congress and the future of long-term unemployment benefits, budget deals, immigration and partisan platforms.&nbsp; Mon, 06 Jan 2014 22:50:36 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Christine Streich 26609 at http://kuow.org Looking Ahead: Congress Convenes For The New Year With Budget Deal In Hand, Has Congress Turned A Corner? http://kuow.org/post/budget-deal-hand-has-congress-turned-corner <p>David Hyde talks with Andrea Seabrook&nbsp;of&nbsp; <em>DecodeDC</em> about the budget compromise in Washington, D.C. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 20:10:00 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 25437 at http://kuow.org With Budget Deal In Hand, Has Congress Turned A Corner? Congress Is Back With A 'To-Do-Nothing List' http://kuow.org/post/congress-back-do-nothing-list <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Jim McTague, Washington D.C. editor at Barron's, about the December Congressional session and what he calls a "to-do-nothing list." Mon, 02 Dec 2013 23:00:04 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 24764 at http://kuow.org Congress Is Back With A 'To-Do-Nothing List' Republicans In Congress Looking Toward 2014 http://kuow.org/post/republicans-congress-looking-toward-2014 <p>Ross Reynolds discusses the latest news out of Congress with Andrea Seabrook, host of <em><a href="http://www.decodedc.com/">DecodeDC </a></em>and former NPR congressional reporter. Tue, 19 Nov 2013 00:06:56 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 24054 at http://kuow.org Immigration Reform Resurfaces And Splits The Republican Party http://kuow.org/post/immigration-reform-resurfaces-and-splits-republican-party <p>Marcie Sillman interviews Andrea Seabrook of <em>DecodeDC</em> about the immigration reform legislation that a conservative lobbying coalition is hoping to bring to the House floor. Mon, 28 Oct 2013 22:05:08 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 22806 at http://kuow.org Immigration Reform Resurfaces And Splits The Republican Party Tom Foley, Former House Speaker, Dies At 84 http://kuow.org/post/tom-foley-former-house-speaker-dies-84 <p>Tom Foley, a Spokane Democrat who rose to become speaker of the House in 1989, died Friday morning at his current home in Washington, DC.&nbsp;He was 84.&nbsp;</p><p>His wife Heather Foley &nbsp;told the Associated Press her husband died of complications from strokes. Foley had been in hospice care in the nation's capital for the past six months.</p><p>Foley left Congress in 1994, when Republicans took control of the U.S. House of Representatives for the first time in 40 years. Foley was the first House speaker to be defeated in his home district since the Civil War.</p> Fri, 18 Oct 2013 16:24:21 +0000 Austin Jenkins 22279 at http://kuow.org Tom Foley, Former House Speaker, Dies At 84 Sen. Patty Murray On The Plan To End The Shutdown http://kuow.org/post/sen-patty-murray-plan-end-shutdown <p>Today, with mere hours left before the US' borrowing authority expires, the Senate released a plan that will fund the government through Jan. 15 and lift the debt limit through Feb. 7. House Speaker John Boehner has said the House will not block the Senate's deal.</p><p>It is expected to pass in both chambers, with the House voting second.. A few hours after the Senate formally introduced their plan, Ross Reynolds talked with Washington Senator Patty Murray. Wed, 16 Oct 2013 23:16:51 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 22177 at http://kuow.org Sen. Patty Murray On The Plan To End The Shutdown