Seattle Public Utilities http://kuow.org en Garbage Collection Advice From Oregon: 'Go For It' http://kuow.org/post/garbage-collection-advice-oregon-go-it <p>David Hyde talks with Michael Armstrong, senior sustainability manager for the City of Portland, about Portland's biweekly trash program. Seattle is currently considering a proposal to reduce garbage collection to every other week.<br /> Thu, 20 Feb 2014 23:09:38 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 29142 at http://kuow.org Garbage Collection Advice From Oregon: 'Go For It' Seattle City Light Customers: Brace For Higher Bills This Year http://kuow.org/post/seattle-city-light-customers-brace-higher-bills-year <p></p><p>Customers of Seattle City Light are likely to see an increase in their bills later this year.</p><p>The utility is facing lower than expected revenues, and that could mean an automatic 3 percent surcharge for customers. Thu, 13 Feb 2014 17:34:00 +0000 Deborah Wang 28702 at http://kuow.org Seattle City Light Customers: Brace For Higher Bills This Year Biweekly Trash Pickup: Are The Savings Worth The Stink? http://kuow.org/post/biweekly-trash-pickup-are-savings-worth-stink <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Suzie Burke, member of Seattle Public Utilities' Citizen Advisory Committee, about the proposal to move toward biweekly trash pickup. Thu, 13 Feb 2014 00:50:08 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 28659 at http://kuow.org Biweekly Trash Pickup: Are The Savings Worth The Stink? Possible Rate Hikes For Seattle Public Utilities Customers http://kuow.org/post/possible-rate-hikes-seattle-public-utilities-customers <p>Steve Scher talks with Ray Hoffman, director of Seattle Public Utilities, about the possible rate hikes for Seattle residents. SPU is hosting <a href="http://www.seattle.gov/util/AboutUs/Management/Director/StrategicBusinessPlan/index.htm">four public meetings</a> to collect comments from the community. <a href="http://www.seattle.gov/util/AboutUs/Management/Director/StrategicBusinessPlan/index.htm"> Thu, 06 Feb 2014 23:17:50 +0000 Steve Scher & Hannah Burn 28324 at http://kuow.org Possible Rate Hikes For Seattle Public Utilities Customers The Politics Of Microhousing In Seattle http://kuow.org/post/politics-microhousing-seattle <p>David Hyde spoke with Publicola's Erica C. Barnett about microhousing, the debate over a possible Seattle City Light surcharge, and other issues facing the city. Mon, 27 Jan 2014 23:59:20 +0000 David Hyde & Jason Pagano 27739 at http://kuow.org The Politics Of Microhousing In Seattle Seattle Keeps Door Open To Biweekly Garbage Pickups http://kuow.org/post/seattle-keeps-door-open-biweekly-garbage-pickups <p>Seattle trash pickup could be reduced to every other week by 2015 if the Seattle City Council votes on Monday to keep that option on the table for the next year.</p><p>If the action passes as expected, biweekly service won’t be definite, however: Mayor-elect Ed Murray and&nbsp; council members will still need to pass the legislation early next year. Mon, 16 Dec 2013 18:57:24 +0000 Amy Radil 25475 at http://kuow.org Seattle Keeps Door Open To Biweekly Garbage Pickups Water Main Break Shoots Up 20-Foot Geyser Near University Village http://kuow.org/post/water-main-break-shoots-20-foot-geyser-near-university-village <p>A large water pipe next to the University Village mall, just east of the University of Washington, erupted Tuesday afternoon, shooting a 20-foot geyser into the air and shutting down traffic at the start of rush hour. Wed, 09 Oct 2013 01:17:08 +0000 Isolde Raftery 21743 at http://kuow.org Water Main Break Shoots Up 20-Foot Geyser Near University Village Seattle Ends Biweekly Trash Pickup Pilot Program http://kuow.org/post/seattle-ends-bi-weekly-trash-pickup-pilot-program <p></p><p></p><p>Many Seattle residents are grateful for the new year because it means that their garbage will be picked up every week. At least for now.</p><p>For the past six months, 800 Seattle households participated in a <a href="http://www.seattle.gov/util/environmentconservation/projects/onelesstruckproject/">pilot program</a> that experimented with picking up the trash every other week. The affected neighborhoods were roughly in the four corners of the city and included Wedgewood.<br><br> Mon, 07 Jan 2013 16:54:08 +0000 Derek Wang 6148 at http://kuow.org Seattle Ends Biweekly Trash Pickup Pilot Program A City Grows Up: Shoreline Votes To Found Own Water Utility http://kuow.org/post/city-grows-shoreline-votes-found-own-water-utility <p>Last Tuesday's general election marked a decisive moment for the city of Shoreline: 70 percent of voters there agreed to buy water services back from the city of Seattle and create their own water utility.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 14 Nov 2012 19:05:27 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 3546 at http://kuow.org A City Grows Up: Shoreline Votes To Found Own Water Utility State Auditor Wants Tighter Billing Procedures At Seattle Utilities http://kuow.org/post/state-auditor-wants-tighter-billing-procedures-seattle-utilities <p></p><p>Washington state Auditor Brian Sonntag has issued a report citing significant deficiencies in the billing systems at Seattle City Light and Seattle Public Utilities (SPU). His report is based on annual audits by accounting firms.</p><p> Thu, 01 Nov 2012 01:11:15 +0000 Amy Radil 2733 at http://kuow.org