Halloween http://kuow.org en Inside A Candy Shop http://kuow.org/post/inside-candy-shop <p>Steve Scher stopped by local candy shop <a href="http://www.theconfectionery.com/welcome.aspx">The Confectionery </a>at University Village to ask the experts what candy they enjoy on Halloween. Thu, 31 Oct 2013 23:16:35 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 23029 at http://kuow.org Inside A Candy Shop Getting Fresh With Jeannie And Sheryl: Maybe I'm A Corn Maze http://kuow.org/post/getting-fresh-jeannie-and-sheryl-maybe-im-corn-maze <div><p>Farmers markets are great for fresh fruits and veggies, but for pumpkins, Sheryl Wiser suggests you take off your city shoes, put on some galoshes and head out to the pumpkin patch. Fri, 18 Oct 2013 16:11:25 +0000 Jeannie Yandel & Arwen Nicks 22242 at http://kuow.org Getting Fresh With Jeannie And Sheryl: Maybe I'm A Corn Maze Some Northwest Latinos Blend Halloween, Day Of The Dead http://kuow.org/post/some-northwest-latinos-blend-halloween-day-dead PASCO, Wash. – Just as this year’s Halloween fades into memory, many Northwest Latino families are getting ready for the Day of the Dead. The traditional Mexican holiday is on Friday. Some families blend the two holidays.<p>In Pasco, Washington, bakeries can hardly churn out enough seasonal pan muerto . Thu, 01 Nov 2012 15:19:08 +0000 Anna King 2767 at http://kuow.org Some Northwest Latinos Blend Halloween, Day Of The Dead Spooky Scary! KUOW Listeners Share Halloween Stories http://kuow.org/post/spooky-scary-kuow-listeners-share-halloween-stories <p>This Halloween Ross Reynolds hears from listeners about their best costumes, best scares and favorite parts of Halloween. Wed, 31 Oct 2012 21:39:23 +0000 Ross Reynolds 2700 at http://kuow.org Spooky Scary! KUOW Listeners Share Halloween Stories Why We Love Horror Movies http://kuow.org/post/why-we-love-horror-movies-0 <p>Last year we spoke with author Jason Zinoman who wrote, "Shock Value: How a Few Eccentric Outsiders Gave Us Nightmares, Conquered Hollywood, and Invented Modern Horror," and took some calls. To celebrate Halloween we've decided to bring you some highlights from that interview and a little more. Wed, 31 Oct 2012 19:00:00 +0000 Ross Reynolds 2735 at http://kuow.org Halloween Spending Up Across Nation http://kuow.org/post/halloween-spending-across-nation KENNEWICK, Wash. – If Halloween spending is an indicator of the economy, Americans are appear to be feeling better than this time last year -- or at least more ghoulish.<p>A new survey commissioned by the National Retail Federation found that seven of 10 Americans will celebrate Halloween this year. And they’re spending more says spokeswoman Kathy Grannis.<p>“The average person is expected to spend about $79 on Halloween decorations, costumes and candy.”<p>Up from $72 last year. Wed, 31 Oct 2012 16:47:27 +0000 Anna King 2691 at http://kuow.org Halloween Spending Up Across Nation