books http://kuow.org en Is Your Entire Life Just a TV Show? http://kuow.org/post/your-entire-life-just-tv-show <p>Ross Reynolds talks with psychologist Joel Gold, who co-authored the book "Suspicious Minds: How Culture Shapes Madness." The book deals in part with the "Truman Show" delusion: a belief that everyone around you is an actor, and you're the star of a TV show.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 21:31:56 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38960 at http://kuow.org Is Your Entire Life Just a TV Show? Nancy Pearl On Non-Fiction That Reads Like Fiction http://kuow.org/post/nancy-pearl-non-fiction-reads-fiction <p>Ross Reynolds talks with book lusting former librarian Nancy Pearl about why she says "Factory Man," Beth Macy's non-fiction book about a family furniture company, reads like a page-turning fiction tale. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:24:33 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Ross Reynolds 38736 at http://kuow.org Nancy Pearl On Non-Fiction That Reads Like Fiction What About Bob? Explaining The Obsession Of Dylan Fans http://kuow.org/post/what-about-bob-explaining-obsession-dylan-fans <p>Ross Reynolds talks with author <a href="http://davidkinney.net/">David Kinney</a> about this new book "The Dylanologists: Adventures in the Land of Bob." Mon, 21 Jul 2014 22:31:49 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38644 at http://kuow.org To Meet A 'Mockingbird': Memoir Recalls Talks With Harper Lee http://kuow.org/post/meet-mockingbird-memoir-recalls-talks-harper-lee In 1960, Harper Lee published <em>To Kill a Mockingbird</em>, won the Pulitzer Prize, and overnight became one of America's most beloved writers. But Lee was overwhelmed by the media blitz that followed. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 13:56:17 +0000 NPR Staff 38628 at http://kuow.org To Meet A 'Mockingbird': Memoir Recalls Talks With Harper Lee Bookstore Owner's 'Grudging Respect' For Online Subscription Service http://kuow.org/post/bookstore-owners-grudging-respect-online-subscription-service <p>Jeannie Yandel talks with business writer and Page 2 Books&nbsp;co-owner Bill Virgin about Amazon's new unlimited book subscription service, <a href="http://techcrunch.com/2014/07/18/amazon-officially-announces-kindle-unlimited-offering-reading-and-listening-for-9-99-a-month/">Kindle Unlimited</a>. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 21:23:47 +0000 Jeannie Yandel 38520 at http://kuow.org Rebecca Solnit On The Power Of A Story http://kuow.org/post/rebecca-solnit-power-story <p>Human beings have been drawn to stories for thousands of years. They captivate us. We yearn for them — “tell the one about … ” — ad infinitum. Sometimes we get the story right. Sometimes not. Stories break. Stories change. And sometimes it helps to turn a story upside down.</p><p>Our guest is writer and historian Rebecca Solnit. Her books explore ecology, landscape, community, art and politics. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 17:46:39 +0000 John O'Brien 38462 at http://kuow.org Rebecca Solnit On The Power Of A Story 'Trans Bodies, Trans Selves': A Modern Manual By And For Trans People http://kuow.org/post/trans-bodies-trans-selves-modern-manual-and-trans-people The growing number of people who identify as transgender is raising a lot of interesting and complicated questions about gender identity.<p>The new book <em>Trans Bodies, Trans Selves</em> is a collection of essays describing the varied experiences of transgender people — and the social, political and medical issues they face. It's written by and for transgender and gender-nonconforming people.<p>The idea was inspired by the groundbreaking 1970s feminist health manual <em>Our Bodies, Ourselves</em>.<p>That book "was put together ... by a group of women who ... Thu, 17 Jul 2014 18:48:01 +0000 editor 38443 at http://kuow.org 'Trans Bodies, Trans Selves': A Modern Manual By And For Trans People A Supernatural Family Reunion In 'The Book Of Life' http://kuow.org/post/supernatural-family-reunion-book-life One upon a time, historian Deborah Harkness was doing research at Oxford's Bodleian Library when she accidentally discovered a lost book that had belonged to 16th-century astronomer John Dee. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 17:19:24 +0000 Genevieve Valentine 38433 at http://kuow.org A Supernatural Family Reunion In 'The Book Of Life' Nancy Pearl Gives Northwest Writer The Thumbs Up On Second Book http://kuow.org/post/nancy-pearl-gives-northwest-writer-thumbs-second-book <p>Marcie Sillman sits down with librarian of the airwaves, Nancy Pearl, to discuss a Northwest writer she says merits a second read. Pearl recommends Chelsea Cain's new mystery novel "One Kick," as well as the author's first book, "Confessions of a Teen Sleuth," a re-imagination of the old Nancy Drew young adult books. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 22:29:39 +0000 Marcie Sillman 38054 at http://kuow.org Nancy Pearl Gives Northwest Writer The Thumbs Up On Second Book It's Time We All Embrace Contrarian History http://kuow.org/post/its-time-we-all-embrace-contrarian-history <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Ilan Stavans&nbsp;about his new book, “A Most Imperfect Union: A Contrarian History of the United States." Tue, 15 Jul 2014 22:28:37 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 38278 at http://kuow.org Travel Disasters Bring Out The Best, The Worst ... And The Cannibalism http://kuow.org/post/travel-disasters-bring-out-best-worst-and-cannibalism Author Sarah Lotz is terrified of flying, so naturally every time she gets on a plane she imagines the worst. "I imagine how it's going to smell if things start burning," she says. "I imagine the <em>thunk</em> of luggage falling out of the compartments at the top. ... Tue, 15 Jul 2014 16:17:47 +0000 Lynn Neary 38270 at http://kuow.org Travel Disasters Bring Out The Best, The Worst ... And The Cannibalism Susan Jacoby Says You Should Know Who Robert Ingersoll Is http://kuow.org/post/susan-jacoby-says-you-should-know-who-robert-ingersoll <p>David Hyde talks with author Susan Jacoby about her new book, "The Great Agnostic: Robert Ingersoll and American Freethought," the story of a historic figure for the separation of church and state. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:52:01 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 38079 at http://kuow.org Author Simon Sinek On Why Leaders Eat Last http://kuow.org/post/author-simon-sinek-why-leaders-eat-last <p>"Well, that makes total sense!"</p><p>That’s what you might say after listening a while to our guest Simon Sinek this week on <em>Speakers Forum</em>.</p><p>It’s the little things he points out, like why checking your cell phone constantly during your kid’s baseball game (or your meeting with a colleague) is a bad idea. The little things add up, sometimes resulting in the makings of a leader. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 17:24:53 +0000 John O'Brien 38071 at http://kuow.org Author Simon Sinek On Why Leaders Eat Last 'How To Survive The Bulls' Co-Author Gets Gored http://kuow.org/post/how-survive-bulls-co-author-gets-gored On Wednesday, Bill Hillmann, one of the authors of Fiesta: How to Survive the Bulls of Pamplona, was reportedly gored in the leg. His injuries were not life threatening. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 11:29:00 +0000 editor 38033 at http://kuow.org Book News: Co-Author Of Book On How Not To Be Gored By A Bull Gets Gored http://kuow.org/post/book-news-co-author-book-how-not-be-gored-bull-gets-gored <em>The daily lowdown on books, publishing, and the occasional author behaving badly.</em><p><ul><p><li>A Chicago man who co-authored a book about how not to be gored by bulls in the annual running of the bulls in Pamplona, Spain, <a href="http://www.nytimes.com/2014/07/10/world/europe/co-author-of-bull-running-guide-is-gored-in-pamplona.html?hp&action=click&pgtype=Homepage&version=HpHeadline&module=first-column-region&region=top-news&WT.nav=top-news&_r=0">has been gored by a bull</a>. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 14:42:38 +0000 Annalisa Quinn 37960 at http://kuow.org Book News: Co-Author Of Book On How Not To Be Gored By A Bull Gets Gored