Affordable Care Act http://kuow.org en Whistleblower In Children's Hospital Hearing Alleges Pressure In Ruling http://kuow.org/post/whistleblower-childrens-hospital-hearing-alleges-pressure-ruling <p>If you have a dispute with a government agency, chances are, your complaint will go through a process called an administrative hearing. These hearings usually haven’t attracted public attention — until recently.</p><p>Last October, Seattle Children’s Hospital challenged the Office of Insurance Commissioner for allowing health plans to exclude providers like Children’s from their networks. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 17:50:58 +0000 Ruby de Luna 36549 at http://kuow.org Washington AG Puts Health Plans On Notice To Cover Same-Sex Spouses http://kuow.org/post/washington-ag-puts-health-plans-notice-cover-same-sex-spouses <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/06/060514AJ_SpouseCoverage_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Washington Attorney General Bob Ferguson is reminding employers they may not discriminate against same-sex spouses when it comes to health coverage.<p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 18:12:12 +0000 Austin Jenkins 35938 at http://kuow.org Washington AG Puts Health Plans On Notice To Cover Same-Sex Spouses 1 Million Texans Still Without Health Coverage http://kuow.org/post/1-million-texans-still-without-health-coverage More than 700,000 Texans have signed up for a health plan through the online insurance marketplace. Fri, 23 May 2014 18:04:14 +0000 editor 35091 at http://kuow.org 1 Million Texans Still Without Health Coverage How To Make The Affordable Care Act Better http://kuow.org/post/how-make-affordable-care-act-better <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Steve&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Scher</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;talks to </span>Dr. Ezekiel Emanuel about his book “Reinventing American Health Care.” &nbsp;Dr. Emanuel was previously a health care adviser to the White House. Wed, 07 May 2014 22:30:05 +0000 Steve Scher 34067 at http://kuow.org How To Make The Affordable Care Act Better Why Oregon's Health Exchange Website Failed http://kuow.org/post/why-oregons-health-exchange-website-failed <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Oregon Public Broadcasting reporter and producer <a href="http://www.opb.org/contributor/kristian-foden-vencil/">Kristian Foden-Vencil</a> about&nbsp; Oregon's troubled health exchange website,<a href="https://www.coveroregon.com//"> Cover Oregon</a>. Wed, 07 May 2014 22:16:21 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 34048 at http://kuow.org Why Oregon's Health Exchange Website Failed New Rule Promises 'No Surprises' From Health Insurance Plans http://kuow.org/post/new-rule-promises-no-surprises-health-insurance-plans <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman&nbsp;checks in with Washington State Insurance Commissioner Mike Kreidler&nbsp;about a <a href="http://www.insurance.wa.gov/laws-rules/legislation-rules/proposed-rules/2013-22/">new rule</a> that will mandate increased transparency for plans offered on the Washington state health exchange. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 22:42:15 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Christine Streich 33550 at http://kuow.org New Rule Promises 'No Surprises' From Health Insurance Plans Candidates Jump On Cover Oregon's Troubles http://kuow.org/post/candidates-jump-cover-oregons-troubles <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/042514CL_coveroregon_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The finger-pointing is underway now that the state of Oregon has decided to scrap its troubled health insurance exchange website.<p> Mon, 28 Apr 2014 15:17:39 +0000 Chris Lehman 33438 at http://kuow.org Candidates Jump On Cover Oregon's Troubles Giving Up On Its Obamacare Exchange No Cure For Oregon's Ills http://kuow.org/post/giving-its-obamacare-exchange-no-cure-oregons-ills Oregon has been "all in" on health reform. Sun, 27 Apr 2014 16:00:00 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil 33408 at http://kuow.org Giving Up On Its Obamacare Exchange No Cure For Oregon's Ills White House Honors Community Health Enrollment 'Champions' http://kuow.org/post/white-house-honors-community-health-enrollment-champions <p></p><p>This week the White House honored community heroes for their work in educating and signing up Asian American and Pacific Island residents for health care. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 15:44:42 +0000 Ruby de Luna 33259 at http://kuow.org White House Honors Community Health Enrollment 'Champions' About 600,000 Washington Residents Enrolled Through Health Exchange http://kuow.org/post/about-600000-washington-residents-enrolled-through-health-exchange <p></p><p>State and local officials are celebrating the robust number of people who signed up for health care through Washington’s exchange over the open enrollment period.</p><p>Between last October through the end of March, more than 164,000 Washington residents bought private health plans through the state exchange. In addition, more than 423,000 people got coverage through Washington Apple Health, the state’s Medicaid program.&nbsp; Thu, 24 Apr 2014 15:22:07 +0000 Ruby de Luna 33166 at http://kuow.org About 600,000 Washington Residents Enrolled Through Health Exchange The Challenges Of Medicaid Expansion http://kuow.org/post/challenges-medicaid-expansion <p></p><p>Steve Scher&nbsp;talks with Washington state Medicaid Director<a href="http://www.nashp.org/spotlight/maryanne-lindeblad" target="_blank"> MaryAnne Lindeblad</a> about how the state plans to accommodate more than 250,000 newly enrolled residents who <a href="http://www.wahbexchange.org/news-resources/press-room/press-releases/april-1-enrollment-report">qualified for Medicaid expansion</a> under the Affordable Care Act. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:06:31 +0000 Steve Scher & Christine Streich 32749 at http://kuow.org The Challenges Of Medicaid Expansion Health Secretary Kathleen Sebelius Is Resigning http://kuow.org/post/health-secretary-kathleen-sebelius-resigning Health Secrerary Kathleen Sebelius is resigning after a five-year term that will no doubt be remembered for the calamitous implementation of President Obama's signature legislation, the Affordable Care Act.<p>If you remember, when the federal government unveiled HealthCare.gov, where Americans could buy health insurance mandated by Obamacare, the site was essentially useless for weeks after it launched in October.<p>Republicans <a href="http://www.npr.org/2013/10/26/240839038/loyal-soldier-sebelius-vows-to-stay-put-fix-healthcare-gov">openly called for Sebelius' resignation</a>, but she vowed Thu, 10 Apr 2014 23:25:00 +0000 Eyder Peralta 32336 at http://kuow.org Health Secretary Kathleen Sebelius Is Resigning Health Reform May Free People From 'Job Lock' http://kuow.org/post/health-reform-may-free-people-job-lock <p></p><p>One of the goals of the Affordable Care Act is to give access to people who currently don’t have health insurance.</p><p>Supporters see another benefit — to give people who dream of quitting their day jobs for a chance to become an entrepreneur. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 14:46:25 +0000 Ruby de Luna 32245 at http://kuow.org Health Reform May Free People From 'Job Lock' What To Do If You Still Don't Have Health Insurance http://kuow.org/post/what-do-if-you-still-dont-have-health-insurance <p></p><p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with <a href="http://www.wahbexchange.org/about-us/exchange-staff/richard-onizuka/">Richard Onizuka</a>, CEO of the Washington Health Benefit Exchange, about what people can do if they missed the March 31 deadline to sign up for health insurance. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 21:12:45 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 32230 at http://kuow.org What To Do If You Still Don't Have Health Insurance Slow SPD Reform, Health Care Milestone, And The Mariners Start Strong http://kuow.org/post/slow-spd-reform-health-care-milestone-and-mariners-start-strong <p>Steve Scher recaps the news of the week with Knute Berger of Crosscut and Seattle Magazine, political analyst C.R. Douglas for Q13 Fox News and associate editor Eli Sanders of The Stranger. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 23:02:01 +0000 Steve Scher 31948 at http://kuow.org Slow SPD Reform, Health Care Milestone, And The Mariners Start Strong