Medicaid http://kuow.org en The Challenges Of Medicaid Expansion http://kuow.org/post/challenges-medicaid-expansion <p></p><p>Steve Scher&nbsp;talks with Washington state Medicaid Director<a href="http://www.nashp.org/spotlight/maryanne-lindeblad" target="_blank"> MaryAnne Lindeblad</a> about how the state plans to accommodate more than 250,000 newly enrolled residents who <a href="http://www.wahbexchange.org/news-resources/press-room/press-releases/april-1-enrollment-report">qualified for Medicaid expansion</a> under the Affordable Care Act. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:06:31 +0000 Steve Scher & Christine Streich 32749 at http://kuow.org The Challenges Of Medicaid Expansion Washington Reports An 'Unprecedented' Drop In Medicaid ER Visits http://kuow.org/post/washington-reports-unprecedented-drop-medicaid-er-visits <p>A year after hospitals began discouraging Medicaid patients from making unnecessary emergency room visits, the results are promising. A <a href="http://www.hca.wa.gov/Documents/EmergencyDeptUtilization.pdf">new state report</a> shows the number of unnecessary visits to ERs in Washington fell by 10 percent last year. &nbsp;</p><p>“A 10 percent reduction is almost unprecedented,” said Dr. Nathan Schlicher, an ER physician at St. Joseph’s Hospital in Tacoma. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 14:53:48 +0000 Ruby de Luna 30976 at http://kuow.org Washington Reports An 'Unprecedented' Drop In Medicaid ER Visits Addiction Recovery Programs In Danger Of Losing Funding http://kuow.org/post/addiction-recovery-programs-danger-losing-funding <p>Steve Scher talks with Linda Grant, CEO of <a href="http://www.evergreenmanor.org/">Evergreen Manor</a>, about potential funding cuts to drug treatment programs for low-income patients in Washington state. Evergreen Manor is a non-profit drug and alcohol treatment center in Everett. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 23:17:39 +0000 Steve Scher & Andy Hurst 30014 at http://kuow.org Addiction Recovery Programs In Danger Of Losing Funding Affordable Care Act Opens Door To More Inmate Enrollment http://kuow.org/post/affordable-care-act-opens-door-more-inmate-enrollment <p>Health care enrollments so far have been focused on people without insurance. But there’s another population officials are trying to get covered – people locked up behind bars. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 15:37:54 +0000 Ruby de Luna 29682 at http://kuow.org Affordable Care Act Opens Door To More Inmate Enrollment Thousands Of Medicaid Recipients Lose Health Coverage http://kuow.org/post/thousands-medicaid-recipients-lose-health-coverage <p>Washington residents who tried to buy health insurance through the health exchange weren’t the only ones to experience technical difficulties.</p><p>About 20,000 Medicaid recipients encountered similar problems when they went to the exchange in November, preventing them from renewing their coverage. That’s roughly a third of Medicaid patients for that month. Fri, 10 Jan 2014 15:47:40 +0000 Ruby de Luna 26828 at http://kuow.org Thousands Of Medicaid Recipients Lose Health Coverage Minding The Medicaid Patient http://kuow.org/post/minding-medicaid-patient <p>Washington state has been trying to cut medical costs associated with Medicaid beneficiaries. This month it launched a new program called Health Homes. It’s part of the Affordable Care Act and is designed to help people who are not able to manage their chronic health conditions on their own. Mon, 08 Jul 2013 18:03:43 +0000 Ruby de Luna 16051 at http://kuow.org State Reports Drop In Unnecessary Emergency Room Use http://kuow.org/post/state-reports-drop-unnecessary-emergency-room-use <p></p><p>A preliminary report from the Washington State Hospital Association shows that emergency room&nbsp; visits by frequent users fell by 23 percent between June and October of last year.</p><p> Fri, 25 Jan 2013 15:54:50 +0000 Ruby de Luna 7123 at http://kuow.org State Reports Drop In Unnecessary Emergency Room Use What Would The Expansion Of Medicaid Mean For Washington State? http://kuow.org/post/what-would-expansion-medicaid-mean-washington-state <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Medicaid expansion is one of the key decisions state lawmakers in Olympia face this session. Proponents say it would expand coverage to the uninsured, save the state money and boost the economy. Critics say it’s not clear how much the expansions will eventually cost state taxpayers. Ross Reynolds takes a closer look at Medicaid expansion with University of Washington public health-expert Aaron Katz.</p><p> Mon, 14 Jan 2013 20:00:00 +0000 Ross Reynolds 6541 at http://kuow.org Governor-Elect Inslee Committed To Health Care Changes http://kuow.org/post/governor-elect-inslee-committed-health-care-changes <p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Democrat Jay Inslee made his first public appearance since he won the election. The Governor-Elect spoke Wednesday at a health care policy conference in SeaTac. He reiterated his commitment to change health care in Washington state through the Affordable Care Act.<br> Thu, 10 Jan 2013 16:04:17 +0000 Ruby de Luna 6356 at http://kuow.org Governor-Elect Inslee Committed To Health Care Changes Washington State To Cover Autism Therapy For Medicaid Kids http://kuow.org/post/washington-state-cover-autism-therapy-medicaid-kids <p>Low-income parents will soon have a way to get treatment for their children with autism. Starting in January, Washington state will cover applied behavior analysis (ABA) therapy for kids with Medicaid coverage. The new benefit is part of a legal settlement between the state and a local advocacy group for children with autism.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 01 Nov 2012 01:34:57 +0000 Ruby de Luna 2737 at http://kuow.org How Will The Next Washington Governor Shape Medicaid? http://kuow.org/post/how-will-next-washington-governor-shape-medicaid <p>Whoever is elected as governor this fall could change the course of Washington state's Medicaid program. When the US Supreme Court ruled on the Affordable Care Act in June, it determined that the law went too far when it required states to expand Medicaid. The ruling left it up to states to decide whether or not to open up the program to cover people without insurance.</p> Thu, 25 Oct 2012 17:12:11 +0000 Ruby de Luna 2318 at http://kuow.org How Will The Next Washington Governor Shape Medicaid?