Democrats http://kuow.org en Democratic Donor Blames Racist Comments On Ancient Spirit She's Channeling http://kuow.org/post/democratic-donor-blames-racist-comments-ancient-spirit-shes-channeling <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks to Seattle Weekly writer Rick Anderson about JZ Knight, a woman from the town of Yelm who claims to be channeling an ancient warrior spirit named Ramtha. Knight is seeking a restraining order against the Evergreen Freedom Foundation in Olympia for circulating a video where Knight is shown making racial slurs. Wed, 28 May 2014 23:09:11 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Cameron Drews 35376 at http://kuow.org Democratic Donor Blames Racist Comments On Ancient Spirit She's Channeling Midterm Elections: Will Democrats Take Control Of The State Senate? http://kuow.org/post/midterm-elections-will-democrats-take-control-state-senate <p>Steve Scher talks to writer and political consultant Chris Vance about key races that might tip the scale in favor of Senate Democrats. Tue, 27 May 2014 22:27:59 +0000 Steve Scher & Cameron Drews 35313 at http://kuow.org Seattle Sends A New Face To Olympia – Brady Walkinshaw, 29 http://kuow.org/post/seattle-sends-new-face-olympia-brady-walkinshaw-29 <p>When Brady&nbsp;Walkinshaw&nbsp;was a young child growing up in rural Whatcom County, his parents noticed he had a particular affinity for politics.</p><p>By the age of 4 or 5, “I have vivid memories of him organizing books on the floor [about] states and trying to figure out where the capitals were,” his father Charlie said.</p><p> Tue, 14 Jan 2014 00:35:34 +0000 Deborah Wang 26948 at http://kuow.org Seattle Sends A New Face To Olympia – Brady Walkinshaw, 29 Tom Foley, Former House Speaker, Dies At 84 http://kuow.org/post/tom-foley-former-house-speaker-dies-84 <p>Tom Foley, a Spokane Democrat who rose to become speaker of the House in 1989, died Friday morning at his current home in Washington, DC.&nbsp;He was 84.&nbsp;</p><p>His wife Heather Foley &nbsp;told the Associated Press her husband died of complications from strokes. Foley had been in hospice care in the nation's capital for the past six months.</p><p>Foley left Congress in 1994, when Republicans took control of the U.S. House of Representatives for the first time in 40 years. Foley was the first House speaker to be defeated in his home district since the Civil War.</p> Fri, 18 Oct 2013 16:24:21 +0000 Austin Jenkins 22279 at http://kuow.org Tom Foley, Former House Speaker, Dies At 84 Democrat Concedes Secretary Of State Contest http://kuow.org/post/democrat-concedes-secretary-state-contest <p>Democrat Kathleen Drew has conceded the race for Washington secretary of state.</p><p>In a statement Saturday, Drew said of her Republican rival Kim Wyman, "I know that she will carry forward Washington’s tradition of fair and impartial elections, and I am optimistic that she will work on measures to remove barriers and increase voter participation."</p><p> Tue, 13 Nov 2012 08:09:05 +0000 Phyllis Fletcher 3405 at http://kuow.org Democrat Concedes Secretary Of State Contest New Washington Democrats Face Tough Choices In Congress http://kuow.org/post/new-washington-democrats-face-tough-choices-congress <p></p><p>At a post-election lunch for politicians and labor leaders, Democrats were savoring their victories, but also contemplating the tough choices awaiting progressives in Congress this month. Fri, 09 Nov 2012 03:24:05 +0000 Amy Radil 3299 at http://kuow.org New Washington Democrats Face Tough Choices In Congress Washington State GOP Searching Its Soul Over Losses http://kuow.org/post/washington-state-gop-searching-its-soul-over-losses <p></p><p></p><p>As the vote count continues, Washington Republicans are preparing for possible losses in several key state races.<br><br>Democratic attorney general hopeful Bob Ferguson leads Republican Reagan Dunn. The two are vying for the seat left open by Republican Rob McKenna, who stepped down to run for governor. McKenna has held the office since 2005. Thu, 08 Nov 2012 02:45:04 +0000 Deborah Wang 3228 at http://kuow.org Washington State GOP Searching Its Soul Over Losses WA Democrats Make Final Push to Get Out The Vote http://kuow.org/post/wa-democrats-make-final-push-get-out-vote <p>Democratic Party activists in the state of Washington were in high gear this weekend conducting a massive get-out-the-vote campaign. Hundreds of volunteers manned phone banks and fanned out across neighborhoods to encourage people who hadn’t voted to turn in their ballots.</p><p> Mon, 05 Nov 2012 16:08:10 +0000 Deborah Wang 2941 at http://kuow.org WA Democrats Make Final Push to Get Out The Vote New Political Lines Being Drawn On Eastside http://kuow.org/post/new-political-lines-being-drawn-eastside <p>The voters in the cities and towns on the east side of Lake Washington are a diverse bunch. Gone is the red swath that once ran up the I-405 corridor. Changing economics and demographics have created patches of blue and a purple hue where the outcomes of statewide elections are determined. We talk with&nbsp;Knute Berger about how Democrats and Independents are reshaping Eastside politics and where Republicans are digging in.</p><p> Thu, 25 Oct 2012 16:00:00 +0000 Steve Scher 2314 at http://kuow.org New Political Lines Being Drawn On Eastside