arts & life http://kuow.org en Under The Streets Of Naples, A Way Out For Local Kids http://kuow.org/post/under-streets-naples-way-out-local-kids For decades, the streets of Naples have been menaced by the Camorra mafia — stroll the streets of Sanità, an inner-city neighborhood, and you'll overhear pop songs like <em>O Panar e Drog</em>, featuring a singer boasting about buying and using "a breadbasket full" of drugs off Sanità's streets.<p>But underneath those cobblestones lies a gem of early Christian art: The Catacombs of San Gennaro. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 17:37:01 +0000 Christopher Livesay 32738 at http://kuow.org Under The Streets Of Naples, A Way Out For Local Kids Female Pioneer Credited With Bringing Sound Effects To Radio http://kuow.org/post/female-pioneer-credited-bringing-sound-effects-radio <p>It’s no secret that radio in the early days was a man’s game. Men were the directors, the producers, the composers and the sound effect technicians. But it was a woman who was a major influence in the sound effects profession. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 16:15:24 +0000 Katy Sewall 32652 at http://kuow.org Female Pioneer Credited With Bringing Sound Effects To Radio Ukrainians In Seattle React To Crisis Back Home http://kuow.org/post/ukrainians-seattle-react-crisis-back-home <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>When there’s daylight in Seattle, it’s usually night time in Ukraine. But that time difference doesn't matter to many Ukrainians here, who are anxious for news of the crisis unfolding in their motherland.</p><p>“We have 32 channels from Ukraine so we can watch every day,” said Peter Drogomiretskiy during a recent interview at his home in Brier, Wash. He sometimes watches Ukrainian news coverage with his wife, Valha Drogomiretskiy, until 3 a.m. and only sleeps a few hours before work.</p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 14:43:33 +0000 Liz Jones 32700 at http://kuow.org Ukrainians In Seattle React To Crisis Back Home Sichuan Pepper's Buzz May Reveal Secrets Of The Nervous System http://kuow.org/post/sichuan-peppers-buzz-may-reveal-secrets-nervous-system The Sichuan peppercorn is known to give some Chinese dishes a pleasant tingling feeling.<p>What's not so pleasant is that pins-and-needles feeling we get when our foot falls asleep — or when people who suffer from <a href="http://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/paresthesia/paresthesia.htm">paresthesia</a> experience constant tingling in their limbs.<p><a href="http://mcb.berkeley.edu/index.php?option=com_mcbfaculty&name=bautistad">Diana Bautista</a>, a neuroscientist at the University of California, Berkeley, wondered: Could these sensations be connected?<p>Bautista says a lot of what we know come Thu, 17 Apr 2014 07:25:00 +0000 Ike Sriskandarajah 32709 at http://kuow.org Sichuan Pepper's Buzz May Reveal Secrets Of The Nervous System Navigating Love, Marriage, And Two Different Cultures http://kuow.org/post/navigating-love-marriage-and-two-different-cultures <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with author Krista Bremer about her memoir, "My Accidental Jihad." In it Bremer reflects on her marriage to a Libyan-born Muslim and the challenges she faced in a multicultural family. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 22:54:49 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 32698 at http://kuow.org Navigating Love, Marriage, And Two Different Cultures An Ex-Seminarian's Take On Sexual Abuse Scandal http://kuow.org/post/ex-seminarians-take-sexual-abuse-scandal <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds interviews local author Fred Moody about his account of discovering his seminary's sexual abuse past in his book, "Unspeakable Joy."</p><p><em>This interview originally aired on November 18, 2013.</em><br /> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 20:33:10 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 24069 at http://kuow.org An Ex-Seminarian's Take On Sexual Abuse Scandal Sous Vide Makes Its Way To The Home Kitchen http://kuow.org/post/sous-vide-makes-its-way-home-kitchen <em>Sous vide.</em> Not that long ago, it sounded so exotic — or, at least, so <em>French</em>. It was a phrase that belonged in restaurants, amid white tablecloths and flower arrangements and hushed conversations. Alternatively, it was a word that belonged to the modernist kitchens just beyond the swinging doors — kitchens filled with gleaming dehydrators and transglutaminase "meat glues" and spherification siphons and more.<p>I first heard it in the kitchen of now-famous Wylie Dufresne's first restaurant, 71 Clinton Fresh Food, where I was a clueless intern in the spring of 2000. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 17:42:22 +0000 T. Susan Chang 32666 at http://kuow.org Sous Vide Makes Its Way To The Home Kitchen The Millennial Work-Life Revolution In Seattle http://kuow.org/post/millennial-work-life-revolution-seattle <p></p><p></p><p>The millennial generation is taking control over how they work and how they live. The group, currently about 18 to 33 years old, is adopting technology that is disrupting old structures and writing the playbook on how to take advantage of technological change. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 16:34:03 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 32591 at http://kuow.org The Millennial Work-Life Revolution In Seattle Ken Burns On 'The Greatest Speech In American History' http://kuow.org/post/ken-burns-greatest-speech-american-history <p></p><p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with filmmaker Ken Burns about his new documentary, "<a href="http://www.pbs.org/kenburns/the-address/home/">The Address</a>."</p><p>The film captures the story of a <a href="http://www.greenwood.org/">school for boys</a> with learning differences and disabilities in Vermont where the students are encouraged to recite <span class="st">President Abraham Lincoln's </span>Gettysburg Address. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:40:04 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Jason Pagano 32622 at http://kuow.org Ken Burns On 'The Greatest Speech In American History' How To Successfully Conduct Interfaith Dialogue http://kuow.org/post/how-successfully-conduct-interfaith-dialogue <p>Steve Scher talks with Rabbi Ted Falcon, Pastor Don Mackenzie and Imam Jamal Rahman about how to engage in a successful interfaith dialogue. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:17:12 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 32618 at http://kuow.org How To Successfully Conduct Interfaith Dialogue How Collaborative Commons Is The Beginning Of The End For Capitalism http://kuow.org/post/how-collaborative-commons-beginning-end-capitalism <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with Jeremy Rifkin about his new book, "The Zero Marginal Cost Society: The Internet of Things, the Collaborative Commons, and the Eclipse of Capitalism." Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:09:53 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 32614 at http://kuow.org How Collaborative Commons Is The Beginning Of The End For Capitalism John Luther Adams Wins Pulitzer For 'Become Ocean' http://kuow.org/post/john-luther-adams-wins-pulitzer-become-ocean <p></p><p>Composer John Luther Adams was as surprised as anybody when the <a href="http://www.pulitzer.org/awards/2014">Pulitzer Prize</a> committee called him Monday, April 14, to let him know he'd won the prize for his composition "Become Ocean." Tue, 15 Apr 2014 21:58:09 +0000 Marcie Sillman 32616 at http://kuow.org John Luther Adams Wins Pulitzer For 'Become Ocean' Twitter Lessons From The Boston Marathon Bombings http://kuow.org/post/twitter-lessons-boston-marathon-bombings <p>When the deadly Boston Marathon bombings happened a year ago, people flocked to social media sites like Twitter for information. But that led to some problems, including the misidentification of one of the suspected bombers and other reports that turned out to be false. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 17:09:43 +0000 Jamala Henderson 32577 at http://kuow.org Twitter Lessons From The Boston Marathon Bombings Runner Returns To Boston With A New Outlook On Life http://kuow.org/post/runner-returns-boston-new-outlook-life <em><a href="http://npr8.tumblr.com/runners">Eight runners</a> entered in the 2014 Boston Marathon are <a href="http://npr8.tumblr.com/">documenting their race preparations</a> for NPR in a Tumblr blog. <a href="http://npr8.tumblr.com/tagged/demi-clark">Demi Clark</a> is one of the eight, and this is her story.</em><p><hr /><p>Demi Clark was having a storybook Boston Marathon experience when the first blast sounded out like a cannon behind her. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 11:33:00 +0000 editor 32562 at http://kuow.org Runner Returns To Boston With A New Outlook On Life Emma Donoghue's New Novel 'Frog Music' http://kuow.org/post/emma-donoghues-new-novel-frog-music <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with writer Emma Donoghue about her new book, "Frog Music." It was inspired by the unsolved 1876 murder of a woman named Jenny Bonnet in San Francisco.</p><p>Donoghue also discusses about how fact inspires her fiction. Her award-winning novel, "Room," was about a 5-year-old boy and his mother who were kept prisoner by their father and husband, respectively, in a backyard shed. The book was based, in small part, on a real life story Donoghue had seen in the news. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 22:34:42 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Arwen Nicks 32509 at http://kuow.org Emma Donoghue's New Novel 'Frog Music'