More from KUOW http://kuow.org en Fandom: What Happens When You Like Something Too Much http://kuow.org/post/fandom-what-happens-when-you-something-too-much <p></p><p>Hordes of screaming people bowing down before an ancient god.</p><p>This didn't happen in some ancient temple; this was a normal part of vacation for the hundreds of thousands of fans who descend for San Diego's Comic-Con every summer. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 19:16:32 +0000 Sophie Ding & Kendra Hanna & Madeline Ewbank & Chris Otey & Ardo Hersi 33133 at http://kuow.org Fandom: What Happens When You Like Something Too Much America's Best Barista To Be Crowned In Seattle This Week http://kuow.org/post/americas-best-barista-be-crowned-seattle-week <p></p><p>The best barista in America gets crowned this week in Seattle at a meeting of the <a href="http://www.scaaevent.org/">Specialty Coffee Association of America</a> taking place at the Convention Center.</p><p>Baristas from across America will be timed and judged as they make espressos and cappuccinos while talking about the coffee they're serving. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 14:29:42 +0000 Bill Radke 33135 at http://kuow.org America's Best Barista To Be Crowned In Seattle This Week Jennifer Hopper Reclaims Her Identity With Love And Honesty http://kuow.org/post/jennifer-hopper-reclaims-her-identity-love-and-honesty <p>A life can change in a moment.</p><p>For Jennifer Hopper, that moment was July 19, 2009, the night Isaiah Kalebu broke into the South Park home that Hopper shared with her fiancée Teresa Butz. The man repeatedly stabbed and raped the two women. Butz died on the street in front of her home. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 23:18:01 +0000 Marcie Sillman 33136 at http://kuow.org Jennifer Hopper Reclaims Her Identity With Love And Honesty Snohomish County Considers Development Ban In Landslide Risk Areas http://kuow.org/post/snohomish-county-considers-development-ban-landslide-risk-areas <p>Marcie Sillman hears from Snohomish County Council President David Somers about his proposed six-month moratorium on building and development in landslide prone areas. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 22:26:39 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Christine Streich 33113 at http://kuow.org Snohomish County Considers Development Ban In Landslide Risk Areas Why Seattle Author Maria Semple Hates Facebook And Twitter http://kuow.org/post/why-seattle-author-maria-semple-hates-facebook-and-twitter <p></p><p>David Hyde talks with Seattle author <a href="http://www2.kuow.org/program.php?id=28165">Maria Semple </a>about why she thinks social media is the biggest threat to writing and art since&nbsp;<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YlpbYbi6lSk">Peter Criss' first solo album. </a> Wed, 23 Apr 2014 22:20:30 +0000 David Hyde 33111 at http://kuow.org Why Seattle Author Maria Semple Hates Facebook And Twitter Why More Police Departments Are Under Scrutiny Today http://kuow.org/post/why-more-police-departments-are-under-scrutiny-today <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with police accountability expert, Samuel Walker, about the increased policing of the police. Walker is also the co-author of "The New World of Police Accountability." Wed, 23 Apr 2014 22:20:26 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 33149 at http://kuow.org Why More Police Departments Are Under Scrutiny Today It's A Foregone Conclusion That You Are Quoting Shakespeare http://kuow.org/post/its-foregone-conclusion-you-are-quoting-shakespeare <p>To celebrate William Shakespeare’s 450<sup>th</sup> birthday, Christopher Gaze takes a moment to remind you how the great playwright lives in the way you talk. Gaze is the artistic director of the annual <a href="http://www.bardonthebeach.org/">Bard on the Beach</a> festival in Vancouver, British Columbia. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 16:18:31 +0000 Bill Radke 33096 at http://kuow.org It's A Foregone Conclusion That You Are Quoting Shakespeare First Earth Day Organizer Offers Advice On Handling Eco-Complacency http://kuow.org/post/first-earth-day-organizer-offers-advice-handling-eco-complacency <div><p></p><p>David Hyde talks with environmental activist <a href="http://bullitt.org/who-we-are/staff" style="line-height: 1.5; color: rgb(1, 143, 226); text-decoration: underline;"><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Denis Hayes</span></a> about some Earth Day advice for people who have become eco-complacent. Hayes served as the national coordinator to organize the first Earth Day in 1970. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 22:03:57 +0000 David Hyde & Arwen Nicks 33037 at http://kuow.org First Earth Day Organizer Offers Advice On Handling Eco-Complacency Community Police Commission Weighs In On Discipline http://kuow.org/post/community-police-commission-weighs-discipline <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Lisa Daugaard, co-chair of the <a href="https://www.seattle.gov/community-police-commission">Community Police Commission</a>, about the discipline system for Seattle police officers. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 21:55:25 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 33053 at http://kuow.org Community Police Commission Weighs In On Discipline Rainier Beach Pastor: We Can't Serve The Community Without Welcoming Everyone http://kuow.org/post/rainier-beach-pastor-we-cant-serve-community-without-welcoming-everyone <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Reverend Monica Corsaro of the Rainier Beach United Methodist Church about the <a href="http://kuow.org/post/meetings-will-continue-rainier-beach-church-despite-revocation-boy-scout-charter">future of Boy Scout Troop 98</a>. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 21:50:09 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Christine Streich 33054 at http://kuow.org Rainier Beach Pastor: We Can't Serve The Community Without Welcoming Everyone Langdon Cook On 'The Mushroom Hunters' http://kuow.org/post/langdon-cook-mushroom-hunters <p>Ever wonder who heads into the woods to gather those gourmet wild mushrooms that adorn the plates in Seattle’s finest restaurants? Forager and author&nbsp;<a href="http://langdoncook.com/">Langdon Cook</a> introduces us to the motley crew that hunts out the chanterelles and morels we love in his new book, “The Mushroom Hunters.” Tue, 22 Apr 2014 17:49:19 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Jason Pagano 20264 at http://kuow.org Langdon Cook On 'The Mushroom Hunters' Northwest Sherpa Community Mourns For Everest Avalanche Victims http://kuow.org/post/northwest-sherpa-community-mourns-everest-avalanche-victims <p>Marcie Sillman speaks with Mingma T. Sherpa, a Seattle-area resident who grew up in Khumjung, Nepal.</p><p>Mingma is also a member of the <a href="http://www.northwestsherpa.org">Northwest Sherpa Association. </a>He talks about the deadly avalanche on Mount Everest that killed 16 Sherpas, including his childhood friend. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 17:20:10 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Posey Gruener 33063 at http://kuow.org Northwest Sherpa Community Mourns For Everest Avalanche Victims How Microsoft's Windows Phone Stacks Up Against Its Competitors http://kuow.org/post/how-microsofts-windows-phone-stacks-against-its-competitors <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Geekwire's Todd Bishop about the Northwest tech industry and how the updates to Microsoft's Windows Phone 8.1 will impact its place in the growing smartphone market. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 22:21:05 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 32980 at http://kuow.org How Microsoft's Windows Phone Stacks Up Against Its Competitors Immigrant Business Owners Weigh In On Seattle's Minimum Wage http://kuow.org/post/immigrant-business-owners-weigh-seattles-minimum-wage <p></p><p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with Taylor Hoang, owner of the Pho Cyclo Cafe, about the minimum wage debate in Seattle.</p><p>As an immigrant business owner, Hoang is in favor of a proposal that would implement a much lower minimum wage. The proposal would raise the minimum wage to $10.35 and gradually increase to $15 over the next 10 years. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 22:10:14 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Christine Streich 32974 at http://kuow.org Immigrant Business Owners Weigh In On Seattle's Minimum Wage The Growing Wage Gap Between Executives And Workers http://kuow.org/post/growing-wage-gap-between-executives-and-workers <p></p><p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with Seattle Times economics columnist Jon Talton about the growing income gap between CEOs and workers. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 21:59:12 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 32971 at http://kuow.org The Growing Wage Gap Between Executives And Workers