News http://kuow.org en Washington State Jobs Picture Shows Slow Growth http://kuow.org/post/washington-state-jobs-picture-shows-slow-growth <p></p><p>The latest figures show the unemployment rate in Washington state is holding steady at 6.3 percent. The Employment Security Department said the <a href="http://www.esd.wa.gov/newsandinformation/releases/14-022.php">state added an estimated 6,700 jobs in March</a>.&nbsp;The biggest job gains last month were seen in professional and business services. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 22:52:41 +0000 Patricia Murphy 32691 at http://kuow.org Washington State Jobs Picture Shows Slow Growth Former Bonney Lake Man To Receive Medal Of Honor http://kuow.org/post/former-bonney-lake-man-receive-medal-honor <p></p><p>The White House announced President Barack Obama will award the Medal of Honor to a former Bonney Lake man on May 13, 2014. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 20:22:23 +0000 Patricia Murphy 32657 at http://kuow.org Former Bonney Lake Man To Receive Medal Of Honor Tacoma Teacher Wins Milken Educator Award http://kuow.org/post/tacoma-teacher-wins-milken-educator-award <p></p><p>A high school social studies teacher in Tacoma was caught off guard when he received a national award for his exceptional work in the classroom. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 20:19:33 +0000 Lisa Brooks 32672 at http://kuow.org Tacoma Teacher Wins Milken Educator Award The Millennial Work-Life Revolution In Seattle http://kuow.org/post/millennial-work-life-revolution-seattle <p></p><p></p><p>The millennial generation is taking control over how they work and how they live. The group, currently about 18 to 33 years old, is adopting technology that is disrupting old structures and writing the playbook on how to take advantage of technological change. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 16:34:03 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 32591 at http://kuow.org The Millennial Work-Life Revolution In Seattle DNR Head Defends Taking Timber Money Despite Vow http://kuow.org/post/dnr-head-defends-taking-timber-money-despite-vow <p>It's not unusual for elected officials to cozy up to people with money. Yet Washington Lands Commissioner Peter Goldmark's relationship with the timber industry he regulates has changed dramatically since the two-term Democrat first ran for the office six years ago. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 16:03:30 +0000 John Ryan 32625 at http://kuow.org DNR Head Defends Taking Timber Money Despite Vow Flags Lowered Across Washington To Honor Landslide Victims http://kuow.org/post/flags-lowered-across-washington-honor-landslide-victims <p>Flags are flying at half mast across Washington state this afternoon to honor victims of last month's deadly landslide. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 15:05:30 +0000 Tom Banse 32647 at http://kuow.org Flags Lowered Across Washington To Honor Landslide Victims Endangered Salmon Migrate Via Trucks Around Cracked Dam http://kuow.org/post/endangered-salmon-migrate-trucks-around-cracked-dam <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041514AK_Wanapum_salmonfix_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Columbia River will remain drawn down at least until June because of the cracked Wanapum Dam in southeast Washington.<p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 11:01:33 +0000 Anna King 32644 at http://kuow.org Endangered Salmon Migrate Via Trucks Around Cracked Dam Washington Ethics Board To Consider Crackdown On Lobbyist-Paid Meals http://kuow.org/post/washington-ethics-board-consider-crackdown-lobbyist-paid-meals <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041514AJ_LobbyistDining_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>By next January, Washington lawmakers should have clearer guidance on when it’s OK to accept free meals from lobbyists.<p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 10:44:10 +0000 Austin Jenkins 32643 at http://kuow.org Washington Ethics Board To Consider Crackdown On Lobbyist-Paid Meals A New Western Outlaw: The Bee Rustler http://kuow.org/post/new-western-outlaw-bee-rustler <p>Warmer temperatures and blooming flowers are making it seem like we’ve finally turned the corner toward spring here in the Northwest. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 10:39:22 +0000 Ryan Haas 32646 at http://kuow.org A New Western Outlaw: The Bee Rustler Washington Commission Investigates 911 Outage http://kuow.org/post/washington-commission-investigates-911-outage <div id="lead"><p></p><p>The State Utilities and Transportation Commission has opened an investigation into last Thursday’s 911 emergency line outage. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 23:15:03 +0000 Patricia Murphy 32617 at http://kuow.org Washington Commission Investigates 911 Outage Twitter Lessons From The Boston Marathon Bombings http://kuow.org/post/twitter-lessons-boston-marathon-bombings <p>When the deadly Boston Marathon bombings happened a year ago, people flocked to social media sites like Twitter for information. But that led to some problems, including the misidentification of one of the suspected bombers and other reports that turned out to be false. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 17:09:43 +0000 Jamala Henderson 32577 at http://kuow.org Twitter Lessons From The Boston Marathon Bombings Highway 530 Will Take Months To Clear http://kuow.org/post/highway-530-will-take-months-clear <p>The Washington State Department of Transportation says it could take up to three months to clear debris from the mile-long stretch of State Route 530 covered by the Oso mudslide.</p><p>The task at hand is massive. WSDOT says it needs to move 100,000 cubic yards of material before the road can reopen. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 15:48:38 +0000 Patricia Murphy 32575 at http://kuow.org Highway 530 Will Take Months To Clear Washington Senate Majority Leader Tom Won't Seek Re-Election http://kuow.org/post/washington-senate-majority-leader-tom-wont-seek-re-election <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041414AJ_TomGone_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>One of the most influential and controversial members of the Washington legislature made a bombshell announcement Monday.<p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 15:04:08 +0000 Austin Jenkins 32572 at http://kuow.org Washington Senate Majority Leader Tom Won't Seek Re-Election Alfalfa Growers Hope To Rake In More Green This Year http://kuow.org/post/alfalfa-growers-hope-rake-more-green-year <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041414AK_Alfalfa_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Many Northwest alfalfa growers had a rough year with bad weather last summer.<p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 15:03:28 +0000 Anna King 32571 at http://kuow.org Alfalfa Growers Hope To Rake In More Green This Year Seattle's $15 Wage Campaign Eyes The Ballot http://kuow.org/post/seattles-15-wage-campaign-eyes-ballot <p>A Seattle group seeking a $15 minimum wage has filed paperwork to put the issue to voters. The move aims to increase pressure on Mayor Ed Murray and the City Council to pass a measure this year. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 23:39:12 +0000 Liz Jones 32545 at http://kuow.org Seattle's $15 Wage Campaign Eyes The Ballot