health http://kuow.org en How Do Babies Perceive Fairness? The Answer Might Surprise You http://kuow.org/post/how-do-babies-perceive-fairness-answer-might-surprise-you <p></p><p>David Hyde talks with Jessica Sommerville, psychology professor at the University of Washington, about her recent <a href="http://www.washington.edu/news/2014/04/14/babies-prefer-fairness-but-only-if-it-benefits-them-in-choosing-a-playmate/">study that explores how babies perceive justice</a>.</p><p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 22:16:46 +0000 David Hyde & Andy Hurst 32816 at http://kuow.org How Do Babies Perceive Fairness? The Answer Might Surprise You The Challenges Of Medicaid Expansion http://kuow.org/post/challenges-medicaid-expansion <p></p><p>Steve Scher&nbsp;talks with Washington state Medicaid Director<a href="http://www.nashp.org/spotlight/maryanne-lindeblad" target="_blank"> MaryAnne Lindeblad</a> about how the state plans to accommodate more than 250,000 newly enrolled residents who <a href="http://www.wahbexchange.org/news-resources/press-room/press-releases/april-1-enrollment-report">qualified for Medicaid expansion</a> under the Affordable Care Act. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:06:31 +0000 Steve Scher & Christine Streich 32749 at http://kuow.org The Challenges Of Medicaid Expansion Meet The Woman Pushing To Make Restaurant Food Safer In King County http://kuow.org/post/meet-woman-pushing-make-restaurant-food-safer-king-county <p>Ross Reynolds interviews Sarah Schacht, <span style="line-height: 1.5;">who&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">has survived two bouts of&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">E.coli,</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> about</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> her grassroots effort to make restaurant inspection results more public in King County. &nbsp; </span> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 22:42:58 +0000 Ross Reynolds & David Hyde 32697 at http://kuow.org Meet The Woman Pushing To Make Restaurant Food Safer In King County Study Links Casual Pot Use With Brain Abnormalities http://kuow.org/post/study-links-casual-pot-use-brain-abnormalities Young adults who smoke marijuana at least once a week showed changes in the size and shape of two key brain regions, according to a new study of 20 pot smokers and 20 non-pot smokers between 18 and 25.<p>This is the first time recreational marijuana use has been connected to significant brain changes.<p>The findings, a collaboration between Northwestern University and Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School, were published in The Journal of Neuroscience.<p>The senior author of the study, <strong>Hans Breiter</strong>, joins <em><a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/">Here & Now&#82 Wed, 16 Apr 2014 17:40:39 +0000 editor 32659 at http://kuow.org Study Links Casual Pot Use With Brain Abnormalities Colorado High School Offers Treatment To Drug Users http://kuow.org/post/colorado-high-school-offers-treatment-drug-users Ever since recreational marijuana became legal in Colorado in January, some school officials say they&#8217;re seeing more students using it. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 17:40:33 +0000 editor 32658 at http://kuow.org Colorado High School Offers Treatment To Drug Users 'Lack Of Accountability:' An Investigation Into Wrongful Deaths At VA Hospitals http://kuow.org/post/lack-accountability-investigation-wrongful-deaths-va-hospitals <p>Ross Reynolds talks with journalist Aaron Glantz about <a href="http://cironline.org/reports/va-pays-out-200-million-nearly-1000-veterans%E2%80%99-wrongful-deaths-6236">preventable deaths at Veterans Affairs hospitals</a>. Glantz covers veterans and military issues for the <a href="http://cironline.org/">Center for Investigative Reporting</a>. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 22:14:06 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 32514 at http://kuow.org 'Lack Of Accountability:' An Investigation Into Wrongful Deaths At VA Hospitals Apps To Kick Addictions; Sound Too Good To Be True? http://kuow.org/post/apps-kick-addictions-sound-too-good-be-true <p>Ross Reynolds talks with psychologist Jonathan Bricker about smartphone apps that claim to help users overcome addiction. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 22:24:32 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Ross Reynolds 32404 at http://kuow.org Apps To Kick Addictions; Sound Too Good To Be True? Health Secretary Kathleen Sebelius Is Resigning http://kuow.org/post/health-secretary-kathleen-sebelius-resigning Health Secrerary Kathleen Sebelius is resigning after a five-year term that will no doubt be remembered for the calamitous implementation of President Obama's signature legislation, the Affordable Care Act.<p>If you remember, when the federal government unveiled HealthCare.gov, where Americans could buy health insurance mandated by Obamacare, the site was essentially useless for weeks after it launched in October.<p>Republicans <a href="http://www.npr.org/2013/10/26/240839038/loyal-soldier-sebelius-vows-to-stay-put-fix-healthcare-gov">openly called for Sebelius' resignation</a>, but she vowed Thu, 10 Apr 2014 23:25:00 +0000 Eyder Peralta 32336 at http://kuow.org Health Secretary Kathleen Sebelius Is Resigning Even A Very Weak Signal From The Brain Might Help Paraplegics http://kuow.org/post/even-very-weak-signal-brain-might-help-paraplegics <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dJYzwuYKijU</p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 18:33:28 +0000 editor 32295 at http://kuow.org Even A Very Weak Signal From The Brain Might Help Paraplegics The Untold Story Of War With Ann Jones http://kuow.org/post/untold-story-war-ann-jones <p></p><p>Battle scars are not always visible.</p><p>Post-traumatic stress disorder affects almost 30 percent of soldiers who serve in Iraq and Afghanistan.</p><p>Journalist Ann Jones researched how war affects people’s minds by following troops in the Middle East. Her new book is called “They Were Soldiers: How the Wounded Return from America's Wars: The Untold Story.”</p><p>In it, Jones also looks at how war touches those close to soldiers: spouses, children, doctors and friends. She spoke at Town Hall on March 18, 2014. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 16:10:01 +0000 Rachel Solomon 31897 at http://kuow.org The Untold Story Of War With Ann Jones Health Reform May Free People From 'Job Lock' http://kuow.org/post/health-reform-may-free-people-job-lock <p></p><p>One of the goals of the Affordable Care Act is to give access to people who currently don’t have health insurance.</p><p>Supporters see another benefit — to give people who dream of quitting their day jobs for a chance to become an entrepreneur. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 14:46:25 +0000 Ruby de Luna 32245 at http://kuow.org Health Reform May Free People From 'Job Lock' Pop Stars Are Sippin' On Patron, And Teens Are Bingeing http://kuow.org/post/pop-stars-are-sippin-patron-and-teens-are-bingeing Ke$ha says that to start the day she'll brush her teeth with a bottle of Jack Daniel's whiskey. Nicki Minaj likes to "have a drink, have a clink" of Bud Light. And the party-rockin' hip-hop duo LMFAO like Ciroc, and they love Patron. "Shots, shots, shots, shots everybody!"<p>All that name-checking of alcohol brands encourages teens to drink, researchers say. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 19:57:00 +0000 editor 32226 at http://kuow.org Pop Stars Are Sippin' On Patron, And Teens Are Bingeing Measles At A Rock Concert Goes Viral In A Bad Way http://kuow.org/post/measles-rock-concert-goes-viral-bad-way <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RF0HhrwIwp0</p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 20:53:00 +0000 editor 32065 at http://kuow.org Measles At A Rock Concert Goes Viral In A Bad Way Pollution Is Not The Top Priority At Oso Landslide Site, But It Is A Concern http://kuow.org/post/pollution-not-top-priority-oso-landslide-site-it-concern <p></p><p>An orange backhoe beeps in the background as cleanup workers and search dogs slog through the gray-blue clay of the Oso landslide zone. In the distance a muddy American flag waves over hummocks of exposed roots, broken trees and the remnants of the 42 homes that used to line this stretch of highway in the Cascade Mountains northeast of Seattle. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 13:15:17 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 32041 at http://kuow.org Pollution Is Not The Top Priority At Oso Landslide Site, But It Is A Concern Measles Outbreak In British Columbia Crosses Northern Border http://kuow.org/post/measles-outbreak-british-columbia-crosses-northern-border <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040314TB_Measles_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A big measles outbreak in British Columbia has crossed over the border into the American Northwest.<p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 23:16:00 +0000 Tom Banse 31899 at http://kuow.org Measles Outbreak In British Columbia Crosses Northern Border