parenting http://kuow.org en Seeking Reconciliation For Fathers And Sons http://kuow.org/post/seeking-reconciliation-fathers-and-sons <p>Steve Scher talks with Garth Stein, author of "How Evan Broke His Head and Other Secrets." The book is about the ways fathers and sons seek some peace and mutual acceptance as they age. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 21:55:10 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 32238 at http://kuow.org Seeking Reconciliation For Fathers And Sons 'A Weighty Subject:' A Family Comes To Terms With A Trans Child http://kuow.org/post/weighty-subject-family-comes-terms-trans-child <p>Her eyes focused on the arcade screen, Bridget awaits her moment of transformation.</p><p>The 9-year-old is playing the video game Ms. Pac-Man, where the title character eats a magic pellet that turns her into a super being. As Bridget grips the joystick, the sunlight streaming in through a nearby window highlights her features: She has a face full of freckles, glinting, grey eyes and brown hair that tumbles past her shoulders.</p><p>“I’m good at this,” she says of the game. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 16:52:40 +0000 Rosette Royale 31434 at http://kuow.org 'A Weighty Subject:' A Family Comes To Terms With A Trans Child Kids These Days: Growing Up Too Fast Or Never At All? http://kuow.org/post/kids-these-days-growing-too-fast-or-never-all On the cover of the April issue of <em>The Atlantic</em> there's a picture of a boy who could be 6 or 7. He's looking to the right toward an adult, whose hand he's holding. He's also wearing a helmet and knee pads. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 14:39:30 +0000 NPR Staff 31000 at http://kuow.org Kids These Days: Growing Up Too Fast Or Never At All? Wife And Mother: 'You'd Never Suspect My Junkie Past' http://kuow.org/post/wife-and-mother-youd-never-suspect-my-junkie-past It has been seven years and two months since I woke from my coma. My eyelids were taped shut and my arms were cuffed to some unknown object. The first sense that came back was sound. I could hear the voices of doctors and nurses chatting about the weather.<p>I distinctly remember a doctor poking my bare feet with a scalpel. "Vegetable," I heard him say. Everything was blackness. "God, help me, what have I done?" I thought. I'm in hell, and I put myself here.<p>My demon was methadone. Sun, 16 Mar 2014 17:39:00 +0000 Amy Ward 30635 at http://kuow.org Wife And Mother: 'You'd Never Suspect My Junkie Past' Juggling Work And Motherhood On A Shoestring Budget http://kuow.org/post/juggling-work-and-motherhood-shoestring-budget <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wRQa7dOa4sU</p> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 15:45:43 +0000 NPR Staff 30446 at http://kuow.org Juggling Work And Motherhood On A Shoestring Budget Dave Barry On Parenting: 'We Need To Find A Cure For Puberty' http://kuow.org/post/dave-barry-parenting-we-need-find-cure-puberty <p>Steve Scher talks with humorist Dave Barry about his new book, "You Can Date Boys When You're Forty: Dave Barry On Parenting and Other Topics He Knows Very Little About." Tue, 11 Mar 2014 18:42:02 +0000 Steve Scher & Jason Pagano 30231 at http://kuow.org Dave Barry On Parenting: 'We Need To Find A Cure For Puberty' Of Cigs And Selfies: Teens Imitate Risky Behavior Shared Online http://kuow.org/post/cigs-and-selfies-teens-imitate-risky-behavior-shared-online Teenagers put a lot of stock in what their peers are doing, and parents are forever trying to push back against that influence. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 06:57:00 +0000 Patti Neighmond 30157 at http://kuow.org Of Cigs And Selfies: Teens Imitate Risky Behavior Shared Online Orphans' Lonely Beginnings Reveal How Parents Shape A Child's Brain http://kuow.org/post/orphans-lonely-beginnings-reveal-how-parents-shape-childs-brain Parents do a lot more than make sure a child has food and shelter, researchers say. They play a critical role in brain development.<p>More than a decade of research on children raised in institutions shows that "neglect is awful for the brain," says <a href="http://dms.hms.harvard.edu/neuroscience/fac/Nelson.php">Charles Nelson</a>, a professor of pediatrics at Harvard Medical School and Boston Children's Hospital. Mon, 24 Feb 2014 08:35:00 +0000 Jon Hamilton 29297 at http://kuow.org Orphans' Lonely Beginnings Reveal How Parents Shape A Child's Brain How Do You Teach Self-Discipline To Kids? http://kuow.org/post/how-do-you-teach-self-discipline-kids <p>David Hyde talks with UW psychology professor Liliana Lengua, director of the UW Center for Child and Family Well-Being, about her research on delayed gratification. Fri, 31 Jan 2014 21:01:33 +0000 David Hyde & Amina Al-Sadi 28006 at http://kuow.org How Do You Teach Self-Discipline To Kids? The Mother Of Midwifery http://kuow.org/post/mother-midwifery <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Ina May Gaskin, the so-dubbed "Mother of Midwifery," about childbirth practices around the world. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 23:41:09 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 27598 at http://kuow.org The Mother Of Midwifery Inside The Teenage Brain With Daniel Siegel http://kuow.org/post/inside-teenage-brain-daniel-siegel <p>The teenage brain can be a mystery to adults. UCLA psychiatry professor Daniel Siegel debunks myths about adolescence to show how teens learn new skills, connect with others and demonstrate limitless creativity.</p><p>Siegel is the author of “Brainstorm: The Power and Purpose of the Teenage Brain.”</p><p>He spoke at Town Hall on December 13, 2013, in a lecture presented by ParentMap. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 05:22:45 +0000 Rachel Solomon 27248 at http://kuow.org Inside The Teenage Brain With Daniel Siegel 'Baby Talk' Helps Babies Learn To Speak More Quickly http://kuow.org/post/baby-talk-helps-babies-learn-speak-more-quickly <p>Marcie Sillman&nbsp;interviews Patricia Kuhl about her new study on the benefits of<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">“parent-ese," or baby talk.</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Kuhl is a</span> professor and co-director of the Institute for Learning and Brain Sciences at the University of Washington. Mon, 06 Jan 2014 21:13:26 +0000 Marcie Sillman & David Hyde 26650 at http://kuow.org 'Baby Talk' Helps Babies Learn To Speak More Quickly Portugal's Baby Bust Is A Stark Sign Of Hard Times http://kuow.org/post/portugals-baby-bust-stark-sign-hard-times In Lisbon, the waiting area of Portugal's biggest maternity hospital is empty. You can hear the hum of soda machines across the hall. There's just one expectant father, pacing the room.<p>Mario Carvalho, 40, has a toddler son and now awaits the birth of his baby girl.<p>"Today, I hope!" he says with a nervous smile.<p>The birth of a new baby is a joyous occasion. But in Portugal, it's an increasingly rare one. Thu, 02 Jan 2014 19:43:27 +0000 Lauren Frayer 26420 at http://kuow.org Portugal's Baby Bust Is A Stark Sign Of Hard Times Move Over Choo Choo Trains, Seattle Kids Like Ferries http://kuow.org/post/move-over-choo-choo-trains-seattle-kids-ferries <p>Steve Scher visits Top Ten Toys in Greenwood to talk with owner Allen Rickert, who says this is a good year for ferry toys and Seattle-themed coloring books. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 22:45:20 +0000 Steve Scher 25987 at http://kuow.org Move Over Choo Choo Trains, Seattle Kids Like Ferries Screening Newborns For Disease Can Leave Families In Limbo http://kuow.org/post/screening-newborns-disease-can-leave-families-limbo For Matthew and Brianne Wojtesta, it all started about a week after the birth of their daughter Vera. Matthew was picking up his son from kindergarten when he got a phone call.<p>It was their pediatrician, with some shocking news. Vera had been flagged by New York's <a href="http://www.wadsworth.org/newborn/krabbe.htm">newborn screening program</a> as possibly having a potentially deadly disease, and would need to go see a neurologist the next day.<p>Like every state, New York requires that newborns get a small heel prick so that a few drops of blood can be sent to a lab for testing. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 08:46:00 +0000 Nell Greenfieldboyce 25935 at http://kuow.org Screening Newborns For Disease Can Leave Families In Limbo