agriculture http://kuow.org en Seattle Startup Seeks To Create Foodsharing Community http://kuow.org/post/seattle-startup-seeks-create-foodsharing-community <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Kamal Patel, co-founder of Ubrlocal, a marketplace for Seattle gardeners and farmers to share their wares. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 22:03:49 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Matthew Streib 38909 at http://kuow.org Seattle Startup Seeks To Create Foodsharing Community 4-H Teaches Poultry Prowess To Urban Kids http://kuow.org/post/4-h-teaches-poultry-prowess-urban-kids <p>Ross Reynolds discussed the 4-H Club's program to teach kids responsibility and life skills by raising poultry. Despite its reputation as a rural organization, 4-H has been reaching urban kids as well. This year's junior poultry showmanship winner at the King County Fair was 10-year-old Katie Moen of Ballard with her Silkie&nbsp;bantam. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 22:48:34 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Matthew Streib 38678 at http://kuow.org 4-H Teaches Poultry Prowess To Urban Kids What Climate Change Could Mean For Your Grape Juice http://kuow.org/post/what-climate-change-could-mean-your-grape-juice PROSSER, Wash. -- The sun beats down as researcher Markus Keller leans in to inspect his experimental vineyard.<p>“As you can see here, there’s a lot of flowers forming on the different shoots,” Keller says.<p>The grape leaves hang down like a curtain over the rows of vines. This year’s crop looks to be strong.<p>For connoisseurs of fine grape jellies and juices, this is a reason to rejoice. For collectors of fine wines? Mon, 23 Jun 2014 14:06:38 +0000 Courtney Flatt 36878 at http://kuow.org What Climate Change Could Mean For Your Grape Juice Northwest Wheat Harvest Could Be Down This Summer http://kuow.org/post/northwest-wheat-harvest-could-be-down-summer <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/06/062014CL_wheat_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Farmers in Oregon, Idaho and Washington are expected to harvest less wheat this summer. The weather forecast has a lot to do with it.<p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 14:02:41 +0000 Chris Lehman 36875 at http://kuow.org Northwest Wheat Harvest Could Be Down This Summer In The Making Of Megafarms, A Mixture Of Pride And Pain http://kuow.org/post/making-megafarms-few-winners-and-many-losers It seems that everybody, going back at least to <a href="http://www.monticello.org/site/jefferson/quotations-agriculture">Thomas Jefferson</a>, loves small family farms.<p>Yet those beloved small farms are becoming increasingly irrelevant. Big farms are taking over.<p>According to the <a href="http://www.agcensus.usda.gov/">latest census of American agriculture</a>, released this year, there are two million farms in America. Mon, 16 Jun 2014 21:29:00 +0000 Dan Charles 36504 at http://kuow.org In The Making Of Megafarms, A Mixture Of Pride And Pain California Farmers Ask: Hey Buddy, Can You Spare Some Water? http://kuow.org/post/california-farmers-ask-hey-buddy-can-you-spare-some-water Imagine if a gallon of milk cost $3 in your town, but 100 miles away it cost $100, or even $200.<p>Something similar is happening right now in California with water that farmers use to irrigate their crops. Mon, 09 Jun 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Dan Charles 36073 at http://kuow.org California Farmers Ask: Hey Buddy, Can You Spare Some Water? Flight Path: Bees, A Hackathon And Sea-Tac Airport http://kuow.org/post/flight-path-bees-hackathon-and-sea-tac-airport <p>Did you know there are bees at Sea-Tac Airport? Twenty beehives are already in place in green space around the airport. And tonight, a two-day <a href="http://www.eventbrite.com/e/att-arttech-hackathon-seattle-tickets-9211454709?aff=es2&amp;rank=1">hackathon </a>gets going that’s centered around the idea of bees and flight. It’s connected to a new art installment that’s going in at Sea-Tac: “Flight Path.” Fri, 09 May 2014 22:25:10 +0000 Sara Lerner 34179 at http://kuow.org Flight Path: Bees, A Hackathon And Sea-Tac Airport Farms In Northwest Fewer In Numbers, But Bigger And More Valuable http://kuow.org/post/farms-northwest-fewer-numbers-bigger-and-more-valuable <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/05/050714JR_FarmCensus_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>According to newly-released data from the <a href="http://www.agcensus.usda.gov/">USDA's agricultural census</a>, the number of farms in the Northwest is dropping.<p> Thu, 08 May 2014 15:14:09 +0000 Jessica Robinson 34081 at http://kuow.org Farms In Northwest Fewer In Numbers, But Bigger And More Valuable How Farming Taught Arlo Crawford To Follow His Bliss http://kuow.org/post/how-farming-taught-arlo-crawford-follow-his-bliss <p>Arlo Crawford never wanted to be a farmer like his parents. But that changed one spring. He shares his experience from the office back to the fields with KUOW's Marcie Sillman.</p><p>Crawford's parents were part of the back-to-the-land generation of the 1970s. Crawford's father dropped out of law school and bought land in southern Pennsylvania. That land became New Morning organic farm, and that's where Crawford and his sister Janie grew up. Tue, 06 May 2014 22:14:55 +0000 Marcie Sillman 33972 at http://kuow.org How Farming Taught Arlo Crawford To Follow His Bliss Yes, We Bleeped The Word 'Uterus' http://kuow.org/post/yes-we-bleeped-word-uterus <p>Some listeners may have noticed Friday when <a href="http://kuow.org/post/high-milk-beef-prices-spur-northwest-cattle-rush">we bleeped a series of words in a piece on the dairy industry</a> by Anna King of the Northwest News Network. The story was about farmers taking advantage of record prices for dairy and beef.</p><p> Tue, 06 May 2014 19:07:41 +0000 Isolde Raftery 33975 at http://kuow.org Yes, We Bleeped The Word 'Uterus' Behind The Scenes Of The Northwest Dairy Boom http://kuow.org/post/behind-scenes-northwest-dairy-boom <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman speaks with <a href="http://nwnewsnetwork.org/people/anna-king">Anna King</a>, Richland correspondent for the <a href="http://nwnewsnetwork.org/">Northwest News Network</a>, about the story behind her recent report, "<a href="http://kuow.org/post/high-milk-beef-prices-spur-northwest-cattle-rush">High Milk, Beef Prices Spur A Northwest Cattle Rush.</a>" Mon, 05 May 2014 22:47:40 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Posey Gruener 33924 at http://kuow.org Behind The Scenes Of The Northwest Dairy Boom Why Europe Finds American Apples Distasteful http://kuow.org/post/why-europe-finds-american-apples-distasteful <p></p><p>David Hyde speaks with Sonya Lunder, senior scientist with the <a href="http://www.ewg.org/?gclid=CN2Op6XxiL4CFRSPfgodO6gArA">Environmental Working Group,</a> about the European Union's ban of diphenylamine. The post-harvest pesticide dip is applied to most non-organic American apples. Wed, 30 Apr 2014 23:00:20 +0000 David Hyde & Posey Gruener 33616 at http://kuow.org Why Europe Finds American Apples Distasteful Hemp: The Emerging Crop In The Global Economy http://kuow.org/post/hemp-emerging-crop-global-economy <p>Ross Reynolds speaks with Doug Fine, a self-described comedic investigative journalist, about his new book, "Hemp Bound: Dispatches from the Front Lines of the Next Agricultural Revolution."</p><p>Fine spoke with scientists and farmers around the world about how hemp is used. In February, President Obama signed the Farm Bill<span class="st">, which </span>allows industrial research on hemp. Wed, 30 Apr 2014 21:07:16 +0000 Ross Reynolds 33596 at http://kuow.org Hemp: The Emerging Crop In The Global Economy High Milk, Beef Prices Spur A Northwest Cattle Rush http://kuow.org/post/high-milk-beef-prices-spur-northwest-cattle-rush <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/05/042914AK_Calfrush_MASTER_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>We’ve all heard of the Western Gold Rush. But how about the Northwest cattle rush?<p> Wed, 30 Apr 2014 14:25:56 +0000 Anna King 33599 at http://kuow.org High Milk, Beef Prices Spur A Northwest Cattle Rush Southern Oregon Pesticide Case Highlights Gaps In State Oversight http://kuow.org/post/southern-oregon-pesticide-case-highlights-gaps-state-oversight <p>Steve Owen should not have been ferrying gallons of herbicides by helicopter over homes near Gold Beach, Ore. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 09:04:04 +0000 Tony Schick 33188 at http://kuow.org Southern Oregon Pesticide Case Highlights Gaps In State Oversight