agriculture http://kuow.org en Alfalfa Growers Hope To Rake In More Green This Year http://kuow.org/post/alfalfa-growers-hope-rake-more-green-year <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041414AK_Alfalfa_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Many Northwest alfalfa growers had a rough year with bad weather last summer.<p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 15:03:28 +0000 Anna King 32571 at http://kuow.org Alfalfa Growers Hope To Rake In More Green This Year Low Prices Prompt Northwest Asparagus Growers To Try To Delay Harvest http://kuow.org/post/low-prices-prompt-northwest-asparagus-growers-try-delay-harvest <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040414AK_Asparagus_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Northwest asparagus growers are just starting to harvest spears in the warmer sites around Pasco, Wash.<p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 16:02:04 +0000 Anna King 32042 at http://kuow.org Low Prices Prompt Northwest Asparagus Growers To Try To Delay Harvest Washington Fruit Farmers Scramble To Irrigate From Lowered Columbia River http://kuow.org/post/washington-fruit-farmers-scramble-irrigate-lowered-columbia-river <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032014AK_Wanapum_irrigationfeature_web_0.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Dam engineers are continuing to keep the pool behind the ailing structure drawn down to relieve pressure.<p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 12:15:12 +0000 Anna King 31007 at http://kuow.org Washington Fruit Farmers Scramble To Irrigate From Lowered Columbia River Stopping A Stink Bug Invasion http://kuow.org/post/stopping-stink-bug-invasion <p>You have to go through three airlocked doors to get to the <a href="http://www.ars.usda.gov/main/docs.htm?docid=2488" title="U.S. Department of Agriculture's">U.S. Department of Agriculture’s</a> stink bug research lab.</p><p>The quarantined, closet-sized room has its own ventilation system. The <a href="http://www.stopbmsb.org/index.cfm" title="brown marmorated stink bug">brown marmorated stink bug</a> colony is kept inside an even smaller room within the lab. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 11:11:46 +0000 Courtney Flatt 30912 at http://kuow.org Stopping A Stink Bug Invasion Lawsuits Charge 'Ag-Gag' Laws Violate Free Speech http://kuow.org/post/lawsuits-charge-ag-gag-laws-violate-free-speech <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/031814JR_AgGagLawsuit_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A lawsuit led by the ACLU is challenging Idaho's brand new, so-called “ag-gag” law aimed at stopping undercover animal rights activists from making videos of abuse at farms and slaughter houses.<p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 12:04:38 +0000 Jessica Robinson 30835 at http://kuow.org Lawsuits Charge 'Ag-Gag' Laws Violate Free Speech Worried Washington Farmers Plead For Help To Water Fruit Trees http://kuow.org/post/worried-washington-farmers-plead-help-water-fruit-trees <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/031414AK_Wanapum_Wenatchee_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">In central Washington, state officials and farmers are scrambling to save orchards at risk of drying up because of a drawdown of the Columbia River.</span><p> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 15:09:31 +0000 Anna King 30533 at http://kuow.org Worried Washington Farmers Plead For Help To Water Fruit Trees Farmers Upstream Of Wanapum Dam Can't Reach Columbia For Irrigation http://kuow.org/post/farmers-upstream-wanapum-dam-cant-reach-columbia-irrigation <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/031214AK_Wanapum_irrigation_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Thousands of acres of high-value cherry and apple orchards behind the damaged Wanapum Dam are at serious risk.<p> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 15:40:35 +0000 Anna King 30443 at http://kuow.org Farmers Upstream Of Wanapum Dam Can't Reach Columbia For Irrigation Demise Of The Alpaca Bubble http://kuow.org/post/demise-alpaca-bubble <p></p><p>David Hyde talks with Rich Sexton, chair of the Agricultural and Resource Economics Department at the University of California, Davis. Sexton explains the making of the alpaca boom and why it's now bursting. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 23:18:18 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 29985 at http://kuow.org Demise Of The Alpaca Bubble Klamath Tribes And Ranchers Seek Water Solutions In New Agreement http://kuow.org/post/klamath-tribes-and-ranchers-seek-water-solutions-new-agreement An <a href="http://www.oregon.gov/gov/GNRO/Pages/Upper-Klamath-Basin-Agreement-and-Exhibits.aspx" title="new Klamath agreement">agreement announced Wednesday</a> between ranchers and Native American tribes seeks to resolve contentious water rights issues in the Klamath Basin, a drought-ridden region spanning southern Oregon and northern California.<p>Amidst a deep drought last summer, the Klamath Tribes and the federal government called on their senior water rights –- meaning they received access to limited water supplies.<p>As a result, irrigation water was cut off to thousands of acres of Kl Thu, 06 Mar 2014 15:40:10 +0000 Devan Schwartz 29954 at http://kuow.org Klamath Tribes And Ranchers Seek Water Solutions In New Agreement Spud Snub? Potato Growers Steamed Over Exclusion From Nutrition Program http://kuow.org/post/spud-snub-potato-growers-steamed-over-exclusion-nutrition-program <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/022814JR_SpudSnub_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Northwest potato growers say they've been snubbed in a federal nutrition program.</span><p> Mon, 03 Mar 2014 15:38:14 +0000 Jessica Robinson 29735 at http://kuow.org Spud Snub? Potato Growers Steamed Over Exclusion From Nutrition Program How A Monopoly Took Hold Of America’s Meat Market http://kuow.org/post/how-monopoly-took-hold-america-s-meat-market <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Christopher Leonard, former national agribusiness reporter for the Associated Press, about his new book "The Meat Racket: The Secret Takeover of America’s Food Business." Tue, 25 Feb 2014 23:38:25 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Arwen Nicks 29399 at http://kuow.org How A Monopoly Took Hold Of America’s Meat Market Ore. Farmers Want Tax Break For Donated Crops http://kuow.org/post/ore-farmers-want-tax-break-donated-crops <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/021914CL_cropcredit_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Oregon farmers are hoping the state Legislature makes it worth their while to donate crops that would otherwise go to waste.<p> Thu, 20 Feb 2014 16:36:20 +0000 Chris Lehman 29113 at http://kuow.org Ore. Farmers Want Tax Break For Donated Crops Northwest Farmers Take Heart In Prediction Of Rainy Spring http://kuow.org/post/northwest-farmers-take-heart-prediction-rainy-spring <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/020414JR_FarmWeatherWoes_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Northwest farmers call him “the weather man.” And at a farming conference in Spokane, he offered a reason for them to be optimistic about the upcoming season.<p> Wed, 05 Feb 2014 16:37:28 +0000 Jessica Robinson 28243 at http://kuow.org Northwest Farmers Take Heart In Prediction Of Rainy Spring Forget Golf Courses: Subdivisions Draw Residents With Farms http://kuow.org/post/forget-golf-courses-subdivisions-draw-residents-farms When you picture a housing development in the suburbs, you might imagine golf courses, swimming pools, rows of identical houses.<p>But now, there's a new model springing up across the country that taps into the local food movement: Farms — complete with livestock, vegetables and fruit trees — are serving as the latest suburban amenity.<p>It's called development-supported agriculture, a more intimate version of community-supported agriculture — a farm-share program commonly known as CSA. Tue, 17 Dec 2013 08:15:00 +0000 Luke Runyon 25601 at http://kuow.org Forget Golf Courses: Subdivisions Draw Residents With Farms Washington State Sees Big Jump In Use of Temporary Foreign Farmhands http://kuow.org/post/washington-state-sees-big-jump-use-temporary-foreign-farmhands <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/12/121213TB_WorkVisas_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Northwest farmers hired significantly more foreign guest workers this season under a special immigration program.<p> Fri, 13 Dec 2013 15:54:11 +0000 Tom Banse 25423 at http://kuow.org Washington State Sees Big Jump In Use of Temporary Foreign Farmhands