Microsoft http://kuow.org en Massive Layoffs At Microsoft A Test For Seattle Startup Culture http://kuow.org/post/massive-layoffs-microsoft-test-seattle-startup-culture <p>Last week, Microsoft began the biggest layoffs in the company’s history: 18,000 total expected in the next year. So far, about 1,300 local workers have been affected.</p><p>Jon Talton, business reporter for the Seattle Times, told KUOW’s Ross Reynolds on <em>The Record</em> that this event is a test for the local economy. He said the Seattle area is in the midst of an economic boom – driven by Amazon, Boeing’s 777X and 737, increased exports and low unemployment. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 22:31:36 +0000 Ross Reynolds, Andy Hurst & Amina Al-Sadi 38643 at http://kuow.org Massive Layoffs At Microsoft A Test For Seattle Startup Culture Regrets: Do You Have A Few? http://kuow.org/post/regrets-do-you-have-few <p>Some Microsoft employees probably regret not taking that other job offer. Seattle’s city attorney regrets bringing his pot to work. Should a Seattle theater company regret not casting any Asian American actors for its current show? And you'll regret it if you take I-90 westbound into Seattle next week.<br /><br />What else do you regret? And how would you tell your younger self to avoid regrets? Fri, 18 Jul 2014 21:45:06 +0000 Bill Radke 38536 at http://kuow.org Regrets: Do You Have A Few? What Happens After A Layoff http://kuow.org/post/what-happens-after-layoff <p>Ross Reynolds talks with&nbsp;<a href="http://www.hreonline.com/HRE/view/story.jhtml?id=534356761&amp;">Kevin Osborne</a>, vice president of client services at Waldron, a human resources consulting firm based in Seattle, about how downsizing companies may provide for laid off employees. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 21:23:36 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Matthew Streib 38532 at http://kuow.org What Happens After A Layoff An Update On The Microsoft Job Cuts And What It Means For The Region http://kuow.org/post/update-microsoft-job-cuts-and-what-it-means-region <p>Ross Reynolds talks to Todd Bishop, founder of Geekwire, about the announcement that Microsoft will be cutting 18,000 jobs over the next year, including 1,351 in the Seattle region. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 21:49:11 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 38463 at http://kuow.org Microsoft Layoffs Could Make Seattle Hub Of Cloud And Mobile Tech http://kuow.org/post/microsoft-layoffs-could-make-seattle-hub-cloud-and-mobile-tech <p></p><p>Following the announcement by Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella that the company would undergo a 14 percent reduction in its workforce, conference rooms at the Redmond campus were reserved by the human resources. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 14:18:46 +0000 Bill Radke & Isolde Raftery 38413 at http://kuow.org Microsoft Layoffs Could Make Seattle Hub Of Cloud And Mobile Tech Major Memo Sent To Microsoft Employees http://kuow.org/post/major-memo-sent-microsoft-employees <p>Ross Reynolds talks to Todd Bishop of Geekwire about Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella's 3,200 word, company-wide memo.</p><p>Bishop picked out one key section of the missive: Nadella’s pursuit of streamlining the company’s engineering processes and being more responsive to the market and customers’ demands. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:42:39 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 38078 at http://kuow.org Major Memo Sent To Microsoft Employees Facebook Expands Seattle Office Space, Studies Your Emotions http://kuow.org/post/facebook-expands-seattle-office-space-studies-your-emotions <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Todd Bishop, tech writer and co-founder of Geekwire about the growing tech industry in the Northwest and Facebook's secret study into manipulating the emotions of its users. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 22:37:50 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 37357 at http://kuow.org Microsoft To Government Spies: Back Off http://kuow.org/post/microsoft-government-spies-back <p>The Obama administration must restore trust in U.S. technology companies and uphold America’s fundamental liberties, Microsoft’s chief counsel wrote in a strongly-worded <a href="http://blogs.technet.com/b/microsoft_on_the_issues/archive/2014/06/04/unfinished-business-on-government-surveillance-reform.aspx">blog post</a>. Thu, 05 Jun 2014 19:26:56 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 35855 at http://kuow.org Microsoft To Government Spies: Back Off Apple's New Operating System, Amazon Vs. Hachette, And A New Museum App http://kuow.org/post/apples-new-operating-system-amazon-vs-hachette-and-new-museum-app <p>David Hyde and Todd Bishop of Geekwire discuss the latest tech news: Apple announces a new operating service, brick and mortar stores take advantage of the Amazon and Hachette dispute, and a local startup creates a new app to guide you through Seattle museums. Mon, 02 Jun 2014 21:00:53 +0000 David Hyde & Amina Al-Sadi 35733 at http://kuow.org Tech News: AT&T Set To Acquire DirecTV, Amazon Programming, And Halo 5 http://kuow.org/post/tech-news-att-set-acquire-directv-amazon-programming-and-halo-5 <p>Steve Scher talks to Geekwire's Todd Bishop about AT&amp;T's move to acquire DirecTV, Amazon's first children's show and the release of the video game Halo 5. Mon, 19 May 2014 22:18:03 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 34763 at http://kuow.org Tech News: AT&T Set To Acquire DirecTV, Amazon Programming, And Halo 5 Bill Gates Owns A Little Less Of Microsoft, And Other Tech News http://kuow.org/post/bill-gates-owns-little-less-microsoft-and-other-tech-news <p>Steve Scher talks to Geekwire's Todd Bishop about the latest news in northwest tech, including Bill Gates no longer being the largest shareholder of Microsoft and Amazon's efforts to expand same-day delivery. Mon, 05 May 2014 22:13:25 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 33906 at http://kuow.org Bill Gates Owns A Little Less Of Microsoft, And Other Tech News Microsoft Takes Advantage Of Relaxed Game Console Ban In China http://kuow.org/post/microsoft-takes-advantage-relaxed-game-console-ban-china <p>Microsoft may have found a way to pull ahead of the Sony Playstation — in China.</p><p>The company partnered this week with a Chinese company to bring its Xbox One gaming console out of the black market and into Chinese stores. Thu, 01 May 2014 20:30:13 +0000 Jamala Henderson 33693 at http://kuow.org Microsoft Takes Advantage Of Relaxed Game Console Ban In China Homeland Security: Don't Use Microsoft's Internet Explorer Until Bug Fixed http://kuow.org/post/homeland-security-dont-use-microsofts-internet-explorer-until-bug-fixed <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with Todd Bishop, co-founder of <a href="http://www.geekwire.com/">Geekwire</a>, about the major security flaw affecting Microsoft's web browser Internet Explorer. Mon, 28 Apr 2014 21:58:33 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 33459 at http://kuow.org Homeland Security: Don't Use Microsoft's Internet Explorer Until Bug Fixed Microsoft Faces Challenge Bringing Nokia Business Into The Fold http://kuow.org/post/microsoft-faces-challenge-bringing-nokia-business-fold <p>Microsoft says its purchase of Nokia's mobile phone business is complete. The deal is meant to help Microsoft deliver a Windows phone to challenge Apple and Google. However the company said it's only the first step in a journey to bring the two organizations together as one team. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 20:52:37 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 33336 at http://kuow.org Microsoft Faces Challenge Bringing Nokia Business Into The Fold How Microsoft's Windows Phone Stacks Up Against Its Competitors http://kuow.org/post/how-microsofts-windows-phone-stacks-against-its-competitors <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Geekwire's Todd Bishop about the Northwest tech industry and how the updates to Microsoft's Windows Phone 8.1 will impact its place in the growing smartphone market. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 22:21:05 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 32980 at http://kuow.org How Microsoft's Windows Phone Stacks Up Against Its Competitors